We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lavender Inn by the Sea

Save
Share
206 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3812
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Booking.com
Expedia.com
eDreams
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Lavender Inn by the Sea
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Along a sweep of California coastline reminiscent of the Côte d'Azur, guests can relax amid the soothing scent of lavender and soft ocean breezes at the Lavender Inn. French-inspired paintings adorn the walls, lavender bouquets grace each room, and sunlight shimmers off the waters of the pool. The Lavender Inn's plush guest rooms feature pillow-top beds, down duvets, lavender-scented bath amenities, and a welcome beverage. Surrounded by beautiful lavender gardens, the Lavender Inn is just two blocks from Santa Barbara's picturesque beaches and yacht harbor. Stearns Wharf, the oceanfront bike path, and downtown shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are just a short drive away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Massage
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish
503Reviews10Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 243
  • 177
  • 58
  • 22
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gingersmommy wrote a review Sep 2020
Riverside, California59 contributions46 helpful votes
The room was clean and nice. Basic rooms with a nice bottle of champagne to greet us! The bed was comfortable and the bedding was nice. This Inn is quaint. We have stayed at one of their sister Inns (in Jan) and enjoyed that when there was no virus concerns. The pool was nice and clean and it's pretty quiet. We enjoyed the use of the bikes to trek around Santa Barbara! The staff is super friendly (especially Gabriel!) Walls are a little thin but enjoyed the DirectTv when we were in the room. Good value but can't wait until we can do the breakfast and wine and cheese hour. Good place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded Sep 21, 2020
Greetings gingersmommy, It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the little extras that we offer. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others. We rely on guests like you to share their honest impressions to help other travelers make informed choices on where to stay when visiting Santa Barbara. We hope you serve you again soon. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
Lorinka wrote a review Sep 2020
Santa Clara, California8 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night at Lavender Inn. Our stay was fine but I would not stay here for more than 1 night. The location is great, only a few blocks to the beach and plenty of restaurants nearby. We also liked the large pool, and the sparkling wine and breakfast were nice touches. However, the room was really disappointing. It was so dull and dark. The rooms are quite expensive so I was hoping for so much more. As other reviews have mentioned, check in is at the hotel across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Greetings LorinkaC, Thank you for choosing the Lavender Inn for your recent visit to Santa Barbara. It sounds like there were many things you enjoyed about your stay, however we are dissapointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied. Many of our guests enjoy the quaint ambiance and our lavender theme rooms so we are saddened to hear you we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Respectfully, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
roni6 wrote a review Sep 2020
Lake Forest, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
It looks nothing like in the picture. Rooms are small old fashioned, breakfast is a shame. We were starving in the morning and the food in a beg was really minimal. No drinking water in the room no plastic utilities and I had to fight for a living room table which was missing in the room. They closed the office and you have to go across the street to get every thing. Location is not bad. They cut off all amenities to customer even though there is no doubt in my mind that they are getting lots of money from the feds. Prices are very high for what you get in return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Greetings Roni6, I am terribly sorry to hear that you were dissapointed in your recent stay with us. As we discussed in your many communications with us before your arrival, Covid related government and industry guidelines have required that we modify some of our food services and amenities. Social distancing mandates have also requires that we close are very small reception area at the Lavender Inn and guests are asked to use our sister hotel located across the street. The safety of our guests and team members are our highest priority. Most of our guests are relieved to see that we are practicing required safety protocols to prevent the spread of Covid-19, however, I understand that you were dissapointed. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
Angelina E wrote a review Jun 2020
El Segundo, California105 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
My husband planned a 3 day weekend trip to Santa Barbara. This is our first trip since October 2019 and was much needed! The Lavender Inn is located in a great spot, a bike ride away to the waterfront/ocean. They also have complimentary bike rentals so I recommend taking advantage of that service! Their lobby was closed so we were directed to check in across the street at their sister property. Check in was easy and quick. Our room was #20, second floor with a king bed. The bathroom didn’t have a tub but looked like it was remodeled recently. Bed was very soft, almost too soft in my opinion. I do feel like we didn’t get to experience the full charm and quaintness of the Inn because the coronavirus eliminated any breakfast buffet or nightly happy hours they normally would have. But they did the best they could and our room had a welcome bottle of sparkling wine along with lunch sacks containing yogurt, fruit, cereal and granola. I thought it was a great effort by the hotel and I would love to come back and be able to experience everything this hotel has to offer. The grounds of the property are lovely, I loved all the flowers and garden area. Overall- an amazing stay and definitely will be coming back if I ever come to Santa Barbara again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from LizRodriguezSBHG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded Jul 2, 2020
Greetings Ninaangelina0101, Thank you for taking time to share your impressions with other travelers. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Lavender Inn. In these uncertain times we know our guests are coming to us for a much needed getaway while also wanting to feel safe knowing we are taking all necessary precautions. It is wonderful to hear that we provided both for you during your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
Mary B wrote a review Apr 2020
Maple Grove, Minnesota119 contributions38 helpful votes
Had a one night stay in March. The room was cozy, beds were comfortable and the complimentary champagne and breakfast was a nice touch. We had difficulty with the air conditioner/fan and the room had a musty scent to it that aggravated our allergies. Aside from that, the inn is in a very convenient location close to everything and the front desk service clearly aimed to please. We were granted early check-in and were grateful for that.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from LizRodriguezSBHG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded Apr 20, 2020
Greetings Mary B., It is wonderful to hear you had a lovely stay with us at the Lavender Inn. Thank you for letting us know about the air conditioner in your guestroom. Our hotel team will take care of that right away. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again. Kind regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lavender inn by the sea hotel santa barbara
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lavender Inn by the Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.3 miles), Carriage & Western Art Museum (0.09 miles), and Pershing Park (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Restaurant and Bar, The Brewhouse, and Chad's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Lavender Inn by the Sea located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lavender Inn by the Sea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Lavender Inn by the Sea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.0 miles), Casa del Herrero (3.8 miles), and Old Mission Santa Barbara (2.2 miles).