We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
202 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer, Save More
Booking.com
$409
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Expedia.com
$409
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
FindHotel
$357
View deal
Travelocity$409
Hotels.com$409
travelup.com$444
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (504)
Room & Suite (138)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Milo takes inspiration from Santa Barbara's most prolific hotelier, Milo Potter, whose magnificent Potter Hotel put this picturesque coastal destination on the map. One of the most centrally located beach hotels in Santa Barbara, Hotel Milo's lovely 2.5-acre property includes Ambassador Park, a beautiful lawn framed by iconic California palm trees that once served as the grand entrance to the Potter Hotel. Built-in the traditional Spanish-style architecture that reflects this city's rich colonial history, this classic Santa Barbara hotel steps from the beach features 122 charming guestrooms, as well as a beautiful courtyard with outdoor pools and gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay Longer, Save More
1400Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 742
  • 286
  • 152
  • 118
  • 102
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
joshpgreen2 wrote a review Aug 15
Los Angeles, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at Hotel Milo for our 2-year anniversary. The website, photos and especially the cost makes this hotel seem like a Ritz-Carlton or a Four Seasons. It is definitely not. Whoever took photos and designed the website deserves a raise. We had a premier ocean view room, but it wasn’t “premier” with incredible panoramic views like the site made it seem. There are only 2 levels of floors so it’s not like you’re very high up getting some spectacular view of the whole coast. Our room was located right on Cabrillo Street, so with tourists and cars going around all day it got pretty loud. The windows and walls are thin and did not drown any of that noise out. Also it didn’t feel like we had much privacy since anyone who was walking by could look up and into our room. The bed mattress and pillows were rock hard which made it a little uncomfortable to sleep. The bathroom looked and smelled like it had seen better days. The shower pressure was very weak, and the head was non-adjustable which made it a tough for a tall person like me. Also, they don’t offer housekeeping unless you are there for 3 nights minimum. There is no room service, so you’re out of luck if you arrive late and stuff nearby is closed. All that said, the location is very good. State Street is an easy walk and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. It was super convenient for us to walk to dinner and not have to worry about driving. The staff is very nice and friendly as well. No issues there. But overall, considering how expensive this hotel is, I have to say it was a bit of a letdown. It’s not like we had a bad time, we actually really enjoyed our trip, but next time we come to Santa Barbara I’m not going to spend $1600 for 2 nights to be here. I understand it’s the summer time so prices are higher, but I've been to SB many times and know there are better hotels that are not as expensive and probably have a lot nicer amenities. I think if the website wasn’t so misleading I wouldn’t have had many problems. But when I’m shelling out $700+ per night, I’m expecting top of the line all the way around and Hotel Milo fell short of that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, but sorry we did not fulfil your expectations. Five of our six buildings are, as you noted, along West Cabrillo Blvd, setting us as close as we can be to the beach. Sorry that was not what you were hoping for on this trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pinetree88 wrote a review Mar 2022
Raleigh20 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Let me start right off with accolades for the staff at the front desk who go above and beyond to meet their clients every need. Specifically, I want to thank Stephen Lewis, Hannia Bett and Eli Walton, who were kind enough to retrieve clothing we had left behind and mail it to us. It’s a serious benefit to know a caring staff awaits travelers here. These 3 enhanced the good vibrations we experienced at the relaxing Hotel Milo in Santa Barbara. Our rooms were immaculate and well-situated. The grounds are stunning with well-maintained gardens and gathering spaces, even fire-pits for late night conversations. Hotel Milo will make you whole, in more ways than one.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Mar 26, 2022
Thank you for the lovely review and the staff mentions. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mindi wrote a review Aug 14
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Wir hatten ein ziemlich teures Zimmer, aber es war das Geld nicht Wert. - Das Klo hat gerinnt (unten, sei ihnen bekannt) - Ameisen waren im Badezimmer - Reinigung war nur 1 x vorgesehen ( 3 Übernachtungen) + Die Lage + Parkieren + Restaurants in der Nähe
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 4 days ago
Es tut uns leid, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns nicht in vollen Zügen genossen haben. Wir haben sechs Gebäude mit über 10.000 Quadratmetern, die eine Vielzahl von Zimmertypen anbieten, und hoffen, dass Sie uns eine zweite Gelegenheit geben, Sie zu beherbergen.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N8454FPmichael wrote a review Aug 13
1 contribution
I just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Milo in Santa Barbara and I was delighted with the entire staff of the hotel. From the Valet, to Casey ate the front desk to housekeeping and the General Manager Bob Glock. I have already recommended to friends who have already booked this magical little piece of heaven on the beach. I look forward to returning!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for that lovely review! We appreciate your business and your recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria B wrote a review Aug 12
Wurzburg, Germany20 contributions3 helpful votes
Der Empfang im Hotel war sehr unfreundlich. , Valet Parking kostet 30 $ pro Nacht, dafür darf man das Auto auch noch selbst ausladen und die Koffer zum Zimmer schleppen. Das Zimmer wurde erst auf Nachfrage um 16:00 Uhr gesäubert und wir bekamen neue Handtücher. Beim Check out wieder sehr unfreundlich, niemand fragte uns, ob es uns gefallen hat. Außerdem unverhältnismäßig lange Wartezeit. nicht zu empfehlen dieses Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 6 days ago
Wir bedauern sehr, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht erfüllt haben und entschuldigen uns für den unbeabsichtigten Mangel an angenehmem Austausch mit unseren Mitarbeitern.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zac M wrote a review Aug 11
25 contributions5 helpful votes
We picked Hotel Milo after extensive research - many seafront hotels in Santa Barbara had pros and cons and recent reviews were mixed. However, we felt the hotel fully lived up to expectations and we had a lovely three night stay. Firstly it is worth acknowledging that (particularly on weekends) the hotel is very expensive. This price reflects demand in Santa Barbara - don't expect a 5 star experience based on the price. That said, we found it lived up to our expectations based on our research. The location of Hotel Milo cannot be beaten - it is really the only fully waterfront hotel in the centre of the town. Check in was seamless. You have to valet park at $30 a night but sometimes street parking for free is possible. There are two pools in the hotel. Our room was opposite the smaller (and less busy) pool at the back which turned out to be perfect - the pool area was never too busy. The internal walk/roadways between the room blocks could have been smarter. The room itself was exactly what we had expected - stylish and modern in direct contrast to some recent reviews. The bathroom was also very well done. The only complaint would be thin ceilings - there was a family above us during our stay and we could hear whenever the kids ran around. The complimentary bikes were a plus but were very popular so you need to be flexible about when you want them. They are pretty basic (no gears etc) so don't plan anything too adventurous, but the seafront is flat so cycling around the bay was easy enough. Overall Hotel Milo was exactly what we had hoped for. As long as you accept that Santa Barbara is a very expensive place to stay and don't go expecting more than is reasonable, this is a great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Near the pool at the back is perfect if you are willing to sacrifice a sea view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for that very detailed and thoughtful review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara, and hope that you return and allow us to earn that 5th STAR :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel wrote a review Aug 9
13 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our second visit to this hotel; we love Santa Barbara and the location of this place is hard to beat. The style of Hotel Milo is very charming- the rooms are characterful and the grounds are great with plenty of nice places to sit for a drink or takeout. We are a family of four and both times we had a family room which comes with a separate room containing a bunk bed for the kids which they love. Prices are high for what is essentially a motel style of property, but this reflects the amazing location. Since we last came in 2018 we had the feeling that there is significant cost cutting taking place- they no longer offer wine tasting or breakfast as part of the price which is a real shame is that was a big benefit, but they now direct folks to the paid restaurant Chads which we assume is owned by the same people. It was packed every day so from the business perspective we can totally see why they’ve done that. Also, housekeeping was not offered to anyone staying less than 3 nights, although we asked for it twice during our six night stay and they happily obliged. We thought the rooms could have been cleaner (eg. the wooden floor was dirty upon entering the room for the first time) and they are quite tired for these prices (bathrooms need updating in particular) but overall the location, outdoor amenities and character won over leaving us very happy to have stayed there. The bike rental (included) is great too. Coming from the UK we are not big fans of valet parking and chose not to pay the $30 per day fee, choosing instead to pay $15 a day at the nearby harbour car park (5 min walk). If they had offered self park for $20 a day we’d have paid it. Overall still a lovely place to stay- perfect for the beach, pier, harbour and town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Harbour parking is cheaper, sushi at harbour is great, Dart coffee and Metropulus deli in funk...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your continued patronage. We hope to see you return so that we can earn that 5th STAR :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KHCentralCoast wrote a review Aug 9
Morro Bay, California1 contribution
Hard to complain with such a fabulous location but our first room was dirty (hair and mildew) and the shower didn’t drain so you were in standing backed up water. Disgusting! We switched room and had the same issue with the plumbing as well as only half a shower door making for a wet mess and cold shower. We didn’t bother asking for another room as it seemed clear the quality of the hotel would likely remain the same. Very disappointing from the advertising of the website. This did not meet expectations. At $800 a night this was unexceptional to say the least.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
So sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please never refrain from letting the desk know of a clogged drain as our engineering team is here to handle unexpected things like that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VeniceStylee wrote a review Aug 3
California4 contributions4 helpful votes
The website and photos are so cute — what we were offered was a dank, dark room with no natural light, and a wall outside our ground floor room. I see the Trip Advisor award, and the 4/5 stars and can only wonder what in the world is going on. When we complained we were offered another dark room in a different building - none of this is acceptable and neither resembled the photos.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in SB. I would avoid this one.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I cannot tell from this review where you stayed, but we have 121 rooms over six buildings and 2-1/2 acres meaning that there are many options and views. We hope that you will check in with us again in the future and remind us that you did not like your room so that we can show you other possibilities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan T wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is not what I expected from the beautiful photos on the website. The website AND the amount they charge per night makes it seem like you will be staying at the Ritz Carlton or the Four Seasons. I booked it because the amount cost seemed worth it from the amenities and pictures noted on their site. Not even a minute into pulling onto their property, their one out of maybe two valet workers is running around and doesn’t greet us until 10 minutes later as we are still waiting in our car to figure out what to do with it. Her first words were, “I’m sorry, I’m so frazzled. It’s so busy.” Mind you, this is a Friday night in the middle of summer. I understand it being understaffed, but for almost $1000/night, this is not what I should be paying for. (Not that it was the valet’s fault either). The front desk staff were nice. However, when we had asked for assistance for our luggage to be brought to our room, there was no extra help to be found. I think in total, there were like 4 employees for a very busy Friday evening. Fast forward to our room… Underwhelmed is an understatement! I’m making this review not even a half hour into entering the room. This hotel/room is absolutely NOT worth what they charge (again, over $1000/night) and not what it looks in the pictures. Yes, it’s made and cleaned, but I could have spent less at the very nice Hilton down the street or the Californian Hotel, or really anywhere else. This hotel is a Motel 6 or Best Western at best. The walls are incredibly paper thin, I can hear the family next door to us; the bathrooms are outdated, the sink has a crack in it, and I’ve yet to find out the rest. Another reason I booked this hotel is because they are pet friendly. I had reservations for Lotusland, which has a no pet policy, to which I would have to leave my dog behind. Initially, I was told by one of their employees over the phone that it will be okay to leave the dog unattended in the room so long as they are in their locked crate. The week before my arrival, I called again just to confirm because their website said dogs must be attended to at all times. This employee agreed with the website. So I referred back to the chat box on the Hotel Milo website asking the same question, to which the answer was the same as the first encounter: you may leave your dog unattended as long as they are kept locked in their crate and you must notify the front desk. Since I was getting mixed signals, we spoke to the front desk manager where he said dogs cannot be left unattended. Fortunately we agreed in the end that it was okay to bring the dog and leave him in the room. But going back and forth between answers was not worth the hassle. This is definitely a policy all their employees should be knowledgeable about so they are not confusing their future guests. I have stayed at other boutique hotels more luxurious than this for way less. Needless to stay, I do not recommend coming here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Sorry this was not the experience you or we anticipated for your stay. The policy regarding pets is for the courtesy of other guests. Some guests in the past have left their pets barking in their otherwise unattended rooms. We wish you the best in your future travels and apologize for any confusion or inconvenience during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$340 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel oceana santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Oceana
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.3 miles), Reagan Ranch Center (0.3 miles), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.2 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Restaurant and Bar, Finney's, and Santo Mezcal.
Is Hotel Milo Santa Barbara located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.1 miles), Casa del Herrero (3.6 miles), and Old Mission Santa Barbara (2.3 miles).
Does Hotel Milo Santa Barbara have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.