We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mason Beach Inn

Save
324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 07/30/2020.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
lovevacations
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (117)
Room & Suite (171)
Pool & Beach (23)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#31 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
SPECIAL NOTICE: We regretfully inform you that the Mason Beach Inn has temporarily closed as of March 31, 2020. We will re-open in late Summer 2020 after completing an extensive refresh. Safe and Healthy Travels to you. Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms and suites with brand new plush mattresses and 55 inch TVs, all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and Spa. Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrs. Multilingual staff
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Hot tub
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
524Reviews8Q+A72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 165
  • 244
  • 71
  • 24
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
When one books through the Booking.com on check (after one can't cancel any more free of charge) one is given the worst room in the hotel.We were given a ground floor room between the lobby, parking lot, pool and the maids' laundry room. The hotel had absolutely no sound insulation so one heard conversations in the hall as if it were in one's own room. Doors slamming at 4 a.m. were as loud as if it were your room. One could hear every conversation in the halls, in the neighboring room and upstairs (and there were many) as if they were in your room,.The first day after check in the TV stopped working (the hotel fixed that) but all the electronic door locks stopped working and for the 4 days of our stay one had to wait to be let in accompanied from someone at the front desk. The toilet room had no functional ventilation and no window so the stinks stayed. The bathtub shower with the water saver shower head let out a thin stream while water still poured through the tub spigot. The opening in the spigot on the wash basin was placed at the very edge of the sink so that one had to hold one's hands in such a position that the counter always flooded. There was no writing instrument or pad in the room. The in-room coffee machine was Keurig and had undrinkable coffee ( we bought instant coffee and heated the water in the microwave (whose turntable was broken). The washcloths and bath mats were only sporadically replaced. The nightstand lamp was too weak to read in bed. The halls were shabby. The only good thing about this place was the proximity to the ocean. Way overpriced for what was basically a Motel 6.
Read more
Response from Omar Lopez, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I would sincerely like to apologize for not meeting our shared expectations during your stay. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the staff as they are a great learning tool. We are currently in the process of updating the property and your feedback will ensure that we provide complete guest satisfaction moving forward. Once again thank you and have a great week!
Read more
Very cute stucco and tile property that reminded us of old Santa Barbara. Rooms nicely appointed and spacious. On site parking. Pool and hot tub. Free continental breakfast. One block from the waterfront bike path. One of the facility staff, Hector, even fixed my bike helmet when it broke! Short walk to Stearns Wharf and fun restaurants. Great value.
Read more
Response from Omar Lopez, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Hello Craig! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your time and the staff made all of the difference. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the team as they are a great learning tool. Once again thank you and have a great week!
Read more
We had room 221 which may have been the only room not renovated as it looked nothing like the pictures on this site or the hotels website. Everything was askew, the lamp shades, tv’s and chairs. There was no coffee table in the living area which left us wondering where to set our drinks or other belongings down. They advertise internet however since this unit was in the back of the property the only hotspot we could get was from the hotel two doors away. Without the passcode we were dead in the water. There were two safety hazards where there were 4 items plugged into a skinny extension cords and the tv in the front area did not work. The place is surrounded by a parking lot which gives you nothing to look at but the surrounding buildings. The breakfast is a do-it-yourself cereal and coffee bar so don’t expect much. The seating area only holds 10 people so most folks just took a cup of coffee back to there room as as there was nowhere to sit. The staff was friendly and helpful as they took your money for this supposed 4 star hotel. If you just need a place to flop close to the harbor go for it. If you’re looking for a place to hang out all day and read and relax I’d pass.
Read more
Response from Omar Lopez, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I would sincerely like to apologize for not meeting our shared expectations during your stay. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the staff as they are a great learning tool. We are currently in the process of updating the property and your insight will ensure that we provide complete guest satisfaction moving forward. Once again thank you and have a great week!
Read more
We came to Santa Barbara at the end of January. The Mason Beach Inn was located in a prime location. We were close to the beach, yatch Harbor and many nice restaurants and cafes, The accommodations were excellent. The staff were nice and very helpful. This will be our "go to destination" on future trips. Lash and Rosemary San Mateo, Ca.
Read more
Response from MBIgm324, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Hello Lash and Rosemary! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your time with us. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the staff as they are a great learning tool. Once again thank you and hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Well maintained older building in a great location. 1 block from the harbor in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was spacious with a cool high angled ceiling. Beds were very comfortable, nice linens. Flat screen tv was huge. Roof tiles were being replaced, but only 9 to 5 so no impact. We did have a broken refrigerator, but didn't need it. Desk staff was efficient, but not very friendly. Continental breakfast was just fine, cute but small dining area. Only noise issue is through the doors, we never heard our neighbors, but hall noise came right into room. Perhaps doors will be replaced during current renovation. I would stay here agsin.
Read more
Response from MBIgm324, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the staff as they are a great learning tool. Once again thank you and have a great weekend!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mason beach hotel santa barbara, mason beach santa barbara
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mason Beach Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mason Beach Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cabrillo Bike Path (0.7 miles), Reagan Ranch Center (0.4 miles), and Santa Barbara Maritime Museum (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mason Beach Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mason Beach Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Mason Beach Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mason Beach Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include McConnell's Fine Ice Creams, Toma Restaurant and Bar, and the black sheep.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mason Beach Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mason Beach Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mason Beach Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mason Beach Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Casa del Herrero (3.8 miles), Old Mission Santa Barbara (2.2 miles), and Casa de la Guerra (0.7 miles).
Is Mason Beach Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.