We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2250 Mission St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5222
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$139
Priceline$139
Travelocity$139
Hotels.com$139
Agoda.com$139
Trip.com$152
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (60)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 56 hotels in Santa Cruz
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Sauna
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
437Reviews6Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 176
  • 174
  • 69
  • 8
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy L wrote a review Aug 4
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania123 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Not recommended. I treated my parents to a Santa Cruz vacation as a delayed Father's Day present. I chose this place based on reviews. I wish I'd check more recent reviews. At $250/night, it wasn't the most expensive, but neither was it cheap. The first room my parents got was absolutely gross. Grime everywhere. They went back and asked for another room, and the front desk attendant initially refused (with an ugly attitude), but finally gave them another room that was marginally better. Even so, my mom had to go around with sanitizing wipes to make it habitable. There was a layer of crud on most surfaces (check out pictures of the wipes after a pass)-- plus stains/ debris on the couch, microwave, coffeemaker, phone, towels, and sheets. The shower was also really hard to turn on. My parents wanted to leave immediately, but Mission Inn refused to refund the first night. We were able to get a refund for the second night by working through Expedia. I offered to rebook my parents at another hotel for both nights, but they didn't want to waste the money. I felt bad that my hotel choice nearly derailed their gift vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here-- gross rooms, unfriendly front desk
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Amy, It looks to us that you have the wrong hotel. This review is inaccurate and we have no record of you as our guest. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations entirely. We apologize for your experience; we would like to assure you that we have a well-trained and hard-working team, and it is implausible of them not to assist you with your needs. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and will investigate your complaint further. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for your difficulties during your stay with us. Thank you, Mission Inn & Suites Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly R wrote a review Jul 2022
Des Moines8 contributions4 helpful votes
Super clean, roomy, bright place to stay - nice to be away from the madness of the boardwalk, we didn't have any issues with noise at all. The staff at the front desk was the very opposite of helpful and welcoming - didn't share any info about the hotel, amenities, etc., acted like I was an intrusion. I'd recommend it, even so, exceeded expectations. Would have given five stars if not for the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Just ask for one in the back.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kelly, Thank you for the very kind feedback on your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in working hard to provide clean rooms, greet guests, and ensure a fantastic stay, and your review speaks for itself--we are honored. We regret to learn that you found our staff rude; it is very unusual to receive feedback like this; We have an experienced team at our hotel, and we would look to improve our service per your suggestions. We always want our guests to have a memorable stay with us, so we hope to see you again soon and earn a perfect score. Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S. Be sure to book directly at missioninnsantacruz.com to find the lowest available rates for our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petunia189 wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston, Texas22 contributions7 helpful votes
Complete disappointment. Was expecting a lot based on the reviews at yelp, hotels.com and other sites, but this place didn't deliver. Pros: convenient location, clean room, friendly staff Cons: horrendously overpriced for what is basically an upgraded motel. Our bill came to nearly $400 for one room, one night. Worse still, the room was very noisy - street noise during the day and parking lot/other guests throughout the night. Had to negotiate with the manager to let us out of our contract for the remaining nights on our reservation. Hotel was about to charge us an extra night penalty for leaving early after getting almost no sleep during the one night we stayed. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a different motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First and foremost, we want to sincerely apologize for your experience during your stay with us. This is not the kind of experience we want our guests to have! I will undoubtedly forward your comments to management. Please accept my apologies for the noise coming up from the streets. We work hard so that our guests have a memorable and safe stay with us. We will work to improve the amenities, update the property and offer the best product at a reasonable rate. The management team has been notified of your concerns and will take the appropriate measures to improve future guest stays. Sincere Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daves37215 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jasper, Indiana44 contributions46 helpful votes
I was in need of an inexpensive motel while on the road and the Mission Inn filled my need. The lady at the front desk when we checked in was very kind and gave us ideas on where to go eat. The room was very clean and perfectly fine for me and my son for one night. I can't say teh free breakfast was wonderful but it did fill the need.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Daves37215, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your kind words directed towards our hard-working staff are very much appreciated, and your feedback shall be communicated to them, which shall undoubtedly brighten their day. I'm glad you enjoyed our spotless and comfortable guest rooms. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast. I will certainly pass on your feedback and make improvements to our breakfast menu and services. We assure you that we will improve our service the next time you stay with us. Kind Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S. Be sure to book directly at missioninnsantacruz.com to find the lowest available rates for our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffrey B wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Staff at the front desk were welcoming and helpful. Provided recommendations to local restaurants, of which there are many in walking distance. Room was clean, large, and well outfitted with toiletries and coffee. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet, location was convenient, parking was close to our room. Finally, the rate was competitive for the quality, which was good. Breakfast was generous and varied. Overall, a good pick when staying in Santa Cruz - near downtown but not in it, convenient to UC and the local parks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: choose away from the street
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded May 8, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. Thank you so much for appreciating our hardworking staff. Our entire team works hard to deliver clean rooms, offer exceptional customer service, and ensure our guests have a delightful stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our affordable property and loved the in-room amenities, comfortable beds, and other facilities. It definitely was a pleasure hosting you at our property, and we'd love to see you again! Best Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S. Remember to always book your stay at missioninnsantacruz.com where you will find our lowest rates.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc Mann wrote a review Mar 2022
