We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Save
Share
401 Johans Beach Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4962
Lowest prices for your stay
$159
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/28/21
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (90)
Room & Suite (90)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A hidden gem, mere steps to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, or enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to your room to listen to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks, and some are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free Wi-Fi. Larger rooms for families and rooms beautifully appointed, and perfect for two. Welcome to Ocean Echo Inn. As close as you can get to your own beach house!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
472Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 280
  • 91
  • 47
  • 27
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Natalie Holcomb wrote a review Jan 17
4 contributions
Cute and private. Our room was small small but updated. It needed a sofa or loveseat to watch TV but no room. Steps from beach and I could bring my fur baby! Nice bed linens and decor. The staff is friendly and helpful. I will return because I felt safe to be on my own.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Tim W wrote a review Jan 10
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stay away. I get that it’s not fancy but the upkeep is bad and cleaning was poor at best which is especially concerning due to Covid . We had no faith that the cleaning protocols would abide by protocols meant to deal with COVID . I mean we were given Someone else’s old used sponge for our kitchen during COVID !!!We booked last minute and when we showed up that night were told breakfast was cancelled, yet no reduction in the price. If you can’t serve a formal breakfast that’s fine but you should offer something, a couple dollars off or at least coffee. From there that next morning our circuit breaker went out when we turned on the hairdryer which meant we had to get ready In the dark since no one was at the office. We did call back after the office opened and they fixed it. It seems that every other room had one or more dogs. On top of that there were always other kids running around without supervision from their parents and without masks on( we have three boys who do wear masks). The sheets were piling and felt like they had sand in them. The location is ok but it’s not right next to a beach unless you consider a swamp a beach and bring your waiters to wade to the beach
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
oneabsrfr wrote a review Dec 2020
Lincoln, California1 contribution
We love staying at Ocean Echo! Victoria is wonderful and makes our stay so easy. Our dog Hula can’t wait to get there, and looks forward to getting into Sunny Cove. I come for work and knowing that my husband & fur baby are comfortable while I’m working is HUGE! We will be coming back time after time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ocean Echo Inn, General Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your perfect review! We love return guests but especially the furry ones! We love Hula and she is always welcome! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay! Take care and Happy Holidays!
Read more
Natascha T wrote a review Oct 2020
San Francisco, California369 contributions241 helpful votes
The Inn has a very good location, right by Johan Beach and with the sliding door open, we could hear the ocean all night. We upgraded to an ocean view room and had a balcony facing out. It got a little hot in the room, despite having a ceiling fan, as we couldn't open any windows apart from the sliding doors. It appears there is no A/C. Our room was very nice, modern and clean, with a lovely bathroom. Unfortunately, the mattress was very soft and we barely slept most of the night, kept waking up and in the morning, had back pain. That's the main reason why we wouldn't come back. The other reason is, that the Inn has many open areas with porches and decks, and it can get quite loud. There was a family having a fiesta in the afternoon with lots of people and loud music. Of course, it's their right to do that, as they stopped before bedtime, but, nevertheless, we didn't enjoy listening to it while sitting on the balcony. Parking is provided. There's no food during COVID. You can easily walk to the harbor and boardwalk and there are restaurants close by. We brought our bikes and it's only a few miles along the coast to Capitola. If you like soft mattress and don't need quiet, this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ocean Echo Inn, General Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our location and our ocean view room. We love when guests bring their bikes as this is a great starting point for a great bike ride either to Santa Cruz or Capitola. We encourage you to come let the office know if other guests are disturbing you so we can address it immediately. All guests are here for a good time and we are here to ensure this happens. We hope that you will keep us in mind for a future stay!
Read more
Colin R wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I called to book a room at this hotel the day prior to arriving. They stated on their website that they were "dog-friendly", and I specifically told the reservation clerk that I wanted a room for 2, and a dog. They quoted me a rate that I accepted. On arrival at the hotel, they told me that there was a $50 additional charge for the dog (not stated on their web site and I was not told this when making the reservation). When I disputed the charge, they refused to allow the stay without the charge. I asked to speak to the manager, and the clerk called her and she refused to speak to me. Furthermore, on their website they state they have a continental breakfast but now have ceased any breakfast service. They did not inform us of this when booking. Finally, there were numerous guests walking around the grounds without masks. I would not feel safe staying at a hotel that scams guests. How would I know they don't take a similar approach when cleaning rooms to be COVID safe. Very disappointing encounter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure they will deliver what they say when you book. Don't trust them.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ocean Echo Inn, General Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Responded Dec 7, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not all that you expected. While my clerk should have informed you of our dog fee, it is clearly noted on our website when you booked the reservation. With dogs staying in rooms, it does require additional cleaning and some guests are allergic. $50 per dog per night seems reasonable to allow for your furry friend to be with you during your vacation. With COVID, our county regulations required us to stop serving breakfast to ensure the safety of our staff and guests. We are continuing this safety protocol and this information is posted online, at our front desk and also in our designated breakfast room. Our property is large enough that guests are able to walk around without a mask and still keep their safe 6 feet distance from others – if guests are closer than 6 feet, masks are required, and all guests have been very understanding. We have had no issues since all of this began due to the extra precautions we take in our rooms, on our property and as well as in our lobby. We have taken strict approaches since COVID and are clean and safe certified by California Hotel Lodging Association. We plan to continue these efforts to keep our guests safe.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean echo inn & beach cottages hotel santa cruz, ocean echo inn and beach cottages
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Pleasure Point Beach (0.5 miles), Santa Cruz Harbor Beach (0.6 miles), and Twin Lakes State Beach (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harbor Cafe, The Crow's Nest, and Lago di Como Ristorante & Pizzeria.
Are pets allowed at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.