We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,983: English reviews
Oceano, California
Reviewed October 20, 2015

I rented a "Private king room". Biggest wate of money. The bed frame was dismantled, the TV wouldnt work, fridges wouldn't work, it was dirty and the dressers and furniture were cheap and falling apart. The bed wasn't even comfortable. I told the front desk about the broken items and state of the room and the girl just looked at...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank elichi_sc
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I apologize that you didn't have the experience you expected--and deserved. All our One-Bedroom King Spa Suites have been just completely remodeled. Everything is new. So I'm not sure what room you stayed in. If I did, I would immediately deal with any problems. We are in the process of completely renovating every suite and room at Sycamore. We are...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Yours suites at the Meadows are great. They are upscale and yet very peaceful and quiet. I would go there anytime for any reason. It is near the beach and the bike riding is very relaxing. making it a nice short road trip from Los Angeles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David-Elissa
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

We love it that you take that lovely road trip to visit us at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We so appreciate you letting us know that our resort is your "little getaway." I hope you return very soon. Thank you!

Irvine
Reviewed October 19, 2015

It's been many years since we have been here. We were looking forward to the great room, hot tubs & the great restaurant we remembered. The hotel & food at restaurant was as we remembered. The service @ the restaurant was disappointing. The server during breakfast seemed very unhappy to be there and our dinner from the hostess to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkers991
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how much your enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer! However, I was extremely unhappy to find out that customer service you experienced was not good. There is no excuse for that. I've already scheduled a meeting with my restaurant managers about this particular review. I encourage you to return. Please contact...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed October 16, 2015

Sycamore resorts is a great place to stay and relax, what I like the most is that each room has its own mineral tab, you don't share with anyone else, location is great and the beach is 5min away. The restaurant food is great and they use organic, the only thing is room prices are high, for that price they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susyh350
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed October 15, 2015

The property is very nice. I very much enjoyed the hikes to the top of the mountain to take in the amazing views. We had dinner near by Pismo Beach at Steamers which was delightful. I was disappointed with reception upon my arrival. There was a dark short haired woman behind the check in counter who didn't bother to greet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11kelleyb
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property and our hiking trails! I'm very sorry that one of our staff was not welcoming and accommodating. I'm so glad, however, that you had the nice greeting with another front desk agent, and with our staff was pleasant and helpful otherwise. This morning I'm looking into it with my...

West Hollywood, California
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at this property. The only disappointment was that the Labyrinth was closed, something that I have definitely enjoyed during my previous trips. Staff was very helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ildikok347
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sycamore! In regards to the Labyrinth, we had to temporarily close it because of safety concerns on that section of Avila Beach Drive that accesses the Labyrinth. We are looking at another access point in the future. We hope you will return soon. Thank you very much.

Tehachapi, California
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Most of the facility was ok. Clean, secluded, friendly staff. But, the whole resort had a very foul (sulphuric) oder. The room we had added to that oder. Looked clean, but because of the oder, we never felt that it was really clean. Very pricey for what we got. Very out dated room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 705ken
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that the sulfur mineral spring water smell didn't work for you. Though guests from throughout the United States and the world travel to Sycamore for the rejuvenating water, I do understand and appreciate that some people do not care for this. In regards to the room, I do not know which room or suite your stayed...

Santa Maria, California
Reviewed October 13, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. The room was great and the grounds were very nice. However, when we went to get into the hot tub on our balcony it would not get hot. We had to call the front desk twice. Finally a maintenance employee came up and fixed it but it took over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rick614
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I'm was glad to hear you enjoyed your room, but I was very disappointed to hear about your hot tub issue, i.e. not enough hot water. I hope you'll return and we will make sure that doesn't happen. And I'd be happy to mail you a certificate for a hillside hot tub soak for two in the meantime. Please contact...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed October 13, 2015

For the price of the room it was very run down. Needs paint carpet. You can hear the traffic. Disappointed room service stops service so early. When we caked to make reservations they cannot work with us on a date or a room no local special seems like the service and hotel has gone down hill I've had better experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999lindav
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you didn't have the experience you expected. I do not know what room or suite you stayed in, but we are almost half-way through a complete renovation of every room and suite. We do offer a Local Special--Sunday-Thursday--to all San Luis Obispo County residents, except in the high season. We love our locals! I hope you'll...

Ventura, California
Reviewed October 13, 2015

I remember both the pool and the hot spas where open to hotel guests for free. not reservation needed to enjoy! And the pillows are horrible! To big as in thickness and hard! The restaurants where nice. Good Happy hour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A1049YAmarkv
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. In regards to the swimming pool, it is always open for hotel guests. I've been here for 10 years, and the hillside hot tubs and the Oasis have always been available for hourly rentals, but not included in the hotel stay. Of course, each room has its own mineral springs hot tub to soak...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

235 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (218)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
561 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
710 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $197 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Visalia, California
Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba
7 days ago
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask advice at front desk. Each room has a name”
 of 5 bubbles expectquality1942, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay in the King Suites at the back of the property, but be prepared to walk or wait for a valet for a ride.”
  • King Suite - Outside
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyc889, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the "historic building" if you want to get a shut eye”
 of 5 bubbles Courage11, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like walking up and down hills get a room on the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles Staythurstymyfriends, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles thishf13, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay