We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (46)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (224)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Breakfast included
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
456Reviews
418Photos
6Q+A
85Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 168
  • 70
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Awesome as always....love the close proximity to campus and town. Staff is helpful and friendly, and always accommodating. This is our second time there and it will not be our last. Highly recommend this hotel to all Mustang parents.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Associate-Manag... S, Guest Relations Manager at La Cuesta Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Douglas, Our dedicated team is happy to hear that you and your family had another quality stay at the La Cuesta Inn; we sincerely appreciate your kind words. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. We look forward to your next stay when visiting your student at Cal Poly SLO. Until then!
Read more
There were very good things about the hotel: room, bed, bathroom, breakfast, afternoon cookies, cleanliness, great front desk service, and proximity to CalPoly. Unfortunately, there was very low water pressure and only lukewarm water in the shower. I was going to rebook in
Read more
Response from Associate-Manag... S, Guest Relations Manager at La Cuesta Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Thanks for your review, and we are glad that overall you were pleased with your stay. However, we are very sorry about the hot water problem. The issue was that some valves were not being reopened that affected the hot water circulation line. We have completely fixed the problem. We do hope you will visit us again.
Read more
We loved our room - it was nice that it had a small seating area with a door so night owls can stay up watching TV or reading without disturbing the early bird. The entire property was very clean. The breakfast staff were fastidious with the cleaning which was very much
Read more
Response from Associate-Manag... S, Guest Relations Manager at La Cuesta Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your overall positive review. We appreciate your kind words. We wanted to address the opportunities for improvement you mentioned as well: We are very sorry about the hot water problem. The issue was that some valves were not being reopened that affected the hot water circulation line. We have completely fixed the problem. Regarding the upfront charge for incidentals; this is actually a normal standard in the hotel industry. We should have done a better job of explaining this to you. We do hope you will vist us again!
Read more
We have stayed here several times now with our student in college at CP. Very consistent service & cleanliness. Great staff and decent breakfast. Not fancy but updated & clean. Beds are comfortable. Easy parking.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Associate-Manag... S, Guest Relations Manager at La Cuesta Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jeanne, Our entire team is elated that you had another quality stay at the La Cuesta Inn; we sincerely appreciate your kind words. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us when visiting your student at Cal Poly SLO. Until then.
Read more
Although this property is clean and in a great location, at the start of the morning or after a long day, a hot shower is anticipated; however, this was not the case. My son and I stayed here for 2 nights for a college visit and between us had a total of 8 showers - none of
Read more
Response from Associate-Manag... S, Guest Relations Manager at La Cuesta Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Renee, We are very sorry about the hot water problem. The issue was that some valves were not being reopened that affected the hot water circulation line. We have completely fixed the problem. However, it left you with a guest experience that we are not proud of. Please contact Maria, our General Manager, gm@lacuestainn.com. She is fully aware of the issue and would like to work something out with you. Thank you
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLa Cuesta Inn
The Deluxe King Room at the La Cuesta Inn
King bed
Photo provided by managementLa Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Guest room
Photo provided by managementLa Cuesta Inn
Balcony view
View of mountains and forest
PreviousNext
12345644
Is this hotel pet friendly?
Hello, unfortunately we do not accept pets, but appreciate your interest in our hotel.
0 votes
Hi, unfortunately we do not provide pull out sleeper sofas in double rooms, with 4 people being the maximum occupancy in this room type.
0 votes
Show all answers
I guess my opinion offended you as well. Well....really all I did was ask you some pertinent questions...so....Cool! Grow thicker skin and buck up maybe!
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes, we would be more than happy to have you waitlisted in the event of any cancellations. Please call the front desk, toll-free 800-543-2777, to leave your details and bedding preferences. We will contact you if anything becomes available!
0 votes
Hello and good morning, Unfortunately we do not accept pets but thank you for your interest in our property. Best, Maria
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"If you want hot water, don’t stay here."
"If you want a great breakfast get up a bit earlier...."
"Avoid room 105- poor beds. But otherwise clean, with TV and wifi working well, and good shower space with extra sink outside of bathroom."
"Lovely balcony rooms on upper floors."
"Ask for one with a balcony."
PreviousNext
12345617
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la cuesta hotel san luis obispohotel la cuestala cuesta inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing