We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Madonna Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Madonna Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Madonna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,312: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

this is a fun place to stay just for the hilarity of the rooms. i went with three friends and stayed in the italy room - kitsch lamps, pink bed spreads and gold venetian bathroom. it is a masterpiece of a hotel,andmore of a spectacle than a really good hotel. for example,the hotel is on a freeway so a walk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MLRjourneys
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Madonna Inn. We had a pretty boring room 'the Italy room.' But it was still different & the kids thought the details on the room were really funny. We could park right outside our room which was a bonus, with all the luggage we had. Our Internet worked great in the room. Yes, our walls were 'thin'... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SupSoCal
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review

We are so delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your stay together at the Madonna Inn. We value these experiences here and appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the room, facilities, and the local area! More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms are def fun and there are tons of photo ops, but the sleeping in the rooms is another story. The carpet was dingy and kind of dirty. The TV was small and too far away from the bed. The rock showers were very strange to actually shower in as water went all over the place and the water... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank la310la
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review! I'm sorry to hear your didn't enjoy the night stay here and that the room was not set up to your liking. We do not hide our resort fee here and notify our booking guests both verbally and on our registration form. Also, our resort fee now includes wireless internet... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What can I add? Like many reviewers have said, the themed rooms are interesting. We decided to try it as it's not an everyday experience and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Edelweiss room, which comes with the rock shower and a balcony. The room is spacious and the balcony have a good view of the hills. There's... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulofSydney
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Madonna Inn is a tacky, old hotel. It looks like a hotel right out of the 1970"s. It is obvious that they don't spend any money on updating their facilities. When we first entered our room we all smelled a terrible odor in the suite. It smelled old and musty. When my daughter went to turn down the covers on... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Floridamomof211
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here and would not recommend it to others. We feel that we have been working regularly to keep the hotel current; we have recently installed new tennis and basketball courts as well as our new secret garden and our groundskeepers work tirelessly to maintain all the plants, flowers,... More 

Simi Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Do not book on line. You will not get anything you ask for. Call for reservations and make sure they give you what you want. The grounds are not well kept. The restaurants are way over priced for what you get. Overall it was a very disappointing experience after years of hearing what a wonderful place it is.

Helpful?
4 Thank Judy-Mark K
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You've heard of it. You've seen the themed rooms. You've thought "what the heck is a rock shower?" You've seen the giant. Pink. Cakes. Is it quiet and secluded? No. Is it potentially more Republican than you might be ready for if you're from a coast? Yes. Is it enjoyable, warm, welcoming, a delightful respite, quirky, and fun? Yes. Yes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phreddiva
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding. Our room was the Swiss Rock Room which had rock walls, floor & shower. Ladies, the floor was a bit difficult to walk on in heels! The décor of the room is a bit over the top, but everything is very clean and in good working order. The bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Labbymom
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay here. We appreciate the information regarding the air conditioner so we could correct this. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! More 

CA Central Coast
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in "Old Mexico" with our two kids -- in part to take a much needed little family (stay)vacation, and in part to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This property is so unique and it was on our bucket list to stay here even though we live in the area. While the hotel is older, we found our... More 

Helpful?
Thank CentralCoastTravelr
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write out this valuable review of your "staycation" here. All departments you mentioned have been notified of your comments and we greatly appreciate them. We look forward to seeing your family again in the future! More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's a great first experience themed hotel if you are willing to shell out the money. The rooms are spacious and cool, if you are into themed rooms. Great pool and amenities. The restaurant has great food for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1288)
Viewed
Dining (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (254)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (393)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Madonna Inn Copper Cafe
Madonna Inn Copper Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House
Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $243 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Madonna Inn staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Madonna Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Hearts and Flowers was fun.”
 of 5 bubbles sandram972016, 2 days ago | Read review
“Yosemite suite was fun and warm.”
 of 5 bubbles vincentmD7403ZP, 3 days ago | Read review
“Check out the photos before choosing a room.”
 of 5 bubbles Melans, 1 week ago | Read review
“Look at them online first”
 of 5 bubbles JCT2112, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“130-218 are in the main building. They are all a bit of a walk to the dining rooms and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles HistoryGirl1649, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay