We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Fresno, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a last minute trip for us and I'm glad we stayed here. Daniel checked us in and we went to our assigned room upstairs. After opening the door, I called Daniel to see if he could move us to a first floor room for my sister in law who is not very mobile. Not only did Daniel immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank stonesnbones
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear stonesnbones, Your review just made my day! Thank you for taking the time to share it. I passed along your compliments to Daniel, and he was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always do our best to accommodate special requests, and I am happy to hear that your whole family found the hotel comfortable and pleasant.... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More than two weeks before our stay, I reserved an ADA Queen/Queen room plus a King room, directly from the hotel's website. Imagine my chagrin when, upon presenting ourselves at the front desk, we were told that they had no ADA room for us. No explanation, no real apology, no recognition that people who need ADA rooms need ADA rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yobabs
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yobabs, I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in one of our ADA rooms. We always want to accommodate anyone who requests one of those rooms and clearly one of our reservations systems made an error. If you would be so kind as to send us a note to rgislo1@gmail.com, we would like to make... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is OK for a stop over on a road trip if you are just looking for a spot to sleep. However, it's a drive from downtown SLO, not easily accessible. But it is just off the highway, so depends on why you want to stay in the area. Honestly, the hotel itself is a little on the skeevy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly F
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Holly F, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It is our top priority to provide guests with comfortable accommodations, and to hear that you were not comfortable is unacceptable. I have discussed the concerns you raised with our maintenance staff, and we will work to improve the areas that you mentioned. We value... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our check in was quick and easy. Front desk and manager was very helpful with recommendations of places to eat and visit in the areas. We stayed in room 131 with a great view of the pool and jacuzzi. Room was super clean and comfortable. This will be our new spot to stay from now on.

Helpful?
Thank Tiana M
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tiana M, Thank you so much for this kind review! The pool and jacuzzi are some of the most popular aspects of the hotel- what a perfect place to relax and enjoy vacation! The housekeeping staff was excited to hear your compliments about the room, as they always love to hear from guests who had a comfortable stay. Once... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Manager was very rude with just a nasty attitude no customer service skills at all never booking there again. The rooms are clean but the staff needs to be trained on how to treat paying customers. Just by asking a simple question the manager told me there is no point on explaining it to you . I have worked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica H
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erica H, I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing this feedback, as we strive to make every stay a pleasant one, and are always looking to improve. I am very sorry that you had this experience, and if you would like to further discuss your concerns please fell free... More 

Hacienda Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Don't be fooled by the nice looking pool like we were. It doesn't make up for all the other AWFUL things. The rooms are filthy, ugly, dingy, old, and gross. The place smells like cigarettes, and marijuana. The beds and carpets have fleas. The manager is extremely rude, lazy and unkind. Terrible customer service!!! Our jewelry is missing. They are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ztoadeanne
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear ztoadeanne, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We try our best to ensure that guests have a pleasant time at the hotel, so it is always disappointing to hear that we fell short of those expectations. I have taken note of your complaints, and will work to ensure that they do not... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

My family and I review of the room were very clean, friendly staff, they were all able to accommodate everything and what we needed in the room and get it pretty fast. My kids enjoy the pool specially the water fall part of it. we will definitely come back again I'm sure we'll have a good time I get.

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We pride ourselves an offering quality accommodations for the entire family, so I am very happy to hear that your family had a pleasant time. The staff was thrilled to hear your kind remarks and that we were able to ensure you had a enjoyable stay. It... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

They had Great service and very friendly staff.... My family and I Will definitely visit again soon... We would highly recommend it to family and friends ...pool was very relaxing and the jacuzzi. Very family oriented... They were bbq when we we're there and the tri tip was amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank sherrie a
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear sherrie a, Thank you so much for reviewing us! It always makes my day to hear from guests that enjoyed their stay. I shared your review with the staff, and everyone greatly appreciated your compliments. I agree that the pool and spa area is just perfect for a relaxing time with family. It is the highest compliment to hear... More 

Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

This ended up being a very decent place to stay for a night. Our room was large and clean. Considering the high hotel rates in San Luis Obispo, this hotel's rate was one of the lowest in the area, but still overpriced for what we got. A word of warning about parking... we arrived around 10 p.m., and there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank judyandsimonhome
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear judyandsimonhome, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The housekeeping staff was pleased to hear that you enjoyed room and were comfortable during your stay here. San Luis Obispo is just getting more and more popular, but we still pride ourselves on offering some of the best rates in the area. If you are looking for even... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Yes, they accept pets and that is good. And the spa is fabulous. The bathroom was clean. But it's so in need of a makeover! Our patio door was missing a handle which made it really hard to open. The blanket had a hole in it. The lamp shade was torn. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Matthew L, Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have looked into your concerns and will make sure that everything you mentioned is properly addressed. In the future, if you have any concerns about the room or property, please let the front desk know and we will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay