We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Save
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (4)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good29%
  • Average24%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Facilities for Disabled Guests
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Special Offer: Stay 2+ Nights, Save 20%
Hotel deals
Offers from Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Special Offer: Stay 2+ Nights, Save 20%
Hotel deals
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
45
80
76
46
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
45
80
76
46
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwalking distanceacross the streetbreakfast roomwharfboardwalk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Right by the boardwalk and pier. Management was very nice. Room was big and nice. Great free breakfast. Nice hot tub. Not sure why the bad reviews. This was a great place with free parking. Grounds taken care of well.

Thank joni j
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the Howard Johnson's on the Santa Cruz boardwalk. The hotel is actually fairly old, but in pretty good condition. The rooms could use some updating, and freshening up. Was a bit disappointed with the continental breakfast boiled eggs toast and waffles,...More

Thank lharbit
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach BoardwalkResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you kindly for your review; we very much appreciate it. As you mention, our building is quite old, but we maintain it to a very high standard, and we are pleased that this was evident to you. We are disappointed to hear that you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the room to be average, though pretty noisy. We could hardly hear the TV over the Shower from the room next door, and the noise from the hot tub below came right through the closed door. These would not keep me staying here...More

Thank dmurphy163
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach BoardwalkResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate you staying with us recently, and taking the time to leave your review. It is disappointing to know that you were disturbed by fellow guests, but we hope that this did not detract from your stay too much. We hope to remain your...More

Reviewed May 15, 2018

The hot tub and the breakfast was a joke. The check-in people were not friendly quite dismissive. The room it self was functional and clean. I expected just a little bit more for breakfast than frozen waffles.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmgpony01
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach BoardwalkResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you kindly for your choosing to stay with us recently; we very much appreciate it. We are known for the wonderful hospitable service that we offer, and we are sorry that this was not your experience. This is most disappointing, and we will make...More

Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

The place was clean and well maintained, but not very user friendly. The first night there we had 8 to 10 people sitting in the hot tub at 10pm when it was shut down promptly at 10 and then all the lights were shut off...More

Thank Larry W
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Santa Cruz Beach BoardwalkResponded 4 weeks ago

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that in the main, our hotel was suitable for your accommodation requirements. We are very disappointed to hear however, that a number of small issues occurred which detracted from your overall enjoyment of your...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Santa Cruz
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Details
Price range
$138 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$138 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carol C
January 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TimJ3 | Reviewed this property |
Safe enough.... I encountered no problems whatsoever.
1
Vote
Jessica K
August 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TimJ3 | Reviewed this property |
Forget their hot tub....... a lot of things at this property need upgrading
1
Vote
Room Tips
"There are some rooms just to the left of the office with a balcony and view of the ocean."
Read review
"I recommend not staying at this motel."
Read review
"This is an older beach hotel not the Ritz and walking distance to activities"
Read review
"Don't choose any rooms, choose a different hotel!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing