We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$695
Travelocity$695
Booking.com$695
Preferred Hotels$695
Tripadvisor$695
Algotels$747
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (846)
Room & Suite (323)
Pool & Beach (123)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 38 hotels in Santa Monica
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese
2150Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,240
  • 434
  • 225
  • 119
  • 132
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
James Martin wrote a review Jan 11
Jakarta, Indonesia11 contributions2 helpful votes
Shutter on the Beach really a 5 stars hotel and best in Santa Monica. Very helpful and warm friendly concierge, guest arrival and reception staff presented during our stay. All restaurant staff also very professional and friendly to us. Rooms that we have booked also beyond our expectation and clean. Love the bathtub. Hotel also provide heated pool and beach services. Overall it is one of our best stay during our holiday in USA.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jameskiky, Thank you for taking the time to write this marvelous review of your holiday. We will enjoy sharing your feedback with our Shutters family. We look forward to your returning to your favorite hotel on the beach. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kate wrote a review Jan 4
Fairfield, Connecticut7 contributions1 helpful vote
$2000 for 2 nights in the winter to be staring at a parking lot with people pulling in and out starting at 6am. Also heard a street sweeper. Awful. Manager was not helpful at all when we arrived T 1am exhausted. Last time staying here and I’ve been coming for 25 years. There are better options now.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear DayTrip00519458737, We want to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our heartfelt apology for the noise you encountered during your visit. As we look into this reservation more closely, we had limited room options to provide since your reservation specifically requested not to take the elevator to any rooms on our higher floors. We did try to offer an upgrade; however, the upgrades were on a higher floor. We hope we will endeavor to provide optimal service and a better room option on your next visit. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fullpackage wrote a review Dec 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark12 contributions6 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of staying at Shutters Santa Monica during the Christmas holiday and it was an incredible experience. The weather was absolutely beautiful, with sunny skies and comfortable temperatures, which really enhanced our stay. The hotel itself is stunning, with a beautiful beachfront location and elegant decor. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with luxurious bedding and amenities that made us feel right at home. The food was excellent, with a wide variety of options available at the hotel's restaurant and bar. The staff were all extremely friendly and attentive, making sure that we had everything we needed during our stay. Overall, our stay at Shutters Santa Monica was absolutely wonderful. The weather was great, the food was excellent, and the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santa Monica, especially during the holiday season.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Fullpackage, Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your family Christmas and look forward to your return! Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jane g wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
A second visit to Shutters. Quick trip to see my daughter and son-in-law. And I have only the highest praise for this lovely hotel, professional, helpful staff, and my perfect ocean-front room. I have stayed at the Meurice in Paris, the Browns in London, the San Clemente Palace in Venice, and the experience at Shutters is certainly on a par with these wonderful international venues. I highly recommend Shutters for a memorable and delightful Santa Monica experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Dear Z242Yljaneg, Thank you for choosing to visit Shutters on the Beach. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren P wrote a review Dec 2022
I had a very unfortunate and not good experience here. I was in town visiting family and they recommended this hotel to me as they know I appreciate a luxury experience. The price reflects one of a luxury experience but the experience itself was anything but. Pros: - Great breakfast! Super good food and delicious fresh juice. The host and server were so fun and friendly. The restaurant indoors and outdoor space were absolutely beautiful. Cons: - Called the hotel to ask if I could have a late check-in (8pm vs 4pm) they confirmed my reservation and said that wouldn't be a problem. I arrived at 8pm and they claimed they didn't have a reservation for me. I showed them multiple confirmations emails they sent me along with email updates about my reservation. They said, they still couldn't find it. I spent an hour at the front desk dealing with this before they "found a room they could give me even though they were full". - All of the toiletries in my room were open, used, and mostly empty (Malin & Goetz shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and toilet paper) - The rooms sound like they have no doors. I could hear the neighbors chatting, their shower, the hair dryer, hallway passers, etc. Not the usual hotel noise that's to be expected. It's truly terrible. - Hotel is very old and outdated - Was charged a "resort" fee. When we asked what that was for we were told it was for shuttle amenities, bikes, etc. provided by the hotel. In my hour of standing at the checkin I was never was told any of these amenities were available to me but of course charged for it. If you love a luxury hotel you can pay the same price and stay somewhere truly luxurious with all of the amenities. This is def not it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Dec 6, 2022
Dear laurenpl8335QN, Dear Lauren, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the challenges you faced during your visit. As we look into this, it seems as though there was an issue with the 3rd party booking system. We did create the reservation as quickly as we could and apologize if there were any other inconveniences you faced. We will make sure to address the comments you addressed to the appropriate departments and hope to welcome you back again for a better experience overall. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HpopLA wrote a review Nov 2022
Los Angeles, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
Bruce and Katrina are fantastic and make every stay at Shutters a delight! Such an amazing experience when they are involved! It's like coming home! We love shutters so much we brought 75 of our closest friends and family to celebrate our wedding there! Thank you for your special attention to details as well as the amazing amenities in our room when we arrived! Cheers to you both! Much love!! ♥️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Dear HpopL, Thank you for the wonderful review, we will make sure to pass along your compliments to Bruce and Katrina! We are so thrilled you chose Shutters on the Beach to celebrate your wedding. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Packers wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No security Never felt safe during my stay Safer in Times Square Encountered the rudest and nastiest employee Found out it was the manager of guest services whose name I believe is Beatrice She treats people with distain
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear l3165DOrichb, We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience. May I ask you to please reach out via email at zkerns@shuttersonthebeach.com so we can learn more information? We would love to hear from you. Sincerely, Zach Kerns Director of Rooms
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee P wrote a review Oct 2022
Fairport, New York64 contributions17 helpful votes
We wanted to do something extra special for our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip, and also combine it with a visit with our son, who lives in LA. The Shutters on the Beach checked all the boxes. Our room was beautiful, the staff was professional and very friendly and helpful, and the restaurants here were excellent. The location was close to all the things you would want to do in Santa Monica. Since it is right on the beach, we were able to experience the beautiful views and sunsets each evening. The decor of our room was simply beautiful, and the Shutters on all the windows was very charming. It is pricey, but is well worth it if you want to really treat yourself to something special. I can't wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you dine at 1 Pico, schedule your reservation around sunset time! The view of the sunset over...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Oct 24, 2022
Dear Renee P, We are thrilled to hear that you chose Shutters on the Beach to celebrate your 50th anniversary! Thank you for visiting us on the beach, and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mila G wrote a review Oct 2022
Long Island City, New York6 contributions5 helpful votes
This is now my hotel of choice when I come to LA . Friendly staff, excellent room, great location, wonderful food. I really like the proximity to the beach. Hotel has a family feel. Everybody goes out of the their way to make your stay more enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Oct 19, 2022
Dear milag656, Thank you for the amazing review! We are happy to hear that you think of Shutters on the Beach as your hotel of choice when visiting LA. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dana Los Angeles wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California1247 contributions1781 helpful votes
Beach casual chic of this hotel property make the hotel and exceptional gem. Great views of the blue Pacific Ocean and the iconic Santa Monica Pier will make every visit special. Highly recommended, especially if you want something more than a brand hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elica Yoneyama, Marketing at Shutters on the Beach
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear DanaLosAngeles, We are delighted to hear you are enjoying your time with us. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Christophe Baraton General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$809 - $1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shutters on the beach hotel santa monica, shutters beach, shutters santa monica
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta MonicaOcean Park / Santa Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHUTTERS ON THE BEACH - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Santa Monica, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shutters on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Shutters on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Avenue (0.09 miles), Palisades Park (0.09 miles), and International Chess Park (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shutters on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shutters on the Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shutters on the Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Shutters on the Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shutters on the Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brunos, Stella Barra Pizzeria & Wine Bar, and Cha Cha Chicken.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shutters on the Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Shutters on the Beach located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Santa Monica.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shutters on the Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Shutters on the Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Shutters on the Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.