We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
 Click to rate
Reno Nevada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was not expecting the room to be so tiny. There was hardly any room to move. The bedding was extremely worn and there was not enough bedding. Just a sheet and a thin blanket. I checked drawers and closets but couldn't find any and by that time it was late at night and I didn't want to wait. Just...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac4
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 470elizabeth_
Dallas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X7700AFsandrak
Dublin, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was small, clean but very dated. Heater didn't work properly, froze all night. Blankets were like sheets, made my entire night miserable. I'm glad I was there for only a night. We were walking distance to the boardwalk. Had I stayed longer I would have asked for another room with a working heater and lots of blankets!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Hi Pam, It is such a pity that you did not ask us to change your room - we would have been delighted to do that for you. We are here to make our guests' stays as pleasant as possible, and we are desperately sorry that you were so uncomfortable, when it could have been sorted out so easily. Please...

California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an older hotel but it is easy walking distance to Boardwalk. The last time we stayed in July 2016 we found the room large enough for 4 adults. Clean and just what we needed for an overnight stay. The breakfast was plenty but hard to remember a year later. I do remember there being a lot of places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Campbell, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room #118 had newer, basic, amenities. Room was clean and fixtures in good repair. Bed was uncomfortable and some kind of machine droned on loudly all night. It was as loud as a generator on an RV next to you. We never got good sleep the first night. My wife fell on the walkway outside the room pretty hard the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameslK8920AB
Turlock, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittnio2017
Las Vegas
Reviewed February 11, 2017

The hotel i thought would be of normal Howard Johnson standards The room smelled of mold and dirt. The Bathtub was peeling and I didn't even want to shower in it. The Lady at the reception desk was the most unfriendly person I have ever met. I checked in at about 10:30pm, and she made it seem like it was...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gini M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write your review. We can't tell you how disappointed we are that your stay with us wasn't as comfortable as you had hoped. We value and respect all our guests and we want all our guests to feel welcome, and we are sorry that a member of our team did not...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed February 5, 2017

this place is in a wonderful location. just a stones throw from the boardwalk, and right at the end of the wharf on top of a hill. nice view of the bay.. should be ideal. but.. its kinda run down. the rooms could use an upgrade . the outside could use some paint. parking is open but kinda of difficult...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank briansX8754GL
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Brian, We are delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful location, and we appreciate your feedback. We do have an older property, but our team work relentlessly to ensure that it is cleaned and maintained to the highest possible standard. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you're in the area. Best wishes, Hotel...

Minden, Nevada
Reviewed February 5, 2017

My husband and I always head to Santa Cruz for our birthday. We like to stay close to the Boardwalk and Wharf so we can walk everywhere. This motel is close and we have stayed here before. On this visit we got into our room with a faulty smoke detector, beeping. Their solution just take the battery out. We also...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Kathy, We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your birthday celebration, and that you enjoyed our wonderful location. It's a shame that your stay was marred by a couple of issues in your room, and we apologize sincerely that you were not offered an alternate room once you had alerted us to those issues. We would...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $89 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This is an older beach hotel not the Ritz and walking distance to activities”
 of 5 bubbles MGD828, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't choose any rooms, choose a different hotel!”
  • Steps up to our room, not great with loads of bags
 of 5 bubbles ClaireB761, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view. There are 2 blocks - one has no view. 2nd only views upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterC335, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“205 was good room, best view I think!”
 of 5 bubbles Mperez4, Oct 6, 2015 | Read review
“Don't get room 112”
 of 5 bubbles Z1237VQnicolef, Sep 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question