We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Save
Share
202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Trip.com
$199
$174
View Deal
SAVE $25
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$199
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (396)
Room & Suite (101)
Pool & Beach (43)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
With magnificent views, traditional Spanish-style architecture, and a beautiful courtyard with outdoor pools and gardens, Hotel Milo Santa Barbara truly reflects Santa Barbara's rich colonial history and affords guests access to the best of Southern California's surf and sun. Situated in West Beach, guests are within a stone's throw of the ocean and all that Santa Barbara has to offer in this 122-room oceanfront hotel. The newly refreshed guestrooms reflect the relaxed elegance and understated sophistication distinct to Southern California style. A signature blue and white palette reflects the brilliance of the ocean and sky, while subtly referencing the Mediterranean. The overall vibe of the rooms is chic seaside. Guests are invited to celebrate Santa Barbara and the great outdoors with poolside ping pong and bocce ball, as well as beach cruiser bicycles for 2-hour loan. Hotel Milo Santa Barbara is a member of The Independent Collection (IC), a growing collection of cultivated lifestyle hotels in gateway cities across the US.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Beach
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,070Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 557
  • 243
  • 121
  • 83
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alyson S wrote a review Sep 11
1 contribution
While this hotel had mixed reviews (which, quite honestly, made me hesitant to book), I truly have nothing but great things to say about this place. My husband and I, along with our dog Kevin, stayed here in early September and really enjoyed our stay. Our room, as well as the surrounding public areas, were are incredibly clean and we felt very safe. We stayed in a deluxe king and found it to be really spacious which was nice since we brought our dog along. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating and gave our dog tons of attention and love each time we walked through which I'm sure he appreciated greatly :) Sure, it's a bit pricey, but given the Covid-19 precautions and safety measures they take, I'd rather pay a tad more to know I'm staying somewhere comfortable and safe. And the bed was super comfy too :) They helped make our anniversary getaway great!! And it's walking distance to soooo much good stuff. I hope to be back sooner than later — can't beach that beachside living, even if it's just for a couple of days! Thanks Hotel Milo!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
What a lovely 5-STAR review. Thank you and please come back to visit! Meanwhile, I will share this with the entire team. Warm Santa Barbara regards,
Read more
Kbdlay12 wrote a review Aug 2020
Manhattan Beach, California4 contributions
From the moment we booked until the moment we left, the staff were incredibly accommodating! Service first! Christine was particularly welcoming, solution-oriented, professional, friendly and efficient. The room was well-appointed with a beautiful view of the water! Christine welcomed us and also helped us plan our visit with insight into what to experience around town and how to book a beautiful horseback-riding adventure on hillside trails and on the beach (with Los Padres Outfitters). Every establishment should have an employee like Christine! Kezai was also helpful. The bicycles for rent are fun and convenient! This is a perfect location right across the street from the beach (including a stretch of beach that is not too crowded but does have access to kayak and SUP rentals). The way the coast curves here, there are beautiful sunrise views over the ocean and we had breath-taking sunrise walks each morning. We hopped on the bikes for rent and toured around town; funk zone is very close so wine-tasting, great dining and fabulous shopping is all right there! We also bikes up and down the pathway along the water each evening and it was delightful!! Each night we’d come back to a quiet, cozy bed. Anything we needed was quickly provided from the front desk with rapid follow-through and a smile! We’re talking about when we can return. After many visits to Santa Barbara, I have found my new favorite place!! Look forward to visiting again soon!! Hope you are able to find a reservation here and enjoy it as much as we did!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you SO much for the lovely 5-STAR review and for the shout out about our staff! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made such great Santa Barbara memories! We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
maria r wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
We had an amazing stay at The Milo Hotel! We were attended by Kezai J., who was super friendly, attentive, and even gave us a large lists of places he said were a must to visit! The staff at this hotel is very welcoming, we loved the complementary bikes, and the location is just perfect. I highly recommend this hotel to family and friends, you will not be disappointed. Great first time experience😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you SO much for the lovely 5-STAR review and for the shout out about our staff! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Sue Murray wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked Hotel Milo as a birthday treat for my husband. It was very expensive for a 'luxury' room so we expected the best and hoped to be pampered; check in time was 4:00. We arrived at 2:00 and was told our room would be ready very soon. We went to get some lunch and came back at 3:00pm expecting our room to be ready. It turned out the previous guests had left their luggage in the room and the hotel said they weren't allowed to remove it. The afternoon continued with us arguing with the staff to 'make things happen' otherwise I think we'd still be sitting there today. The service was dreadful. When we finally got into our room it was tiny with a stained carpet, plastic chair and table and plastic shower bowl; it was like a slightly better than average motel room. I guess the high prices are because it is on the road that runs along the beach but it is NOT worth the money - if our room was the best they offer, then I hate to think what the others are like.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The best room they have is dreadful - I wouldn't have paid more than $100 if I'd have known
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. M, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My team and I went above and beyond to provide you with a lovely stay, and I am regretful we did not meet your expectations. Warm Santa Barbara regards,
Read more
GlobeTrotting291504 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Don't let the pictures fool you this hotel needs a lot of work. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from the next door room. The area carpets were dirty. There is a public park between buildings where homeless people sleep. When we checked in we were given a ground floor room at the front of the hotel. I said I was concerned about the noise. The clerk said it will be fine you are right by the fountain. Well we got no sleep the first night because we were right by the firepits and people were talking very loud until 2:00 in the morning. Then at 6:00 in the morning people used the table in front of room to gather and have breakfast. After complaining to the manager several times, we were told we wouldn't be charged for the first night and we would move rooms. We did move rooms the second night. The room was fine but we could still hear the conversation in the room next to us. When we checked out we were told that we would only receive a 20% discount on our first night. We then spent a half hour with the manager Bob waiting for him to call employees on his cell phone about our first night. Terrible customer service! There are several nice hotels in Santa Barbara. Don't waste your hard earned money on this hotel,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. & Mrs. S, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My team and I went above and beyond to provide you with a lovely stay, and I am regretful we did not meet your expectations. Warm Santa Barbara regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel oceana santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Oceana
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Reagan Ranch Center (0.3 miles), Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.3 miles), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness center, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Restaurant and Bar, Finney's, and Loquita Santa Barbara.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Milo Santa Barbara located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.