We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We won't be returning here. Our room had a really strong odor - it was bad! I went to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms, but they didn't have any other available rooms. They were thoughtful enough to offer me an Ibuprofen for the headache the smell had given me or to come and spray Febreeze... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry D
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry D, I am very sorry to hear that the room was not up to par. It is our top priority that guests are comfortable throughout their stay here, so this situation is unacceptable. If you would be so kind as to give me a call at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss this further with you.... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

decent place to stay at a great price. it's old and dated, but clean. because of cal poly freshman move-in, the location was sold out, and if you needed to change rooms you would be out of luck. still, it was reassuring to know the staff and general manager, Mary, would do whatever was in their power to do to... More 

Helpful?
Thank drj-family
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear drj-family, Thank you so much for this review. We are proud to offer some of the most competitive rates in the area, and I am glad you found the hotel to your liking. The San Luis Obispo area is only getting more popular, but we will always do our best to accommodate guest requests. I passed along your compliments... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had driven all day from Las Vegas on a road trip and rocked up to this place on the highway and it was a lovely surprise. lovely pool and hot spa and Margis diner Next door for an amazing breakfast! clean and comfortable hotel perfect for a few nights stay on route to the rest of California!!!!

Helpful?
Thank 707emmz
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear 707emmz, Thank you for sharing this review! I agree that this hotel is the perfect stuff when traveling through California, and I am glad we were able to offer you a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. The pool and spa seem to be quite popular among guests! The pool area is a great way to unwind after a... More 

Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of my favorite places to stay and this past visit was wonderful as always. This hotel is a quaint older hotel with beautiful grounds. The staff is always personable and helpful. We haven't been in a while and this visit we found that it had a new owner who has begun doing renovations. We were thrilled to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stacey C, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Your compliments have made my day, and I passed along your kind remarks to the rest of the staff. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here and found the facilities easily accessible. I agree that our pool and spa area is one of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as a family for 2 nights en route to San Francisco. Whilst the inn is well located for San Luis Obispo, there is a traditional diner nearby and the wifi connection was good everything else was very poor. We were particularly concerned with security as there appeared to be other guests who were wedging the doors open as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oons14
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Oons14, I am so sorry to hear that your were not satisfied with your stay. It is always disappointing when a guest has a less than perfect time at the hotel, but I appreciate your feedback and will work on improving the points you raise. I am sorry that you were woken up by loud engines. It is a... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Fresno, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute trip for us and I'm glad we stayed here. Daniel checked us in and we went to our assigned room upstairs. After opening the door, I called Daniel to see if he could move us to a first floor room for my sister in law who is not very mobile. Not only did Daniel immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank stonesnbones
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear stonesnbones, Your review just made my day! Thank you for taking the time to share it. I passed along your compliments to Daniel, and he was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always do our best to accommodate special requests, and I am happy to hear that your whole family found the hotel comfortable and pleasant.... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

More than two weeks before our stay, I reserved an ADA Queen/Queen room plus a King room, directly from the hotel's website. Imagine my chagrin when, upon presenting ourselves at the front desk, we were told that they had no ADA room for us. No explanation, no real apology, no recognition that people who need ADA rooms need ADA rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yobabs
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yobabs, I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in one of our ADA rooms. We always want to accommodate anyone who requests one of those rooms and clearly one of our reservations systems made an error. If you would be so kind as to send us a note to rgislo1@gmail.com, we would like to make... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

This place is OK for a stop over on a road trip if you are just looking for a spot to sleep. However, it's a drive from downtown SLO, not easily accessible. But it is just off the highway, so depends on why you want to stay in the area. Honestly, the hotel itself is a little on the skeevy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly F
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Holly F, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It is our top priority to provide guests with comfortable accommodations, and to hear that you were not comfortable is unacceptable. I have discussed the concerns you raised with our maintenance staff, and we will work to improve the areas that you mentioned. We value... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Our check in was quick and easy. Front desk and manager was very helpful with recommendations of places to eat and visit in the areas. We stayed in room 131 with a great view of the pool and jacuzzi. Room was super clean and comfortable. This will be our new spot to stay from now on.

Helpful?
Thank Tiana M
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tiana M, Thank you so much for this kind review! The pool and jacuzzi are some of the most popular aspects of the hotel- what a perfect place to relax and enjoy vacation! The housekeeping staff was excited to hear your compliments about the room, as they always love to hear from guests who had a comfortable stay. Once... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Manager was very rude with just a nasty attitude no customer service skills at all never booking there again. The rooms are clean but the staff needs to be trained on how to treat paying customers. Just by asking a simple question the manager told me there is no point on explaining it to you . I have worked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica H
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erica H, I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing this feedback, as we strive to make every stay a pleasant one, and are always looking to improve. I am very sorry that you had this experience, and if you would like to further discuss your concerns please fell free... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay