We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santa Monica Proper Hotel

Save
700 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401-1708
Visit hotel website
Hotels.com
Nustay.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Prestigia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (100)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (24)

About

#7 of 38 hotels in Santa Monica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Santa Monica Proper introduces a looser kind of luxury to Santa Monica. Here, within walking distance to the beach, each of the 271 rooms, suites and spaces successfully optimize the city’s abundant ocean breezes and natural light, while the interior design finds inspiration in the organic tones and textures of the local coastline. Santa Monica Proper beckons guests with the only rooftop pool deck on the Westside, complete with Balearic restaurant, bar, and cabanas, where guests are front-row for sunsets over the Pacific; meanwhile, the landmark restaurant, Onda (opening September), marks an iconic collaboration between James Beard award-winning chefs Jessica Koslow and Gabriela Camara. With an emphasis on Eastern inspired wellness, the hotel’s Surya Spa (opening this winter), offers custom-designed Ayurvedic programs supporting physical, mental and spiritual health. Anything less just wouldn't be Proper.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
173Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 135
  • 15
  • 9
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I don't normally write reviews but I was so impressed by this hotel that I am making an exception. The staff were so helpful, the room was beautiful with an incredible view. I loved the little touches like the Aesop products, electric curtains and handwritten welcome letter. The bed is insanely comfortable too. Good the gym with the Pelaton which I got to try for the first time. Tried all the restaurants and was very impressed with the quality of food. The breakfast area is beautifully designed. One suggestion would be to serve nuts with the drinks on the rooftop. Thank you for an incredible stay.
Read more
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 672mat, Thank you for your wonderful review of Santa Monica Proper! We are delighted to hear you had such an incredible recent stay, and you were able to enjoy the beautiful rooms and stunning views throughout Santa Monica. The Pelotons in the gym and the amenities are truly bespoke and we are thrilled you were able to enjoy them. Please come back and visit us again soon! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
The incredible energy and beautiful surroundings that you encounter from entering into the Proper Lobby was even more enhanced by the amazing personalized attention that director, Julien LaRacine and his staff gave to our group making our long, extended stay 'home away from home'. All of the hotel's services, beautiful areas to hold meetings, incredibly healthy and delicious menus, lounges to enjoy and forget our long hectic days of filming, immaculate rooms, comfortable beds and eye candy through out every inch of the hotel was so appreciated. But it was the friendly staff and awesome attention that makes us want to return to the Proper for both business and pleasure.
Read more
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Deborahe1212, Thank you for your fabulous review of Santa Monica Proper! Service is something that we strive for and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your long extended stay here in Santa Monica. I am so excited so share this review with our staff here. It was wonderful having you with us and I am so happy to know you felt as though this was your home away from home. Please come back and visit again soon! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
Our room was very stylish decorated, and the views from both room and rooftop (make sure to catch the sunset!) were just incredible. The restaurants are all hip and the food was delicious. The hotel has a well-equipped gym and pool on the roof. Will definitely come back!
Read more
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 127rikards, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay here with us in Santa Monica! We are delighted to know you enjoyed the amazing views, location and service that we provided. The sunset at Calabra Bar and Lounge is truly spectacular! We hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful Proper stay! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
This hotel was honestly amazing until I realized during a recent rebooking that they don't really value return guests at all. The overall design of the place is impeccable, the room we stayed in felt cozy and refreshingly refined at the same time, the staff were all super helpful and genuinely nice, and on top of all that, they're also very pet friendly. So naturally, when I was looking to book a hotel in Santa Monica this April, I thought of them immediately and booked in advance. Then the hotel stopped being quite so amazing. First of all, the Premier Suite I stayed in bizarrely did not have a single drawer in it. No big drawers for your clothes and not even tiny drawers by the bed or in the bathroom. 720 square feet and not a single drawer. It was just weird and inconvenient. The front desk reassured me that this was not true for all rooms and to just make a note of it for next time. So I emailed the hotel about this before booking for my stay in April. No response whatsoever. I trusted them and booked the room anyway and made another note in the booking, which I hope someone will eventually read. Cut to present day, the hotel has understandably now lowered their two night rate for the room I had booked by almost $200 per night (ouch) - $628.67 per night (cancellable with late check out to boot) - compared to the advance $815.15 two night rate I had locked in. Obviously seeing that hurt, but I didn't feel too bad because I was actually looking to add a third night, so I figured I would call them and they would be able to just give me that third night at the $628.67 rate, but again, I got the cold shoulder. The woman handling my call said that she definitely couldn't do that because she would have to now treat this third night as a completely new single night booking ($935 per night; $883.15 advance rate) and that the $628.67 rate only applied if I was booking for two nights (as if I wasn't actually asking to stay there for three nights). I would find this totally acceptable if I was just dealing with a robot, but why bother having a living person there if she can only follow what "the system" says she can do? Now, I understand that those last two paragraphs might just come off as long-winded and petty on my end, but my main gripe is simply the feeling that my previous stay just made absolutely no difference to how they're choosing to treat me now. Every stay is just a separate transaction completely detached from any sense of relationship. Maybe I'm too demanding for expecting more than that. It's just a little unsettling to have a place that's so warm and welcoming when you're there, then be so cold and robotic as you're about to come back. This is exactly why a lot of travelers now just stay loyal to OTAs.
Read more
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jason T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay here with us at Santa Monica Proper. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. First and foremost, as a returning guest here with us, we apologize that you did not feel a warm Proper welcome when returning to Santa Monica. This feedback is useful for our team, as all our guests are our upmost priority and should be taken care of. My name is Brittany Thompson, I am the Guest Relations Manager here at the hotel. Please feel free to reach out to me personally, as I would love to over see your next visit. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
My daughter ,12 year old grandson and myself stayed at the Proper in august of 2019. I am a retired flight attendant with 42 years experience with hotels...4 and 5 star, around the world. I have never been as impressed as I was with this fantastic hotel.! 1928 hotel with spanish and Moroccan influences on the outside...an absolute delight inside. The interior decorating by Kelly Wearstler is so eclectic and so cool ,that you are pleasantly surprised every time you turn a corner. The vibe is relaxing , luxurious and again very cool. I can guarantee you will never find this at any other luxury hotel. My 12 year old grandson was impressed by the pool especially (of course) and even he noticed the furniture and how it was so different than anything he had see before in a hotel. The food was tasty and well displayed on your plate...oh the beverages...wow...so different and tasty...they went down too fast..lol.. The employees everywhere in the hotel were attentive ,super friendly and helpful.. our waiter in the main restaurant was so very cute and friendly...it turned out he was K. Wearstler’s son....she must be so proud of him,! It is fairly close to the main shopping promenade ,and a short walk to the beach. I have recommended the Proper to friends who are visiting Santa Monica and they come home raving as well. If you are going to Santa Monica this is the place to stay,!
Read more
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Maureen F, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Santa Monica Proper! I am so delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay here with us back in August with your family. I love that your 12 year old grandson was impressed with the pool and noticed the unique furniture at Calabra rooftop! What an experience to have Kelly Wearstlers son serve you while dining in Palma! This is such wonderful feedback that I am pleased to share with all of our staff here. We cannot wait to welcome you and your family back again soon! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$411 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta MonicaSanta Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Monica History Museum (0.2 miles), Hi De Ho Comics (0.3 miles), and Santa Monica Playhouse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tar & Roses, Santa Monica Seafood, and Huckleberry Bakery & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Santa Monica Proper Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Santa Monica.
Are any cleaning services offered at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Santa Monica Proper Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.