We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo

Save
Share
1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$89
Hotels.com$89
Travelocity$89
Priceline$89
FindHotel$90
Agoda.com$89
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (135)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)

About

#31 of 33 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
2.6
Service
2.6
Value
2.6
Welcome to Olive Tree Inn San Luis Obispo, formerly Ramada Olive Tree. Explore San Luis Obispo: near Hearst Castle and close to California Polytechnic State University. Enjoy a refreshing stay at our Olive Tree Inn and Suites San Luis Obispo hotel near California Polytechnic State University. Situated off Highways 1 and 101 and minutes from downtown, we offer the best of comfort and convenience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
777Reviews0Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 101
  • 183
  • 204
  • 226
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
601chandrad wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Every hotel in the area is taking advantage of the Cal Poly Graduation weekend. This hotel charged just over $300 for one night. I would be ok with that if it were decent. This room was unacceptable. The air conditioning is a loud noisy unit under the window with warn out buttons and a digital display that was half broken. The paint is chipped, patched, and stained. There are two coffee cup smears on the night stand. The lamp blinks on and off. There are cords cross crossing the corner of the room. The towels are tiny and thread bare. I would have demanded my money back and left but I had pre paid with a no refund status. It was late and I needed to get to sleep for my son’s graduation in the morning. If you are ever coming to San Luis Obispo for the same weekend, do not stay here. It would be worth paying the extra money to stay somewhere else or in a nearby town where the rates might be better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Jun 12, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a better experience.
Read more
channa T wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
I am laying on a rock hard bed. The room is freezing and there is no way to change the temperature. It seems to be controlled internally by the hotel. When we checked in online it said free breakfast. We were told at the front desk that was not true. A blatant lie promoted online says a lot about the business. Need I say more?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Apr 13, 2022
We regret if you experienced anything less than an exceptional experience. Your feedback is appreciated and we will be addressing a few of the issues mentioned immediately.
Read more
Marty H wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Checked in, front desk clerk was either drunk, deaf, homeless or, quite possibly, all three. Seriously...dirt caked fingernails, slurred speech, ineffective communication. Bed hard as a rock...room only "kind of" clean. Morning, hair dryer quits after a few seconds, call front desk, LITERALLY "tough luck, we don't have any spares!". REALLY. Maybe THEY were laughing about it...not us. DO NOT STAY HERE ! ! ! !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: STAY IN YOUR CAR instead of here...you'll have a better experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Mar 12, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not provide you with a satisfactory stay. I have noted your comments and will be taking appropriate action to prevent these issues for our future guest. Thank you for taking the time to convey these issues to us.
Read more
Nancy B wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My Father is a 74 year old Army veteran who came up to SLO for our cousin’s wedding. He booked a suite for him and my brother to stay one night. The person working the front desk was not accommodating or helpful at all. The room was not ready at 3pm and my father had to be at the wedding by 4pm. The person at the front desk told my father the room would not be ready until 5pm and that if he did not make it back by 11pm they wouldn’t check him in and they would keep the money for the room. There was nothing mentioned in the booking that there was an allotted check-in time limit. My father explained that he was going to a wedding and was hoping to have the keys to the room at least work for when he came back. The person at the front desk basically told him “too bad, be back by 11pm or he isn’t getting a room.” My father had to leave the wedding early so he made it back in time for checkin. When he got to the room it looked NOTHING like the suite pictures as advertised. When my dad questioned the room against what was booked they told him “too bad, that’s what they had available.” This hotel was a ZERO across the board. My brother went to use the restroom at the hotel restaurant and when he came out the woman working there yelled at him for not asking to use it !!!! It was a public restroom and they were guests! Disgusting hotel with miserable people working there. I will be contacting anyone involved with this facility and filing a complaint for taking advantage of elderly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Oct 14, 2021
Thank you for being our guest. We are extremely concerned to read your comments and apologize for the issue you had with one of our associates. Our staff genuinely cares about providing an enjoyable stay for all of our guests, so this incident is not a reflection of our usual service standards. Appropriate action has been taken to ensure this is not repeated. We hope the rest of your stay was a positive one and we invite you to visit us again soon.
Read more
Jeanne L wrote a review Sep 2021
Carlsbad, California73 contributions19 helpful votes
This facility feels very old and not maintained. Torn carpet; stained thin towels & sheets. Bed was comfortable. Fixtures clean but cracked. Needs major renovation. Good convenient location. Would not recommend this place overall. Staff was ok; not very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that we could not meet all of your expectations. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us in the future for a much better outcome.
Read more
Jill N wrote a review Jul 2021
7 contributions
Scam!!!! They double charged me! I had booked online, then they charged me again. When I caught this, they said “well you signed it”… kept coming back to blame me for their scam! I complained to two men, and they both had the same lies and clearly were used to doing this to guests! Look in your eyes and lie. STAY AWAY!!! Total scammers!!!!!!!’
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Jul 26, 2021
Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that we could not meet all of your expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem with management and prevent any future occurrences like this.
Read more
Ina T wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
It’s absolutely horrible. I ended up paying 4x due to last min booking. AC wasn’t working, your next door was swearing loud. Dirty & smelly room. Had a terrible experience Wish I could give negative star
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are working to address the concerns you shared, and we hope you will give us another chance and visit us again.
Read more
Lauren Johnson wrote a review May 2021
Sacramento, California2 contributions
priced right low key not alot of activity very clean will definitely visit again soon asked for early.check in they were willing to accommodate free parking in a great location with they were more pet friendly I do have service dog .. nice pool area even though it was closed due to covid was a nice place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded May 30, 2021
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our clean facility, complimentary parking and convenient location. We value your business and hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
JLV wrote a review Oct 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past with no issue. Rooms and price were fine. This was not the case at my visit this past weekend. I checked in and the lady at the front desk was very kind. Walk up to the room- room 267- and as I open the door I am immediately struck with the stench of tobacco smoke from cigarettes past. This is supposed to be a non-smoking room. I also notice the lamp shades are absolutely thrashed- looks sketchy and awful. These are things I was reluctant to let go- for a whopping $140 a night. There was what looked like mold in the window sill of the bathroom. The nail in the coffin was the live cockroach that paid me a visit as I stepped out of the shower. A LIVE COCKROACH!!! All within the first hour of my visit!!! I scream, fling that thing into the toilet and flush it. I go to the front desk and kindly explain that though I’m willing to put up with a lot, a cockroach is unacceptable. the lady informs me that they are fully booked and can not accommodate another room. She offered a refund, which was very kind- but ALL of the nearby hotels were fully booked too!!! I then find out that she has family suites available but only for a higher price of course. She told me the manager would be there in the morning. I went to the front desk in the morning and the gentleman told me no, he wasn’t the manager- the manager is “out of town”. I asked for a number to call and instead he gave me a piece of blank paper to “write down my concerns”. Not to mention- the ice machine was broken and we had to go across the street to another hotel for ice. I am extremely unhappy to have paid $140 to stay in such a terrible, disgusting room. As I said- my stays in the past we’re always fine. The fact that there was no resolution make me furious - Absolutely unacceptable. I had to spend the night in this filthy , tobacco smoke reeking place. The bed was extremely stiff and uncomfortable. Oh- and as we were leaving I noticed 2 cockroaches crawling around the now vacant building that used to be a Mexican restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Oct 17, 2020
We apologize your stay was not what you expected. We want you to know that we have sent your concerns to the General Manager for their review. Again, please accept our sincere apology for your inconvenience and it is our hope that you will consider staying with us again at the Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo in the future.
Read more
profH10 wrote a review Sep 2020
Los Angeles, California36 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
9/4/20 Convenient area with food places and gas station nearby. This was a decent place to stay in for one night as my trip continued further north. I was greeted by friendly staff upon my arrival after 9pm. My room was 264, upstairs pool view. The room, sink area, and bathroom were clean. The bed had bright white clean sheets and pillows. There was a small fridge and microwave, which were useful for me, underneath the television stand. Overall, the place has seen its days, but it was a comfortable night’s stay for me. My only one complaint is to the facility: You must invest in rubber mats for the tubs. Even though I was being careful, I accidentally slipped and fell backwards and out of the tub, shower curtain and all, while showering. Although I could see some red marks and a small bruise on the side of my body the next day, the biggest bruise showed up today (3 days later) near my elbow, where I landed to avoid hitting my head. I did inform the male staff member when I checked out, and I also informed two housekeeping employees. Thank goodness I am alright. In the future, however, someone else may not.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Responded Sep 9, 2020
We are delighted to hear that you value the efforts we have put toward creating an environment where everyone at the Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo will enjoy their time spent with us. It was a pleasure having your company and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada inn olive tree hotel san luis obispo, ramada inn san luis obispo, ramada san luis obispo, san luis obispo ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada San Luis Obispo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo
Which popular attractions are close to Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Nearby attractions include Farmers Market (0.6 miles), Puzzle Effect - SLO (0.7 miles), and Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Novo Restaurant & Lounge, Ciopinot, and Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of San Luis Obispo.
Are pets allowed at Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dallidet Adobe and Gardens (0.7 miles) and Ah Louis Store (0.4 miles).
Is Olive Tree Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.