We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Inn & Suites

Save
Share
1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$62
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/20
Booking.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com$62
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (54)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (244)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Sands Inn & Suites
Updated 04/20/20

About

#16 of 32 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in San Luis Obispo? Then look no further than Sands Inn & Suites, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of San Luis Obispo to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and Sands Inn & Suites makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a 24 hour front desk, a sun terrace, and baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to some of San Luis Obispo's most popular landmarks, such as Dallidet Adobe and Gardens (0.7 mi) and Ah Louis Store (0.9 mi), Sands Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Travelers looking to enjoy some shawarma can head to Petra Mediterranean Pizza and Grill, Jaffa Cafe, or Oasis Restaurant & Catering. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as Madonna Inn Copper Cafe, Del Monte Cafe, or Big Sky Cafe.

Should time allow, Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa, California Polytechnic University, and Mission Plaza are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Sands Inn & Suites as you experience everything San Luis Obispo has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
355Reviews4Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 105
  • 129
  • 73
  • 26
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
S J wrote a review Sep 6
1 contribution
Great place to stay! Wonderful staff pool was clean rooms were clean and comfortable. Swimming area was cleaned up well and not crowded. Right off the freeway and great food around the area overall wonderful stay. Will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Sands Inn & Suites
Responded 3 days ago
Hi 542sj, It is really nice to know that you liked the stay and services at our hotel during your recent visit. Glad to see your positive overall observations which shall definitely motivate us to serve our guests still better. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Charlotte M wrote a review Aug 2020
Fresno, California1 contribution
Horrible place to stay. Upon arrival and check in, Lynn at front desk appeared irritated. When going to rooms, noticed carpets outside of rooms was filthy. Also, at corner of hall, huge hole under carpet. Entering rooms received the smell of urine. Bathrooms were not very clean. Dead bugs squished on ceiling. Stained Towels. Shoes belonging to, possibly previous customer, found under bed. Went to front desk to request different rooms. Was advised by Lynn that she could move us but needed to have the rooms cleaned. After approximately 30 minutes, went back and was advised that we would not be able to move to a different room. At that point, requested refund. Lynn stated that refund would be made if we left immediately, yet would not show in account until Tuesday, when Sarah, the manager, returned. Still disputing monies - 2 weeks later
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a different place to stay.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Loughry, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 6, 2020
I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience. We do strive to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable, relaxing place to stay. We apologize if this was not the case with your experience. We wish you the best! Safe travels!
Read more
Stephanie P wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
When we checked in neither one of the people behind the counter wore a mask or put one on. That would have been fine if we could have gone to our room and stayed there. We got to our room and what looked like blood was all over the bathroom counter, the bathroom door and the front door. (See attached pictures). It was absolutely horrifying. They were apparently sold out (also against COVID regulations, I'm pretty sure). So we decided to go somewhere else. We were literally in the motel for maybe an hour and they still wont refund our money. I wasn't expecting much for something cheap but at least a refund for this type of thing seems reasonable. I would simply avoid it, there are plenty of other cheap hotels in the area. We ended up staying right across the street where everyone wore a mask and our room was clean. I attached a picture of the door to our room and the bathroom. We had already cloroxed everything the bathroom counter because we didn't realize what it was or could be. Anyway, I typically think people that write reviews with this title are a bit nutty because I'm pretty easy going on the cleanliness front but this was nasty.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Sands Inn & Suites
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the situations you encountered during your stay. Please know, your description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the high standards we aim to achieve. I assure you that we have the highest standards of cleanliness and that your comments are very important to us and addressed immediately with our housekeeping staff. We hope you allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the area.
Read more
Adg_3111 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
My family felt safe and comfortable as we stayed one night at the Sands Inn and Suites. The staff was courteous. The room was clean, thermostat worked appropriately and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in. I have traveled extensively and have stayed at very expensive hotels but the beds were so uncomfortable. I was so happy to wake up refreshed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Sands Inn & Suites
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Adg_3111, We are indeed grateful that you find our place excellent and comfortable. It means so much to us to hear your positive comments regarding our staff hospitality. It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort, and convenience have been successful.  Thank you and we hope that you choose our hotel again!
Read more
StevnsFam wrote a review Jun 2020
11 contributions
This place was awesome! The staff was amazing! The rooms are cute. The pool was relaxing. Only 10 mins away from Avila Beach! Restaurant 1865 across the street was sooo good! I will definitely be back! The Lady n Guy in office stayed busy helping everyone! All our needs met by them! Perfect location! Everything walking distance...freeway right there! Perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Sands Inn & Suites
Responded 3 days ago
Hi StevnsFam, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location was to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sands inn and suites, sands hotel san luis obispo, sands san luis obispo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sands Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Sands Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include California Polytechnic University (0.4 miles), Performing Arts Center San Luis Obispo (0.7 miles), and Puzzle Effect (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sands Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sands Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sands Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sands Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sands Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Splash Cafe, Petra Mediterranean Pizza and Grill, and Apple Farm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sands Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Sands Inn & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Luis Obispo.
Are pets allowed at Sands Inn & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sands Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sands Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.