We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$195
View deal
Booking.com
$195
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/27/22
Travelocity$195
Autograph$195
Priceline$195
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (326)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 01/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Updated 01/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 56 hotels in Santa Cruz
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Striking the perfect balance between nature and urban design, Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection will challenge your current understanding of hospitality. Surrounded by rugged mountains and majestic redwoods, our contemporary hotel captures the essence of bold contradictions. Following a good night's sleep in our rustic yet modern accommodations, set out to explore nearby attractions including Mount Hermon or California's Mystery Spot. When you return, stop by our on-site eatery, Solaire Restaurant + Bar, for delicious American cuisine. Want to stay active during your visit? Our new fitness center boasts plenty of cardio equipment and free weights for when you want to work up a sweat. Those who would prefer an afternoon of relaxation can do so at our outdoor pool and deck, the largest in Santa Cruz, by swimming or resting in one of our poolside day beds. No matter what brings you to town, opt for authenticity with a stay at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bowling offsite
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
818Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 364
  • 266
  • 113
  • 51
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JK92262 wrote a review Sep 22
San Francisco, California57 contributions47 helpful votes
Had a 3 day business meeting in Santa Cruz. Very cool place to meet. Hotel was excellent. Service was outstanding. Food/drink and atmosphere were exceptional. I am a bit of a fitness nut, the location of the hotel was perfect for my morning runs to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I didn't have one, but ask for a pool view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
twizzlirzzz wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York12 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Nicely renovated, very stylish and clean hotel. Pool and pool bar are very cool. Dogs of any size are welcomed (treats provided during Friday afternoon complimentary wine time in lobby - nice tough on both counts!!). Complimentary morning coffee is also available in the lobby. Hotel staff were terrific - friendly, professional and efficient! Late 2 pm checkout (Bonvoy Gold) request was honored, even though hotel was fully booked. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend and choose this hotel again!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have little patio with 2 chairs and small table.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Twizzlirzzz, Thank you so much for your kind words about our team and hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your time in Santa Cruz, and your kind words mean the world to our hard working team. We look forward to welcoming you back in!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara T wrote a review Sep 20
2 contributions
We had our wedding hotel room block at Hotel Paradox and had such a great experience! We looked at so many hotels in the area before deciding to move forward with Hotel Paradox and we now have no doubt that we made the right decision. The hotel set up was perfect for our event weekend. Guests were able to gather around the pool during the day and hang at the bar in the evenings. Many of our guests were raving about their experience at Hotel Paradox all weekend long. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure our guests felt welcome all weekend and were extremely accommodating and the food was great too. Having our room block there really added to our weekend and enhanced our whole experience. A big thank you to everyone at Hotel Paradox for making our wedding weekend one to remember!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
liverbyrd50 wrote a review Aug 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom38 contributions52 helpful votes
Hotel is on a busy road, a way from the beach. Rooms were ok but bathroom needed an upgrade. Beds were comfortable Pool area was ok, food on the restaurant was pretty good but the service was slow There is a park behind the hotel which is literally full of tents/homeless. I must point out that the hotel seems very safe and we did not have any issues but I would not leave anything valuable in your car whilst there. It’s honestly not as nice as the photos it shows,but as Santa Cruz hotels go, it’s pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking is good, lots of space but make sure you register your car for parking. Restaurant...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Liverbyrd50, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and focus on providing a comfortable and pleasurable atmosphere for all. We apologize that we didn't quite enhance your stay with us. You were underwhelmed and I intend on ensuring that all aspects of our hotel are at their best at all times. With your feedback we are able to gather our team together to re-group, re-learn and re-acquaint ourselves with our goals and intentions. Typically guests find our central location easy to get around on bike, skateboard or by foot. Do know that we are working with our city officials and environmental programs to revive our park. As a whole we hope you walked away with fond memories of your stay and hope you decide we are worth another visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elizabeth332 wrote a review Aug 2022
Atlanta, Georgia12 contributions6 helpful votes
Probably the least comfortable hotel bed I’ve slept in. I’m relatively young and woke up both mornings with back pain having not slept well. For that alone, I’d save the money and book just about anywhere else. Location is also only mediocre. Pool seemed nice but lots of kids so wouldn’t choose to spend any time there. If you had kids, they would certainly be entertained. Also $10 for parking seemed like an unnecessary extra charge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Sanda, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations and appreciate the feedback so we can deliver a better stay in the future. We usually get great responses on our mattresses and will make sure to continue to inspect each mattress during our room inspections. We hope you will consider staying with us again and think you might appreciate the renovations that will be coming later this year for a full public area makeover.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeandJim wrote a review Jul 2022
El Dorado Hills, California463 contributions132 helpful votes
+1
There are a lot of good things to say about the Paradox. The staff is great. The restaurant is very good considering it’s on the hotel grounds. More than I can say about a lot of others we have utilized. The burgers and fries deserve a special shout-out. We traveled here this last week. We have a new to us rescue dog. They welcome pets with open arms. Anywhere in the hotel. They have a chalkboard that they use to personalize your pets welcome. Nice touch. Poolside bar is great. Nice pours and they certainly can make a great martini. The pool area is terrific with a lot of seating and chaises to relax on. The rooms aren’t huge but were adequate for us and very clean when we arrived. Yup industrial toilets remind us of a hotel in the Kona area. You can hear them a room or a floor away. If there were criticisms to be made, they are this… If you’re seriously going after the “pet set”, create a dedicated area for pets to relieve themselves. The under the trees small areas aren’t really sufficient and honestly, the vegetation on the grounds would benefit. There is space to do this. And the elephant in the room, San Lorenzo Park. There are hundreds of tents that house the homeless. It’s just another sad state of affairs in the country. We didn’t feel comfortable using the bridge to go downtown. There is security on the property at night. I did read an article that this area was to be cleaned up in July. Time will tell. Overall a good experience. We stayed an additional night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
MikeandJim, thank you for your feedback. It holds great value to us for it allows us to re-group and re-learn in the areas that need attention as well as celebrate in the areas that were positively recognized. We enjoy acknowledging our hard-working staff. With your feedback we will review what we offer for the "pet set" and seek ways to enhance that experience. Thank you for understanding that the state of San Lorenzo Park is evolving. Do know that we are working with our city officials and environmental programs to revive our park through all the stages it will take to make the park back to a safe and beautiful area for all to enjoy. We appreciate you two. We look forward to welcoming you back back in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennusy wrote a review Jul 2022
Quezon City, Philippines466 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful lobby and nice vibe. We had breakfast and lunch there and food was good but not great, considering the prices of the dishes. Our room was small with very little space for our luggages (1 big and 2 handcarries). But I must say that because we used bonvoy points to book this room. Some rooms were spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Free parking available and rooms on the 1st floor has a small verandah.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Jennusy, we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience unfortunately we were unable to fully provide that for you during your stay with us. Our desire is to show our Marriott Bonvoy members our gratitude when they stay with us so apologize that it did not appear so. On the contrary, we are extremely grateful for your loyalty, and we are thankful you chose to stay with us. We hope a re-visit is in your future so we can present room type options for you, thus create new memories with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin H wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Not horrible, but not great. I wouldn't stay here again. Nightstand on either side of king size bed and that was all the space you got. I was glad I was alone or else we wouldn't have had anyplace to put the suitcases. Air conditioning couldn't keep up and my room was hot all night long. I didn't sleep well at all. Pool was small and crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded Jul 7, 2022
L407AXrobinh, providing our guests with an exemplary stay is what we strive for. We apologize that we didn't quite enhance your stay with us. Do know that we strive to ensure that all aspects of our hotel are at their best at all times. That was a challenging few days for our AC system. Our Maintenance Crew worked diligently to rectify the situation, apologies that it disrupted your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
攝影旅者 Photo Trekker wrote a review Jun 2022
Xinzhuang, New Taipei450 contributions463 helpful votes
It's not very outstanding hotel comparing to other autograph collection brand, but it's alright. We got free rental bikes to the beach and alright room. The services was good but the room is like an upgraded motel room though.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
LolaSF32 wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
I really can't believe we just paid $450/night for a tiny motel room where the doors are facing the walkway and people are walking by constantly. Breakfast was not included, it was nothing special and overpriced, just like everything else here. The beds are comfortable, but I wouldn't pay more than $150 for this room. We didn't even get enough towels in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Begin, Owner at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Responded Jun 1, 2022
Lola, we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience, unfortunately you left uninspired. This drives us to seek improvement to ensure our property is at its best at all times. Our exterior facing rooms celebrate our coastal California weather and celebrate the history of our building. Agreed that the floor to ceiling windows, while let in that sunshine, do expose you to other guests walking by. We hope that you were able to enjoy the pool and explore around Santa Cruz, and that you'll be visiting California again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$191 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Paradox
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History (0.3 miles), Bookshop Santa Cruz (0.3 miles), and Abbott Square (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laili Restaurant, Verve Coffee Roasters, and Santa Cruz Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Santa Cruz.
Does Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Lorenzo River Railroad Bridge (1.0 miles).