We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
202 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer, Save More
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$349
Hotels.com$322
Travelocity$322
Official Hotel$349
Priceline$349
travelup.com$384
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (509)
Room & Suite (138)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Milo takes inspiration from Santa Barbara's most prolific hotelier, Milo Potter, whose magnificent Potter Hotel put this picturesque coastal destination on the map. One of the most centrally located beach hotels in Santa Barbara, Hotel Milo's lovely 2.5-acre property includes Ambassador Park, a beautiful lawn framed by iconic California palm trees that once served as the grand entrance to the Potter Hotel. Built-in the traditional Spanish-style architecture that reflects this city's rich colonial history, this classic Santa Barbara hotel steps from the beach features 122 charming guestrooms, as well as a beautiful courtyard with outdoor pools and gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay Longer, Save More
1404Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 743
  • 287
  • 152
  • 119
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
frp08uhafd wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We paid a premium for an ocean view, but no ocean view rooms were available in spite of us booking in advance. We were located on the first floor in front of a busy community atrium/fire pit area and public walkway. We had to keep our heavy curtains closed the entire stay for privacy. No apology was offered, and no discount was offered. The bed was terrible. The noise was terrible. The lighting was terrible. We may have been happier at a Motel 6.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am unable to determine your name or dates of stay from this review, but can only assume you stayed in our large ocean view king room on the ground floor nearest the main courtyard. This is a popular room with many guests, but I do sincerely apologize that did it did not meet your expectations and so sorry that we were unable to offer an alternative during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pinetree88 wrote a review Mar 2022
Raleigh20 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Let me start right off with accolades for the staff at the front desk who go above and beyond to meet their clients every need. Specifically, I want to thank Stephen Lewis, Hannia Bett and Eli Walton, who were kind enough to retrieve clothing we had left behind and mail it to us. It’s a serious benefit to know a caring staff awaits travelers here. These 3 enhanced the good vibrations we experienced at the relaxing Hotel Milo in Santa Barbara. Our rooms were immaculate and well-situated. The grounds are stunning with well-maintained gardens and gathering spaces, even fire-pits for late night conversations. Hotel Milo will make you whole, in more ways than one.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Mar 26, 2022
Thank you for the lovely review and the staff mentions. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anet wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
+1
The service was phenomenal and the location was perfect. I felt like we had the full star treatment at a boutique like setting. Walking distance to the Funk Zone with amazing bars and restaurants and an easy bike ride to the Wharf, so convenient, so many things to do, just loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go after the holiday rush, it feels like you have the place to yourself.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for that lovely review! We hope to see you again so that we can earn your 5th STAR :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spec190405 wrote a review Aug 2022
Selfkant, Germany72 contributions7 helpful votes
We've been traveling the west coast for 3 weeks and seen numerous hotels, rooms and met a lot of staff. With the Milo we were greeted by very friendly valet called Max. At the reception it was a very relaxed experience with Adrian who took care of us in a very professional and warm way. The procedure was swift and quick, we've had different experiences at ofher places. Adrian took care of it all! Room is nice, spatious, clean and has the right amount of perks. Definitely recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the lovely 5-STAR review! We hope to see you return again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
A few things to note about our recent stay. 1. The room had a pretty awful smell of bleach. 2. The shower door was missing a glass slider, so water went all over the floor during showers. I would definitely get this installed. 3. The bed sheets had a good amount of hair in them upon arrival. 4. When we asked for additional waters for our room the front desk agent offered waters to us for purchase, not acceptable for a stay of $900+ per night. 5. The only positive experience was with the valet/bell attendant upon arrival, although we were waiting for a while (not his fault), we saw him hustling back from assisting another guest. The hotel seemed to be understaffed (also unacceptable for $900+ per night). Having paid for the upgraded room it is safe to say that our stay was unsatisfactory at best. Having worked at many luxury resorts along the California coast I would say that this property definitely gives off "motel vibes”. When I informed the general manager of all of this I never heard a response so management does not seem to care about guest experiences. Stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Paul, I am sorry that your overnight stay with us did not meet you expectations and appreciate your giving us a try. We do care about our guests very much and apologize that we did not make you feel more appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pauline h wrote a review Aug 2022
