We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3643 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2521
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$159
Hotels.com$159
Travelocity$159
Priceline$134
eDreams$134
Agoda.com$134
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (71)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (203)

About

#52 of 55 in Santa Barbara
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
2.9
Service
3.1
Value
2.7
Complete renovation on March 2014
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
144Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 29
  • 39
  • 23
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michell T wrote a review May 2022
Sitges, Spain3 contributions2 helpful votes
So disappointed! Never told me they were remodeling. All the trash from the other rooms was RIGHT outside my door. GROSS! No coffee maker. One mini bar of soap. And whats with the 'packet' of shampoo. Couldn't even supply a bath mat. Or an extra blanket for the bed. Traveling as a solo female, I did not feel comfortable staying at this hotel. Paid way to much a night for so little. They're attempt at putting a band-aid on this property is going to make the place any better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope to welcome you bak in the future for a better experience.
Read more
Alison G wrote a review Apr 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
The management has clearly acted on the previous horrendous reviews as the motel is currently being completely-albeit gradually-renovated. Our room had a contemporary,newly installed bathroom;unfortunately the shower was very cold.This & the weak Wi-Fi signal were the only negative aspects of our stay.The bedroom was also newly decorated in a tasteful & attractive style. We asked for a microwave and one was provided immediately;likewise a blanket was provided on request. The flowers in the garden are gorgeous. Once all the rooms and balconies have been renovated & all evidence of building work removed I believe this motel will be excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ensure you are given one of the newly decorated rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded May 1, 2022
Thank you for choosing your stay with us and recognizing our efforts to continue to improve our facility. We hope to welcome you back agin soon.
Read more
Summer D wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions
Avoid this motel at all costs. The floor was filthy. The closet door was missing, there was an ironing board with no cover and no iron. The toilet seat was worn down to the wood. The sheets smelled like cigarettes and the mattress had mysterious brown stains. The baseboards were falling off the walls and the walls had strange dirty stains. The wall sockets looked like they had caught on fire. There were piles of stored materials on the property covered for rain or weather- this place is an utter disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not provide you with a satisfactory stay. I have noted your comments and will send them to the General Manager for their review and if necessary we will be taking appropriate action to prevent these issues for our future guests.
Read more
Bi wrote a review Feb 2022
United Kingdom61 contributions11 helpful votes
This place has only one good pro, the position, close to the bus station and close to the amazing trail for hiking. My plan was to spend at least 3/4 days in Santa Barbara but I had booked only 2 nights in this place just in case was horrible as a previous one and I made a good decision, dirty and dirty, noisy and in spite was no smoking I found cigarettes everywhere and people up and down from the stair loudly every time of the night. I was not bothered by the homeless because their life is already hard enough and did not bring any bother.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: check the room before pay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Feb 25, 2022
Thank you for being our guest. We are extremely concerned to read your comments and apologize for the issues you had. Appropriate action has been taken to ensure this is not repeated. We hope the rest of your stay was a positive one and we invite you to visit us again soon.
Read more
UCONNparent wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions8 helpful votes
First the mini fridge was not cleaned and had crumbs in it. At night I ran the a/c which was right by the bed and in the morning there was black lint all over my bed. The first night the party upstairs was loud and I called the front desk who asked them to quiet down. The next night I was woken up by loud music and what sounded like dancing from the upstairs room again. It was midnight and it took the manager screaming at them for about 15 minutes to get them to leave and drive away in their cars. I told the front desk in the morning I was leaving what happened and asked for the manager. She said it was her but there was nothing she could do. I asked for the owners name which she said was Ted and I left two messages and he never called me back. Gabby said I could have a $20 credit but I still have not received this. I lived in Santa Barbara for 22 years and go back often. This was the worst stay I have ever had and it was definitely not worth what I was charged.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Mar 27, 2020
We take all complaints seriously. If you feel your room was not up to your standards then please let us know next time and we will do our best to either change rooms if possible or correct the issues. We are glad we could get the people out of the room so you could get to sleep. These issues can be challenging and does occur every once in a while in the hotel industry. I will check into the $20 credit and see what transpired. Thank You Management
Read more
Tyria wrote a review Mar 2020
Staunton, Virginia99 contributions76 helpful votes
There is damage to the walls and floor. The shower barely got hot and the shower head is at about 5'6" off the floor. The walls are paper thin and I could hear everything the neighbors were doing. The door has a deadbolt, but looks like it could be kicked in with little trouble. At least the bed appeared clean and was warm.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Sorry to hear about your stay. We do our best to have a clean comfortable room with reasonable rates. We offer commercial hotel protection with locks. If a noise issue, then let us know and we will do what we can to remedy the issue.
Read more
Deb303 wrote a review Oct 2019
Ipswich, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
Only book this hotel if you like spiders, ants,cob webs, and lots of dust in your room! When we arrived in the there was over powering smell of cleaning products, slept in my clothes here as really didn’t feel comfortable. Told receptionist- she just said she would pass message on - no apology
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2019
Deb303, we're pleased to accommodate you at our hotel and we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We apologize for the cleanliness issue you had during your stay with us. And we will do our best to correct the issues. Your business is valued, and we hope to welcome you back for a much better experience.
Read more
Hayley H wrote a review Oct 2019
Stonham Aspall, null, United Kingdom29 contributions16 helpful votes
Eight of us were staying here for one night. We checked in, not to the friendliest of welcomes. One couple were given a room that had not been cleaned from previous guests, were given another room with no apology. One couple had ants and spiders in the room , no apology or change of room. One couple room had over powering smell of cleaning products & one couples room was oldish. We booked for the location but was very disappointed and we feel it spoilt our experience of gorgeous Santa Barbara. Before leaving we told receptionist of our issues and she just said I'll tell someone !!!! No apology given.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't book any......
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2019
We're saddened to read about the service issues that you have experienced. We strive to consistently deliver exceptional service, so we apologize that you had a disappointing experience with us. We have shared your feedback with the staff members and steps have already been taken to prevent these mistakes from being repeated in the future. We truly hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are committed to providing outstanding guest service and accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Read more
Destinationunknown75 wrote a review Oct 2019
Imperial, California1 contribution
First we were given room 114 which as soon as we walked in I noticed a strong cleaning solution odor. I was relieved to see no carpet in room. But kinda grossed out by the bedding and furniture cover on the chair. The bedsheets has holes on them. And the furniture cover cover chair was so grimy, I can’t imagine what they were covering under there. Then I went into bathroom and when I lifted the toilet seat, it had a bunch of cleaning stuff sitting in toilet, which is when I wondered if it was where the strong smell was coming from, but that was not the worst. The worst was the toilet seat that looked like it had seen 50000 asses. It reminded me of a sketchy gas station bathroom. The white paint had been worn off and it just looked like the most tired worn out toilet seat. I didn’t even want to sit on it. I seriously couldn’t believe management would not go spend $20 on a new toilet seat. Really off-putting. And to be honest, it was slightly insulting for the $225 I paid for the room, to have to go in and use a toilet seat that was in that condition. After using the bathroom I went to turn on air and of course it didn’t work. The front office clerk came to my room and got it working after a few minutes but the air was warm only. She offered me another room and I took her up on it. Oh my! Moved to 117 what a difference!! The furniture was updated, the toilet seat didn’t look like it was from a gas station, and the air worked. That evening I saw the poor guy who walked into room 114 with his luggage and thought eh, it’s a guy, they don’t care as much. Then I felt bad cause his spouse and child walked in behind them. Later on that evening they had the door propped wide open which I imagine was due to ac not working and/or the overwhelming chemical smell from room. 114 def needs a remodel! I read in a review that it was kinda like a sham bam thank you mam type of room rental. That was the only thing I read regarding that kind of behavior. But let me tell you, I felt like I was in a room rented by the hour and it was freaking gross. Only bad thing about the room we got to, room 117 was there was no hot water in sink and in the morning it took about 20 min to get the water hot in shower. I eventually got some hot water to run but it shouldn’t be a luxury to have hot water, especially in a room at over 200 a night. Probably would not stay here again unless I absolutely had no where else to stay!!!! I wish I would’ve taken pics but I just wanted to get out of this room!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Oct 9, 2019
Thank you for being our guest. It is disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing and altering our guidelines to provide a more wonderful experience for every guest entering our doors. Thank you again for your feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for future guests. We hope we have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us.
Read more
Alex P wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
After having my booking cancelled on their end on account of not being able to provide a room, they've charged me a cancellation fee. Feel free to trust this company of you have spare money burning a hole in your pocket. I'm other words, my recommendation is to avoid them and stay somewhere better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Alex, thank your for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you were unhappy and we'd like to have the opportunity to invite you back in the future for a much better outcome. Thank you for your business.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hacienda hotel santa barbara, hacienda motel santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hacienda Motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rose Garden Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Rose Garden Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chaucer's Bookstore (0.4 miles), Kidaru Indoor Playground (0.4 miles), and Cardigans Knit Shop (0.7 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Rose Garden Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Rose Garden Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rose Garden Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lure Fish House, Via Maestra 42, and Jeannine's Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Rose Garden Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rose Garden Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (2.6 miles), Old Mission Santa Barbara (1.6 miles), and Casa de la Guerra (2.8 miles).