9 contributions
Perfect! The location was central to everything, the staff was super friendly, and the accommodations were comfortable. Right around are amazing restaurants (Copal), coffee (Verve), grocery (New Leaf) and a quick walk to West Cliff for a perfect view.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Dear Guest, Hooray! Thank you so much for your thorough and PERFECT SCORE review for us! We are glad that you had a great stay with us. Our friendly staff is honored to receive your glowing recommendation. We are delighted that you appreciated our clean and comfortable guestroom. We are also glad that you enjoyed our location close to restaurants, coffee shops, and the West Cliff for a perfect view. We welcome you back to stay with us again. Best Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at missioninnsantacruz.com, where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan wrote a review Jan 2022
42 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
The man behind the counter was very friendly and nice. We got there at 5 pm and was given the key. The housekeeper was still cleaning the room. I'm glad we didn't arrive at 3 when we could have checked in. He told us he was sorry and didn't have another room and that it would be an hour. Because he was so pleasant about it I wasn't upset. He offered the use of the hot tub. We went and parked by the room to wait. Fortunately it was only a 5 minute wait not an hour. The room was clean and nice! I liked the flooring. Nice swivel chairs and big TV. The bed was very comfortable! They had microwave and fridge in the room. They had a safe and pool towels and blow dryer. We would definitely stay again. The hot tub was nice and in a sheltered area. The jets were not very strong but it was pleasant. The breakfast was ok, nothing I could really have. But better then a grab bag. So the summary is Great Bed! Clean room, nice guy at check in. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Jan 5, 2022
Dear Guest, Hooray! Thank you so much for your thorough and PERFECT SCORE review for us! We are glad that you had a great stay with us. Our friendly staff is honored to receive your glowing recommendation. We are delighted that you appreciated our clean and comfortable guestroom, as well as the amenities such as TV, refrigerator, microwave, and chairs. We're also delighted that you like our clean guest room floor.Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay, and we believe we have done so once again. We'd be delighted to have you back. Thank you for staying with us and we can’t wait to host you again! Kind Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at missioninnsantacruz.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DT909 wrote a review Dec 2021
Singapore533 contributions97 helpful votes
We selected this place base on TA review. I am disappointed with my selection as reasons follows: 1) traditional tap which need to pull to get the water and not easy to control the water temperature. 2) 2 of the towels have stained ! 3) they don’t change the towels and neither housekeeping 4) breakfast is included but selection is limited and how to eat cold hard boiled egg? Personal preference for hot breakfast. In short not recommended for tourists rather for stopover!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Not suitable for tourists
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Dec 20, 2021
Dear Guest, We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We assure you that all your negative remarks will be shared with the team, and the situation will be improved soon. We work hard to provide 100% guest satisfaction, but this time we clearly missed the mark. Rest assured, all our guests feel safe and secure at our Santa Cruz property. Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Please take care, and stay safe! Sincerely, Mission Inn & Suites Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelTheWorld316 wrote a review Oct 2021
Santa Cruz, California4 contributions
We live in town and needed a place to stay while our plumbing was being repaired. We tried several local hotels, with an eye to being able to recommend a place to out-of-town visitors. Mission Inn tops the list for value - good sized rooms, modernized decor, comfortable bed. While it's on a busy commercial street, our room was quiet and we could walk to a few good places to eat. The breakfast was standard mid-quality hotel fare, with plenty of choice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Dear Guest, Double High Five!! Thank you very much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are thrilled that you loved your stay at our hotel. We're delighted you were able to stay with us in comfort while your plumbing was being repaired. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our spacious, modern, comfortable, and peaceful guestroom. Our staff ensures our guests stay to be pleasant. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast with plenty of choice. We're also delighted you liked our location, which is close to restaurants in the area. We take pride in offering our guests a comfortable and affordable stay. Thank you for your kind words. We'd be delighted to welcome you back and host you again. Thank you again for staying with us. Please recommend us to your friends and family. Kind Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S Remember to book your stay directly at missioninnsantacruz.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colleen M wrote a review Oct 2021
california8 contributions18 helpful votes
The Mission Inn was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is conveniently located close to the University, beach and downtown area. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was basic but enough to get your day started. It was the best deal in town for the price and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Mission Inn
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Wow!! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review with a PERFECT SCORE RATING!! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We're glad you liked our location near the University, beach, and the downtown area. We're also delighted you enjoyed our simple but tasty breakfast. Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay. We are happy to provide our guests with an affordable and comfortable stay. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate that you would recommend us to your friends and family. We would love to host you again when you visit the area. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Kind Regards, Mission Inn & Suites Management P.S Remember to book your stay direct at missioninnsantacruz.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mission hotel santa cruz
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mission Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mission Inn?
Nearby attractions include Stockwell Cellars (0.2 miles), Santa Cruz Mountain Brewing (0.2 miles), and The Parish Publick House (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mission Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mission Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mission Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mission Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mission Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include West End Tap & Kitchen, Ristorante Avanti, and Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mission Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mission Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mission Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Lorenzo River Railroad Bridge (0.7 miles).
Is Mission Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.