We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shutters on the Beach

LHW.com$525*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$663*
$525*
$663*
$525*
$663*
$525*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Shutters on the Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,353: English reviews
Start your review of Shutters on the Beach
 Click to rate
Milano Marittima, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was visiting the hotel for business purposes. Wish I had more time to experience all the amenities the hotel had, that were for leisure travellers. The check inn was quick and informative. We had a room with a great air con system, and the service, cleaning and breakfast was great. Hope I have the chance to return for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarloMilano2014
Tulsa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Girls trip last week! It was amazing! The staff is so professional and helpful. Makes you feel special! The housekeeping ladies are so friendly and warm. The decor is gorgeous. The location is ideal! The big bath tubs are fun! The lighting is cozy! Perfect! I want to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely beautiful hotel that takes you back in time combined with great service. After a hectic but amazing 4 weeks in the USA and Canada, we wanted to spend our last few nights and days relaxing in a beautiful location close to LAX.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When in Los Angeles stay in the shutters. Top location, stylish and top service. Restaurant Pico is amazing. Take a bike and go to Venice beach. Do not forget the poolside on the third floor. Great view on the beach. To keep it simple it is more than awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herberth S
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can't help it, I really like Shutters. The rooms are lovely. The location is perfect. The staff are great. I'd give it 5 stars but the maitre'd at the restaurant is pretty rude... But that won't stop me going back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyCam
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear SallyCam, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoy visiting us on the beach. However, we are disappointed that you did not receive top quality service throughout your stay. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we will take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our services. We look forward to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Life has become so impersonal, but not at Shutters where ' everybody knows your name'. There is a high level of personal service throughout-- pool area, concierge, restaurants, valet. Each nook and cranny is a delight to behold -- Ellsworth Kelly behind the reception check in, orchids in the bathroom, and the Pacific visible poolside. You will be pampered in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisbon37
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lisbon37, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! The vision for Shutters on the Beach is to provide guests with ultimate luxury in a laid-back environment, and comments such as yours let us know we are reaching our goals. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Including fees, taxes and valet we paid close to $1000 for a night at Shutters (in a room without sea view to be clear). The overall experience was distinctly average and definitely not worth the money. Rooms are small, hotel is crowded, bathrooms are dated, service was average. Save your money and drive up to Santa Barbara and stay at...

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 822carlw
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear 822carlw, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We share your disappointment that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our top priority is providing our guests with the best experience, especially in terms of value. We will take your comments into consideration for further improvements. Sincerely, Laura McIver General Manager Shutters on the...

Lagos de Moreno, Mexico
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent property whether you go for business (like I did!) or traveling with family. Clean areas and nice style building, very friendly staff that went above and beyond on service, everyone from doorman to accounting man (Mr. Ghodsi), thank you all very much, I truly look forward on visiting you soon with my family!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_RCastrejon
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear Antonio_RCastrejon, Thank you for your comments! We are so glad that your business stay was enjoyable, and that you received the service you deserved from our wonderful staff. We look forward to your return with your family! Sincerely, Laura McIver General Manager Shutters on the Beach

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Shutters really does a beautiful job in so many ways. But frankly, the rooms are small and not great storage space for belonging. They look great- super attractive but wish I just had more space. Loved the local car service too. As for my value for money rating, room size drove that answer. Bed was dreamy. Good linens and pillows.

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
 Report
Helpful?
Thank starro2017
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear starro2017, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but share your disappointment that your room was not the size you had hoped for. We do have quite a variety of room types, and we hope that when you return, we can find a room that is more suited to your needs. Sincerely, Laura...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed April 21, 2017

I stayed here a few days during a business trip. I must say I like to choose leisure hotels even if I am travelling for work because it allows me to mingle with a more relax crowd and make me forget I am there for business. This hotel is the perfect place to forget about everything. You just need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fedar
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review

Dear fedar, Thank you for sharing your comments. We truly strive to offer our guests with a luxury experience in a laid-back environment, and we are thrilled that we were able to achieve this for you. We hope you return soon! Sincerely, Laura McIver General Manager Shutters on the Beach

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,022 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (517)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (207)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (Ocean View) (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (89)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Premier King Room (Ocean View) (24)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Spa King Room (23)
Viewed
Superior King Room (Handicap Accessible) (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
885 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,751 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
926 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $580 - $899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shutters on the Beach staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Shutters on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Just splurge and go for the ocean front rooms, you won't be disappointed.”
Renatad4, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“Try to get Ocean view”
173craigw, Apr 7, 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View of course if possible!”
imaaggie82, Apr 4, 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with an ocean and pool view.”
149paulaa, Apr 2, 2017 | Read review
“If your trip won't be pool/jacuzzi centric, then ask for rooms in the main building because you won't have to walk around as much.”
grothman, Mar 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
LHW.com
$525* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$525
TripAdvisor$525
Elvoline$663
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates