We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Gridley
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unexpectedly we ended up here when our other hotel had problems with our reservations We were treated very well liked the breakfast room though selections never changed Parking is very limited across the street so no close spaces near your rooms Quiet clean and well maintained rooms Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rnprofessr
Susanville, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56shawnac
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is very nice. It has a wonderful location near the beach. Everything is within a decent walk and its quiet. Stayed here for just a night but wished we had time to stay longer. The location is perfect for a longer stay to be able to ealk around Santa Cruz and really get to see the city. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MStrauhal
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Santa Cruz and for the wonderful review! I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit. Everything we do is aimed at making our guests feel right at home. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Santa Cruz!

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only good thing to say is that the hotel is walking distance to the municipal pier and Santa Cruz beach. There are other options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell32825
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

While we are glad that you felt our location was convenient for you, we are disappointed that we weren't able to knock it out of the park for you. Thanks for letting us know your feedback. We hope you will give us another try. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Turlock, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always stay here. Our family walks to the Boardwalk and is across the street from the Wharf. It is within walking distance of downtown too. For the price it is great. Free breakfast is always nice for the kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justinreed2269
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. From location to breakfast it sounds like we were the perfect fit for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your review! Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of the room is not the best but the room with jacuzzi was roomy & clean. Perfect location if you want to stay near the beach. I will go back to HJ on my next visit to Santa Cruz.. I highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 577celiae
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

We do have a really great location, don't we?! We're happy to hear that everything throughout your recent stay went so smoothly and that you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your wonderful review! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Live Oak, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 3 nights for a weekend getaway. After the refrigerator made noise all night and the shower water stayed cold with bursts of freezing we left the first day. Horrible place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T768GHtimothys
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Deat guest, our room service team is generally very thorough with checking these things so it is strange that this has happened. We wish you had let us know about this so we could have taken care of this right away or switched your rooms to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us as a vast majority of our...

Stockton, California
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We have stayed here twice and have not had any issues staff is nice, liked the breakfast the facility is always clean. This will be our go to hotel whenever we come to Santa Cruz. We love the location no need to pay for parking we can walk to the beach and boardwalk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F6995EGanthonyl
Modesto, California
Reviewed October 30, 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sargony957
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

I came to Santa Cruz for my first time, And stayed for one night. The hotel is nice, the room had just what you need: tv, micro wave, refrigerator. I wouldn't ask for anyrhing else . Very confortable and most important very clean. Pd: you have yo make you own breakfast, but that's cool... Part of the adventure. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 53 in Santa Cruz
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#20 of 53 in Santa Cruz
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 53 in Santa Cruz
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#19 of 53 in Santa Cruz
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#32 of 53 in Santa Cruz
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $74 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't choose any rooms, choose a different hotel!”
  • Steps up to our room, not great with loads of bags
 of 5 bubbles ClaireB761, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view. There are 2 blocks - one has no view. 2nd only views upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterC335, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“205 was good room, best view I think!”
 of 5 bubbles Mperez4, Oct 6, 2015 | Read review
“Don't get room 112”
 of 5 bubbles Z1237VQnicolef, Sep 11, 2015 | Read review
“Don't expect a good "Oceanfront" view.”
 of 5 bubbles bonj66, Aug 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay