We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Harbor House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Harbor House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 527: English reviews
Columbia, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Great small inn, just a block from the beach. Our room (2A) had everything we needed - comfy bed, sitting area, small well-stocked kitchen, welcome basket with water, juices, homemade banana bread, biscotti, coffee and a variety of teas. Our room also had a deep hydro therapy tub. Each unit also has an outside sitting... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Bill B
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bill B! Thanks for taking the time to review our inn. We're elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for the kudos! We take great pride in our attention to detail and it's very rewarding for our staff to hear positive feed back in that regard. We'll... More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Great location. Staff friendly, helpful and with good local knowledge. Very spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast basket was amazing. This hotel is an absolute gem. Dont miss it. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Alan G
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Alan G from the Harbor House! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We're happy our staff was able to take such good care of you and able to point you in the right direction while you were visiting Santa Barbara! Glad to hear you liked your breakfast basket, we put... More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night while driving up the coast the last week of September. Great location near the beach and within walking distance of a number of restaurants. Room was large, quiet and nicely furnished and included a kitchen and dining area. Bed was very comfortable. Check-in was easy and all the staff we dealt with were exceedingly... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank gchrist256
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello gchrist256, Thank you so very much for your review of our inn! We're happy to hear how much you liked your room and glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location! And you're right, our beds are very comfy and new too with half being less than a year old and the other half... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We just returned from a short stay and thoroughly loved everything about the Inn. Made use if the free bike and DVD rental and spend a lovely day at the beach. Slightly expensive but would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
5 Thank Fran B
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Fran B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear you "loved every minute" and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary DVD library and beach cruisers! Thank you very much for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back when your... More 

San Franisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Rented the most expensive King Deluxe room, and it was so hot, as they do not have air-conditioning. During the day, room was like a oven. When complained about the heat, we were asked to sleep with the windows (at floor level, where you can see from the road) open to get the "cross air flowing". Will never stay there... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank kochchi
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kochchi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harbor House Inn. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Typically, the high in Santa Barbara year round is 72 degrees. There are however a handful of days in the year where temperatures are higher than normal and we agree that... More 

Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We hit town, drove by and decided to stay. The location was fantastic, a short stroll to the beach, Pier, and restaurants. We stayed in an apartment style room with a fireplace and full kitchen...WOW what a deal!! We will be back (can't wait)!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lisa B, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and really liked your room! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Paul More 

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We were looking for a quaint hotel, close to the beach, and walking distance to the restaurants . . Harbor House Inn was just perfect. The rooms all overlook a small courtyard, and many of the rooms have a small patio table right outside their rooms. The small touches make all the difference ! There was an unbelievable breakfast basket... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SHRAtl
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hi SHRAtl, Thank you for all of your kind words! We're happy to hear you were able to explore our beautiful city on our complimentary 3-speed beach cruising bikes and enjoyed our breakfast basket! We are lucky to have such a wonderful staff as you mentioned as well. And you're right, while you were here we were installing air conditioning... More 

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Lovely quirky place with character in a great location. Good value too and lot's of attention to detail with the hosts provding a welcome food basket and bathroom essentials. The most beautiful bed linen, and a really comfy bed, didn;t want to leave.

Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteCollins
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hi CharlotteCollins, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us! We're glad you could see our attention to detail. You're right, we do have great beds, all of which are less than a year old with half being less than a month old. I'm sorry you didn't want to leave us but you can always come and... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Perfect size room or let's better say small apartment with sofa area and a little kitchen. Thanks for the huge welcome basket! Deco is rather old-fashioned but in a good way, i.e. very well maintained and with character. Excellent bathroom with a top shower and lovely details - all so comfortable and well thought-out. Spotlessly clean (even the shower curtain!)... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank UtedB
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello UtedB, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review on our inn. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed our amenities! Also, I'm happy to let you know that this past month we got a brand new bed for room number 4. Now all of our beds are less... More 

West Covina, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've vacationed here twice, once on our honeymoon and then again on our one year anniversary. We love to stay here because you get a variety of rooms to choose from (including a kitchen!) and a free gift basket with homemade bread! The beach and a variety of places to eat are just minutes away. We recommend taking the rental... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny P
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Jenny P for your endorsement of our inn! We our honored that you chose to stay with us on two very special dates for you. We're glad you enjoy our amenities and our great location when you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Paul More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

515 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe King Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Deluxe King Studio (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Bedroom (37)
Viewed
Queen Studio #1 (44)
Viewed
Queen Studio #2 (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls, complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles & DVD library. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: $207 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay