We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (16)

About

#8 of 8 hotels in San Rafael
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael their hotel of choice when visiting San Rafael. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Marin Bocce Federation (1.3 mi) and San Rafael Pacifics Baseball - Albert Park (1.3 mi), guests of Travelodge San Rafael can easily experience some of San Rafael's most well known attractions. Rooms at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, free parking is available. While visiting San Rafael, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Il Davide Restaurant, Yu Shang, or Depot Garden Restaurant. Best of all, San Rafael Travel Lodge makes it easy to experience many great San Rafael attractions like Museum of International Propaganda and Marin History Museum, which are some popular history museums. At Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to San Rafael.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Stay 2+ Nights, Save 20%
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
Contact
865 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4759
Getting there
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport23 mi
See all flights
SFO Intl Airport25 mi
See all flights
See all nearby hotels
295Reviews
0Q+A
12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 52
  • 87
  • 65
  • 72
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My boyfriend and I got stuck in SF due to a cancelled flight. We wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel for our 10 hour layover, we had been traveling for 24 hours and just wanted to sleep in a bed. Almost all hotels in SF were either full or way to pricey for us. We found a Travelodge in San Rafael, booked on the phone with Wyndham hotel company. I made it a point to confirm that despite the 2:30 AM check in time, we would in fact be able to check in. I was told yes, that the property had 24 hour check in (hence the walk-up window). I rang door bell, called multiple times and after about 4-5 minutes a visibly annoyed woman comes out to help. I told her I had a reservation, I go to my email and there is no email confirmation for my reservation which I was told would be sent to me shortly. I asked the woman if she could look my reservation up by my last name, She scanned what I assume was her computer and told me there were no reservations. She said they only had 2 or 3 room available but would not check me in to one of them because they had guests coming in later on that day. I told her I did have a reservation she told me I did not and that I needed to leave. I went back to the car and called back to Wyndham reservation number. I explained the situation, the operator then tries to call the hotel, I’m on hold for at least 5 minutes. I am told she could not get through either and that should not be because they have 24 hour check in. All I can do is put in an email complaint and wait for the company to respond. The next closest hotel with rooms available is an hour away. I’m not offered any solutions, and am just told I have to wait until matter is further investigated. We sleep in the car. I follow up 2 days later. I am met with some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I felt like I was being treated as a person scamming the system trying to get a free hotel room for the night. There was no empathy or concern for the horrid service. I am on the phone with “customer care” for at least an hour and am told I will have to contact the hotel directly and also send in my bank statement showing i have been charged. The customer care employee informs me she will contact the hotel, she is told that their system is down, they cannot access computer and have to wait for manager to come in to receive any kind of help. Apparently their system needed to be rebooted. Wouldn’t you think any person working the front desk would know how to troubleshoot this problem, restarting their computer I get off the phone with customer service after being talked over and patronized, as if I was not understanding her explanation for why I was basically receiving no resolution. I decide to call the property myself. The first call I make i am received by the woman, who I can tell is the one that turned me away. I ask for a receipt for my stay. She cannot understand my request and i repeat myself at least 4-5 times. She pulls up my reservation, and tells me she will email me the receipt. An hour later I get a call from the ”manager” he tells me he does not see my reservation. I am asked for my last name, confirmation #, which hotel room I stayed in. He tells me he cannot look it up and or find my reservation. I am told I need to speak with the General Manager, that he is just the manager and cannot help. He cannot tell me who was working at the time I was refused service. He confirms with me that their computer system has been working fine, then backtracks and says something different. I get off the phone call Wyndham for the 4th time today, i explain what is going on. She makes a 3 way call between me, the hotel, and herself. The manager, pretends he cannot hear is. That the phone connection is bad (i had just been on the phone with him for a good 20’min - connection was clear). She tells him they need to give me my receipt and he says he cannot hear and hangs up the phone. She is shocked by their appalling behavior and calls corporate immediately. To which i am met with the same crappy service. Long story short, Wyndham Hotel Company does not care about their customers and provides the worst customer service I have ever received. And the TRAVELODGE SAN RAFAEL are scammers, not transparent, not honest, and incredibly rude. I do not say this lightly. I work in customer service and have over 15 years experience. I have never worked for a company or business that would allow such blatant disregard for customer satisfaction. I will never recommend this hotel or any Wyndham property nor will I patronize them. I am going to make sure people know how terrible this company is and they allow their franchises to be run in a corrupt fashion. Long story short, I made a hotel reservation, was refused service, was refused a refund, and am being told my reservation never existed. This is the WORST customer service i have ever come across. Stay away from this hotel and the hotel company.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear of your experience, and to know that you were unable to stay with us on your recent unexpected layover at SFO. Please rest assured that we are taking your feedback very seriously, and we are looking into what happened on the night of your reservation. It is unusual for us to receive such a last minute reservation, but we should be able to handle manage this appropriately. We trust that your money has been refunded at this point, and we will ensure that no other guest has such a negative reservation and arrival experience. Many thanks for your detailed review. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Needed to stop for night and hotel in great location before highway cutoff. Not about pay $200 or$300 a jiggg as neighboring hotels if area, thus oneveas affirdable. Bed was super comfy. Room had everything really need when traveling kids it helps: refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dirty clothes bag, ice, etc. plus clean hard floor (not those disgusting carpets you know look and feel dirty from every occupant before you) and breakfast was adequate (for the price) and fine enough to get going on the next day's drive: oj, oatmeal, bananas, apples, coffee, bagels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Lisa, and thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. It certainly sounds as if our hotel was ideal for your needs in San Rafael, and we are delighted that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
It was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean, attractive, and very comfortable. The TV had a great selection of channels. I would definitely choose to stay at a Travelodge by Wyndham on future trips.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your review - we are happy that you report having a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
From next door people arguing and fighting, to having our bathroom window busted and having blood stained sheets it was absolutely horrible!!!! Do yourself a favor and book somhere else. This place is not worth the hassle!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael
Responded 4 weeks ago
Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in accommodating you appropriately, and we are sorry that you were so disappointed with your time with us. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns, and I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to prevent similar problems in the future. We appreciate your comments, which will help us to improve our hotel and our service for all of our guests. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Me and my sister had reservations and we showed up at 8pm to check in and the doors were locked and we had to use the walk up window to check in which was unusual to be closed so early, the first room we got checked into wasn’t even cleaned, the bed wasn’t made and there was garbage in the garbage can so we went to the office and got a 2nd room, the room had stains on the bed and there was a dirty sock on the floor and the dead bolt on the door did not work and I called the office and an older lady said her son would be there in 30 min to fix the lock, after an hour I called the office and told her I was checking out because I didn’t feel safe sleeping in a room in a ghetto part of town and the door not locking, and I ask if I can get a refund and she said no, so we packed up and went to the office and I talked to an older male and he was every nice and said yes we can get a full refund, so we left.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael
Responded May 26, 2019
Whilst we were pleased to welcome you to our hotel, we are very sorry that we failed to provide you with the great stay and wonderful service that our guests have come to expect from us. This was obviously not our intention, and we apologize for not satisfying you in every way. We hope that we might have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience on a future visit to our property. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge san rafael hotel san rafael, travel lodge san rafael, san rafael travelodge, san rafael travel lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Rafael
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing