We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kimpton Canary Hotel

31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
SAVE $93
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (654)
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (476)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kimpton Canary Hotel
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#13 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Kimpton Canary. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,296Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 889
  • 279
  • 88
  • 30
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
brianmdr9 wrote a review Oct 19
Los Angeles, California47 contributions34 helpful votes
I have stayed at virtually all the properties in Santa Barbara that are considered high end and based on the price this has been on the list. Total and complete waste of money. The hotel presents well when you walk in and the Restaurant is OK. Not great. Just ok. The only saving grace of this hotel is the staff who are all gracious and kind but thats pretty much every place in Santa Barbara. This is one of the most offensively over priced hotel I have ever stayed at. It is in desperate need of a full interior renovation. The place is dated. Rooms are small and minimalist. Bathrooms are of motel quality as are the beds and linens. I was embarrassed to put someone here. At 250 a night...maybe. I moved to the Holiday Inn Express with similar location and got bigger room. Better bed. More functional AC. Half the price. If you want to spend 5 or 600 a night have at it. Not here. Bacarat is worth that. Thats about it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
GreekGuy9999 wrote a review Oct 4
Los Angeles, California95 contributions69 helpful votes
$740/night. Now., with that said, this hotel is perfect for people who don't care what their money gets them. I mean let's face it here guys, for $740/night, should a hotel REALLY charge their guests LITERALLY $10 for a small bag of M&Ms. I mean the people who pay that (and I include myself) are not caring what their money gets them. For $740/night, you get a basic room bed and bathroom, an empty refrigerator, no slippers, no robe, absolutely nothing to make it seem like it is worth $740/night. It's extremely basic. The decor is basic, the bathroom and closet is separated by tired folding doors, there is only a small desk in the room just able to have one person eat their grab and go breakfast at, and there is no in room coffee, however, there is a coffee maker. Room 423 has some type of motor running right behind the bedroom wall which is annoying. Not sure if that was air conditioning or what. With Kimpton Canary, you are paying for A) being in the heart of the city and B) see (A). The rooftop pool/jacuzzi/sitting area was fantastic to chill at, so that is the bonus to this place, but still not worth the $740/night. The jacuzzi unfortunately was so chlorinated, it burned our eyes and we had to exit after about 15 minutes. They need to tell the pool maintenance guys that chlorine is good to kill the bacteria, but not the guests also. The front desk folks were extremely nice, housekeeping ran up towels promptly when we needed them late at night and the guy tending the grab and go breakfasts was terrific, so points given to the people working. But when I got the shock of a $10 pricetag on damn M&Ms, I was like, WHAT?? There is no WAY I would ever stay at this place again. Come on Kimpton, you actually lost a future $740, on fleecing a guest for $10 on a small bag of peanut M&Ms. That is dumb business on every level and if you cannot see that, you really do deserve whatever comes to you business wise, especially in a COVID culture where you should want return visitors. You are tripping over dollars to pick up dimes, and until your management sees that, you will be having nothing but one-offs forevermore. So in closing, stay here if you really don't care about what your money gets you outside of location, location, location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Stay at another location, but if you must stay, avoid room 423.
See more room tips
Response from Madison Kissner, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Canary Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are happy to hear that you found our location and staff accommodating , we sincerely apologize for some of the challenges you had while here on property. In compliance to our IHG Clean Promise and updated brand standards we had to remove some of the items usually placed in the rooms such as throw pillows, robes, slippers, etc. This however has been updated and we have started to place these items back into our guest rooms! I have also discussed your experience with the proper Hotel Management teams to ensure that we continually improve on our guest experience moving forward. Thank you again for your valued feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Bjbon wrote a review Sep 2020
Los Angeles, California96 contributions3 helpful votes
Love this property! This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of SB. We were apprehensive about this weekend getaway due to COVID-19. Its our first time leaving home since March and anxious to get away. We did not know what to expect... This hotel had old world charm with beautiful tiles everywhere. Hotel staff were friendly and very clean property! Our room was cozy and clean. Pool area felt like a true resort and beautiful! We felt like we were in another world...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Madison Kissner, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Canary Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and escape into another world! We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Heather B wrote a review Sep 2020
Woodland Hills, California, United States11 contributions3 helpful votes
Overall the hotel was nice for a short stay (we only booked 1 night) after staying 2 nights up in San Luis Obispo. We've now stayed at different hotels and understand each have their own policies regarding Covid; however, the services were very minimal. Coffee was available downstairs, but no coffee pot in any room. This was odd as our hotel in SLO included a nespresso machine with pods, water, and snacks. One of the elevators was down for the day, which was not a huge deal. The pool was lovely although no service at last the time we went. We made reservations for Sunday over the Labor Day week from 9am-11am as required, but once we got up to the pool around 10am there was no one checking-in. There were towels in a bin and seems like everyone just sat themselves. At that time the sun was blazing and plenty of room, so we didn't mind. Just seemed odd to have a system in-place without enforcing it? Our room included a corner balcony, which was nice and our two dogs enjoyed looking outside. The hotel is very dog friendly. Valet service very expensive $38 per night. Our hotel in SLO was $19 per night. I get it SB is different than SLO, but just outlining the price differences. My recommendation would be given the reduced amenities and service the prices should be adjusted to reflect such, but having no pet fees is nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner room with balcony
See more room tips
Response from Madison Kissner, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Canary Hotel
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you and the dogs enjoyed the room accommodation and were able to spend some time at the pool. We also want to apologize for not executing the pool reservations as best as possible. We take feedback very seriously and it has been discussed with our team to ensure we improve moving forward. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara!
Read more
stargazer65 wrote a review Sep 2020
San Francisco, California15 contributions6 helpful votes
A rooftop pool that only select people can use. If you don’t have. A reservation for the pool you are out of luck. They do not tell you this when you check in but rather give you a one page paper to read as they stuff it in your hand. Definitely not worth the price especially since it was doubled for Labor Day weekend. Only one person at the front desk to answer calls from people when hotel was 97% full. VAlet parking only and very expensive. Breakfast not available
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Madison Kissner, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Canary Hotel
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations, but quite frankly ours as well. Rest assured your feedback has been discussed with the proper Hotel Management Teams, to ensure that we improve our processes moving forward. Thank you again for providing feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to make things right in the future!
Read more
$312 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
canary santa barbara, santa barbara canary hotel
Canary Hotel Santa Barbara
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Canary Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jamie Slone Wines (0.2 miles), Santa Barbara County Courthouse (0.2 miles), and Italian Pottery Outlet (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include McConnell's Fine Ice Creams, Handlebar Coffee Roasters, and Lilac Patisserie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Kimpton Canary Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton Canary Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kimpton Canary Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.