Paris, France3 contributions7 helpful votes
aucun service, chambres vieilles et "maquillées" avec 3 éléments de décoration. Literie déplorable. Propreté à voir... Prix exorbitants absolument pas justifiés. Site internet bien fait, alléchant mais du coup mensonger. A éviter
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Tellement désolé que vos attentes n'aient pas été atteintes. Nous avons plusieurs autres types de chambres dans nos six bâtiments et notre propriété de 10 000 mètres carrés. Peut-être qu'une pièce ou un bâtiment différent aurait été préféré.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joshpgreen2 wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at Hotel Milo for our 2-year anniversary. The website, photos and especially the cost makes this hotel seem like a Ritz-Carlton or a Four Seasons. It is definitely not. Whoever took photos and designed the website deserves a raise. We had a premier ocean view room, but it wasn’t “premier” with incredible panoramic views like the site made it seem. There are only 2 levels of floors so it’s not like you’re very high up getting some spectacular view of the whole coast. Our room was located right on Cabrillo Street, so with tourists and cars going around all day it got pretty loud. The windows and walls are thin and did not drown any of that noise out. Also it didn’t feel like we had much privacy since anyone who was walking by could look up and into our room. The bed mattress and pillows were rock hard which made it a little uncomfortable to sleep. The bathroom looked and smelled like it had seen better days. The shower pressure was very weak, and the head was non-adjustable which made it a tough for a tall person like me. Also, they don’t offer housekeeping unless you are there for 3 nights minimum. There is no room service, so you’re out of luck if you arrive late and stuff nearby is closed. All that said, the location is very good. State Street is an easy walk and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. It was super convenient for us to walk to dinner and not have to worry about driving. The staff is very nice and friendly as well. No issues there. But overall, considering how expensive this hotel is, I have to say it was a bit of a letdown. It’s not like we had a bad time, we actually really enjoyed our trip, but next time we come to Santa Barbara I’m not going to spend $1600 for 2 nights to be here. I understand it’s the summer time so prices are higher, but I've been to SB many times and know there are better hotels that are not as expensive and probably have a lot nicer amenities. I think if the website wasn’t so misleading I wouldn’t have had many problems. But when I’m shelling out $700+ per night, I’m expecting top of the line all the way around and Hotel Milo fell short of that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, but sorry we did not fulfil your expectations. Five of our six buildings are, as you noted, along West Cabrillo Blvd, setting us as close as we can be to the beach. Sorry that was not what you were hoping for on this trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mindi wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Wir hatten ein ziemlich teures Zimmer, aber es war das Geld nicht Wert. - Das Klo hat gerinnt (unten, sei ihnen bekannt) - Ameisen waren im Badezimmer - Reinigung war nur 1 x vorgesehen ( 3 Übernachtungen) + Die Lage + Parkieren + Restaurants in der Nähe
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Es tut uns leid, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns nicht in vollen Zügen genossen haben. Wir haben sechs Gebäude mit über 10.000 Quadratmetern, die eine Vielzahl von Zimmertypen anbieten, und hoffen, dass Sie uns eine zweite Gelegenheit geben, Sie zu beherbergen.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N8454FPmichael wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Milo in Santa Barbara and I was delighted with the entire staff of the hotel. From the Valet, to Casey ate the front desk to housekeeping and the General Manager Bob Glock. I have already recommended to friends who have already booked this magical little piece of heaven on the beach. I look forward to returning!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Thank you for that lovely review! We appreciate your business and your recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria B wrote a review Aug 2022
Wurzburg, Germany20 contributions3 helpful votes
Der Empfang im Hotel war sehr unfreundlich. , Valet Parking kostet 30 $ pro Nacht, dafür darf man das Auto auch noch selbst ausladen und die Koffer zum Zimmer schleppen. Das Zimmer wurde erst auf Nachfrage um 16:00 Uhr gesäubert und wir bekamen neue Handtücher. Beim Check out wieder sehr unfreundlich, niemand fragte uns, ob es uns gefallen hat. Außerdem unverhältnismäßig lange Wartezeit. nicht zu empfehlen dieses Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Wir bedauern sehr, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht erfüllt haben und entschuldigen uns für den unbeabsichtigten Mangel an angenehmem Austausch mit unseren Mitarbeitern.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$281 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel oceana santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Oceana
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.3 miles), Reagan Ranch Center (0.3 miles), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.2 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Restaurant and Bar, Santo Mezcal, and Finney's.
Is Hotel Milo Santa Barbara located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.1 miles), Casa del Herrero (3.6 miles), and Old Mission Santa Barbara (2.3 miles).
Does Hotel Milo Santa Barbara have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.