We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Solares

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Solares
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 628: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a no frills hotel. It's an old facility but the rooms are nice (fairly modern). The staff's customer service is ok at best. When asked to make coffee to go with the provided breakfast the woman working the counter seemed VERY annoyed. (Waffles, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit coffee and juice) The location of the hotel is about a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Apofire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love the property and as well as the woman at the front desk Tina very nice and welcoming. Room is great and so is the service we will be back here every time we come now because the staff and beautiful location thanks

Helpful?
Thank Lancejt
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked the Hotel Solares because we have a 8 yrs girl. The Solares was a short walk to the Santa Cruz beach, the Boardwalk and had a pool. Free off street parking was a plus too. Like all the hotels in downtown Santa Cruz, it is older and some parts of the building looked run down, but I must... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seror_Carlos
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing wrong about this. Nice staff, clean and spacious rooms, small pool, patio to eat outside and basic breakfast. Big thing was that the Wifi was NOT working properly. Sometimes you were in and then thrown away. If you have a room on the first floor you can hear the noise from breakfast, but I didn't mind as I wake... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olli T
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously. More 

Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was slightly dirty (bathroom walls etc) and a little tired. Staff was friendly, although when we checked in (after 4p) a maids cell phone was plugged into an outlet in our room. Some dirty cleaning towels were left directly outside our door - they were removed fairly promptly when the maid showed up to collect her phone. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MoniClaire
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience I would like to extend a discount on your future stay. sincerely Joseph S Ramos General Manager. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

ok hotel, over priced but ok for a stop off, Santa Cruz as an area isn't the nicest, I would definitely avoid, you don't feel safe there, around every corner it smells, and there are so many homeless people, the best thing about Santa Cruz is at the end of the wharf the sea lions stay down at the end,... More 

Helpful?
Thank paigewoodcock
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

For starters we booked online and chose to have the deposit takin from the credit card and pay cash for the rest upon arrival just so we had extra traveling money on our card. Instead they took the whole amount out. When we discussed the issue when we arrived they said they would upgrade our room no charge. So sounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

At check in it is hotel policy to charge the room most hotel do that and incidental fee is not charged it is just authorize and returned back at check out. More 

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

I booked this place threw booking.com as soon as I booked it the hotel called and canceled my reservation since my card got declined so we went home. Then I go and check my bank account and the next day they charged my card once again total of 6 times my bank said they had tried to charge my debt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raeann G
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience hope you will let us make it up to you on your next stay by giving you a discount. More 

Fresno, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

We paid for our room in advance. The deal was pay in advance and get a better price. Upon arriving we were not allowed to check-in early. Which okay we can deal with that, however upon checking-in the room we pre-paid for was not available. They gave our room to someone else. We paid for a suite but instead got... More 

Helpful?
Thank blamas4383
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

thank you for your business. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

This place was horrible. We booked what was supposed to be a king suite, but when we got there they said it was already occupied. We had paid $400 for the room and they would not give a discount. We had no choice as the whole town was booked. In the room there are stains on all the towels, black... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Hello Kathryn! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you had a terrible stay with us. Good news is we've just undergone new management and we have a lot of fun, exciting things planned for the future. The next time you visit the area, please contact me directly at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $99 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay