We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$729
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Hotels.com
$729
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Site
$656
View deal
Booking.com$729
Travelocity$729
Lol.travel$852
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (272)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (30)

About

#22 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
A luxury hotel in Santa Barbara's Funk Zone, Hotel Californian continues to redefine luxury in the celebrated American Riviera.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
827Reviews10Q+A71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 565
  • 94
  • 66
  • 54
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
HJC15 wrote a review Nov 2022
New York City, New York23 contributions25 helpful votes
Good location but amenities do not justify the cost. Very basic hotel with terrible service. Multiple different front desk people were inhospitable and acted like I was a nuisance for asking for a coffee recommendation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 1 week ago
Hello HJC15, We thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in the American Riviera though we are sorry to learn that your visit fell short of expectation. We pride ourselves on the many unique experiences that our guests can enjoy, from a treatment at Majorelle, our in-house spa, to time at the pool, and the culinary experiences offered at our various restaurants and bars, including Goat Tree which is perfect for morning coffee or a mid-day salad. We fear that perhaps these options were not introduced upon your arrival and if that was the case, we extend our sincerest of apologies. Your added feedback regarding the interactions had with our talent leaves us concerned and we will be incorporating your feedback into our ongoing coaching and training as we continually strive to elevate the guest experience. We thank you once more and we look forward to shining brighter upon your return. If we can ever assist in making those plans, we invite you to be in touch. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Conny Wylie wrote a review Aug 2022
Ottawa, Canada443 contributions511 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Set against the handsome Pacific Coast, nestled in the shadows of the Santa Ynez Mountains is the picturesque Santa Barbara's Hotel Californian (HC). Poised on a beachfront stretch, this property is smack-dab on the front door of the vibrant Funk Zone with its boutique wine tasting venues, art galleries and within walking distance of Stearns Wharf, a wooden pier with shops and restaurants. The exterior of the HC embraces a Spanish revival architect with white washed walls topped off in terracotta tiles creating ' Mr. Clean' looking buildings. The hotel embellishes Moorish architecture through keyhole arches, plush drapes, hanging lanterns and other enticing design elements. Fun Fact: the HC is endowed with almost a 1,000,000 tiles over the entire property. This 121 room seaside destination sports accommodations that are uniquely designed but all feature a Mediterranean-style with a Moroccan influence for a modern take on seaside Santa Barbara. I was delighted with my Granada digs outfitted with tufted headboard, leather bench and cool Moroccan themed tile with pops of colour. The room was lavishly decorated with the likes of cobra scones and oil-rubbed bronze fixtures and not to forget walls interspersed with contemporary artwork. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, no need to count sheep here. The star amenity was the balcony which afforded panoramic views of the landscape. The bathroom was furnished with a deep-soak bath tub big enough to sail the Mediterranean Sea, a luxurious shower, double sink and marble countertops. The Californian has a number of distinctive dinning and drinking haunts. The Djinn Library Bar is a great place to enjoy an artisan cocktail concoction or read a book or both. The Blackbird also offers inventive cocktails and an expansive wine list that pairs with a menu of contemporary fare. I enjoyed the handcrafted drink called 'Anyone for Tennis' that came with everything but a racket. I enjoy the West Coast oysters but the star food was the Wagyu Steak.....lip smacking fare. The Goat Tree, an airy market-style cafe that serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner in a Mediterranean menu format. I liked their smoothies. Ah the Spa.......the Majorelle is a 2500 sq. ft. luxurious Moroccan inspired spa , a wellness sanctuary with geometric hand painted tiles which provides an oasis for exotic treatments, steam room sessions and beauty therapies. I went for a Funk Zone Massage, a treatment with agents specific for sun damaged skin. I felt amazing afterwards. So, if you are looking for a lovely seaside destination, with gorgeous spa, distinctive cuisine and on the steps of Santa Barbara's Funk Zone.......then try the...................Hotel Californian......A Southern California Mecca.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from A H, Other at Hotel Californian
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Hello Room-in-my-suitcase, Thank you for sharing your detailed review and high score with our team! We love knowing you experience the sanctuary of our Majorelle spa as well as our unique Djinn Library bar with its distinctive cocktails. We are glad you sampled our fare and deep wine list at Blackbird as well, and we agree that our Wagyu steak is not to be missed. As you so eloquently described, our boutique hotel embodies a blend of Spanish-Moroccan decor with Moorish influence, and we are always glad to know when our guests appreciate this relaxing and unique environment. Our proximity to the Funk Zone always enhances the experience as well! Thank you for your recommendation to others, and we hope to welcome you back to our Calfiornia mecca soon. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lq8qa0sq6x wrote a review Nov 2022
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
See email. Extensive commentary provided in the email. Great location, beautiful property, untrained staff with respect to the AMEX Platinum packages. Valets and concierge extremely friendly. Front desk staff require training.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 1 week ago
Hello lq8qa0sq6x, We thank you for joining us in the American Riviera and we appreciate you being a valued American Express Platinum member. We are thrilled to find that our interiors fully impressed, and we trust our outdoor spaces did the same as you embraced the California lifestyle. We appreciate the added feedback provided within your review and we look forward to impressing even more the next time we see you. If we can ever assist in making those plans, we invite you to be in touch. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maddiehiatt wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
It's the perfect location for Santa Barbara. You can walk everywhere, all of the food on the property was delicious and the spa was so chic. Plus the rooftop pool is a nice little escape. It's also a 2 minute walk to the beach. Will be staying there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 1 week ago
Hello maddiehiatt, Learning that you will be joining us again is the greatest of compliments and we thank you for taking the time to shower us with your endless praises. As you quickly found, our hotel serves as the front door to the iconic Santa Barbara Funk Zone and while we are thrilled to read that the culinary experiences at our various restaurants captivated your palate, we trust you had fun exploring other local tasting rooms and restaurants as well. On behalf of all of us at the hotel, our restaurants, and Majorelle Spa, we thank you once more and we invite you to be in touch when ready to plan your return. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence B wrote a review Nov 2022
2 helpful votes
Do not have your wedding or event here. Period. The hotel made an error and double booked my wedding rehearsal dinner, canceled my wedding rehearsal dinner reservation four (4) days prior to my wedding. The hotel did not notify me. I found out they had canceled the reservation by pure chance when I called to check on something. The hotel acknowledged their mistake, and promised to take care of everything. Then the hotel spent the next 2 days trying to get me to agree to pay double what the lavish meal was originally going to cost–effectively holding my rehearsal dinner hostage to charge excessively. Moreover, the events person (Samantha) also demanded I pay thousands of dollars for my guests to walk around the hotel or use the amenities, even though I had bought hotel rooms for all of my guests (so they had every right to use the amenities); Samantha insisted on that for two days. I had to drive down to Santa Barbara personally, the day before the event, to talk to the hotel director Chris, who only agreed to waive some (but not all) of the additional charges. Even though the hotel management acknowledged the last-minute cancelation of my rehearsal dinner was entirely their fault, they still insisted on charging me much more. And then when my guests were here, the events staff harassed my guests and tried to keep them from sitting by the pool—even though the hotel director had given me his word that would not happen. You learn a lot about someone based on their actions when things go wrong. An honorable person will do the right thing. I learned that Hotel Californian–despite its beautiful decor and glittering promises–lacks substance, customer service, or honor to their word. The hotel management made sloppy errors, made my life a living nightmare, and then failed to correct their error or make any serious attempt to take ownership of their mistakes. Instead, they sought to add further stress by hiking up excess charges when I was in a vulnerable position, as there were no other venues available on such short notice; and they harassed us at our event even after we agreed to the increased fees just to salvage their mistakes. Do not make the same mistake I made by trusting such an important time of my life to people who cannot be trusted to have your back when they make a mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Lawrence B, We congratulate you and yours once again and we trust your special day resulted in endless memories with friends and family which will long be treasured. We thank you once more for allowing us to play a part in your celebratory weekend and we apologize once again for the challenges had in hosting your rehearsal dinner. As your comments note, we did approach you to relocate your rehearsal dinner to another location as we later recognized that there was a double booking in the restaurant space. Unfortunately, when your original reservation was made a month prior, no details were shared letting us know this was related to a wedding. It was only when we approached you about offering other upgraded spaces that we learned the nature of the event and we apologize once more as we understand this is not the stress needed. It is true that planning a catered event can incur additional costs beyond just making a dinner reservation at the restaurant though with this in mind, several concessions were offered in recognition of the double booking. These included waiving venue fees, bartender and corkage fees, food and beverage minimums, upgrade menu fees, and more. We are disheartened to learn that those efforts fell short in resolving your disappointment and we apologize once more. We apologize once more and we once more trust that your special day was magically enjoyed. We wish you both a lifetime of health, happiness, and love and we hope the years ahead will provide you the chance to join us again. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katelyn K wrote a review Nov 2022
Denver, Colorado4 contributions2 helpful votes
Make sure you check your reservation carefully. Do not depend on any service from hotel that you do not have to pay for. Even coffee you make in the room was $4 a cup. No kidding. It was a mini bar charge. There is no car service. Cabs are super expensive. Its a nice hotel, but not worth the price of admission.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Katelyn, It was a pleasure to serve as your host in the enchanting American Riviera and we thank you for sharing your review. As your comments note, there are optional extras available at the hotel that are offered for purchase, though our in-room coffee is provided on a complimentary basis. We regret if a billing issue was made, and I would like nothing more than to research that and provide any necessary corrections. With that goal in mind, my contact details are provided below which I hope you will use in forwarding your own details, a reference to your reservation and a convenient time that I may be in touch to offer my personal apologies and assist in having this resolved. I look forward to hearing from you. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy C wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
If you are looking for the ultimate Santa Barbara experience, book at The Californian. It's perfectly situated in the heart of The Funk Zone, walking distance to many great wine and dining spots. The accommodations are luxury yet not stuffy, comfortable, and very California chic. The service is above and beyond, and you will feel well taken care of. If you are looking for a special treat, this is the destination!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Your endorsement means the world to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to pen your spectacular review. Our talent in always inspired to read the feedback provided by our guests and we can assure you endless smiles were the result of your comments regarding the genuine hospitality that embodies our hotel. We are just as pleased to read that our central address, serving as the front door to the Santa Barbara Funk Zone served you so well and we hope your visit allowed you the chance to explore some of our property amenities including our rooftop pool, Majorelle, our in-house spa, or perhaps our bicycles for a morning ride along the coast. We thank you once more and we look forward to you visiting again in the months and years ahead. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
61e051gtea wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Santa Barbara is a place unlike any other. It is laid back and most of all peaceful. The Hotel Californian is in the top hotels we have stayed. The decor has me wanting to redo my house, I loved every aspect of this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello 61e051gtea, Greetings from your many friends at Hotel Californian and the greater Funk Zone. It was a joy to serve as your serene abode and we thank you for sharing your splendid review. We are thrilled to read that you and yours felt so pampered while settled in with us and we are elated to learn that our Martyn Lawrence Bullard designed interiors provided some inspiration for future projects at home. We thank you once more for the wonderful feedback and we trust ours is a hotel you will have the chance to visit time and again for many years to come. If we can ever assist in planning your return, we invite you to be in touch. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick F wrote a review Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California4 contributions
Great trip and good time. However, as someone who’s been coming to Hotel Californian since it opened, it’s definitely lost step. Particularly noticeable post pandemic. Still overall a great experience and it’s location in the Funk Zone is ideal. However, not the 5 star experience it once was, in my opinion. Which is disappointing, considering the inflationary significant increase in rates.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello Rick F, It was a delight to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your review. As your comments note, our hotel serves as the front door to the iconic Santa Barbara Funk Zone and we trust you had great fun exploring the endless galleries, tasting rooms and boutiques that line the neighborhood streets and avenues. We appreciate your added feedback and apologize if your most recent visit fell short of the exceptional moments you have come to expect of us. We hope you take comfort that our bar for providing exceptional service remains the same and we apologize for any moments of inconsistency. On behalf of all of us, the pleasure was ours and we look forward to restoring your confidence with a luxurious experience the next time we see you. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DSDLLD wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
We love the Hotel Californian and glad we chose to stay here on our first trip to Santa Barbara. The hotel is beautiful and kept so clean. We will be back and recommend to family and friends. ❤️ 😍 💖 😍❤️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Californian
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello dsdlld, Your review leaves us blushing just a bit and we certainly appreciate your recommendations as well as your kind words. It is a treat to know that you so enjoyed your experience and we most appreciate your thoughtful feedback regarding the warm welcome provided by our Hotel Californian talent, as well as the attention to detail of those cleaning your room. We trust the American Riviera is a place you will now visit often, and we invite you to be in touch if we can assist in planning our next beachside retreat. All the best, Adam Turnbeaugh Director of Guest Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$736 - $1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CALIFORNIAN - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Santa Barbara, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Californian
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Californian?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.2 miles), Reagan Ranch Center (0.2 miles), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Californian?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Californian?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Californian?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Californian?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Californian?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mony's Mexican Food, Finney's, and Santo Mezcal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Californian?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Californian have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Californian offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Californian have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Californian offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Californian located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Santa Barbara.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Californian?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.