We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,115: English reviews
Start your review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
 Click to rate
Anaheim
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Did not have the best experience. From the pictures on their website I was expecting much more for the price. My husband and I were celebrating a very special weeekend and we were very disappointed. We will not be returning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N5762OYjenniferk
los angeles
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the staff was excellent, the setting awesome.......loved having our won hot tub on balcony.....loved the size of the balcony!!!! We loved all the trees surrounding the resort and restaurant and bar areas were very nice.....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ljoh
Tustin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The only issue was a power outage. We we were trying to get out on time but were running a few minutes late. They said it was a thrown breaker but I wondered if it was designed to get us "moving". We were 15 minutes late out the door.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
Walnut Creek
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in was too late and check out was rushed for us. My wife did the yoga class which went to 1045 am then we just made breakfast which ends at 11 and we finished at 1135 and we felt very rushed to check out of room and they seemed like they wanted to charge us if we did get...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank my n
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I came here with my fiancée and we began our journey optimistically; but then we tried to book a hot tub. They were unkempt, over-hyped, and poorly ran by unfriendly, young, and unenthused people. The customer service was not great, our toilet in the room overflowed and we got blamed for it. I was really looking forward to a happy,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shoreseee
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for your experience. I can't imagine what happened at the health & wellness center and its apparent lack of customer service. But I've forwarded your review to my management team and I'll be meeting with them early next week. I can't imagine why one of our maintenance staff would blame you! That is totally unacceptable. I'm going...

Fresno
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was able to take a 3 night/4 day retreat all by myself to the Sycamore Springs Resort & Spa. I needed time to rest, heal & reflect as I had just lost my mom 2 weeks prior. My cottage was called 'Compassion" and that was exactly what I needed. The food in the restaurant was excellent, but a bit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

We are very thankful that Sycamore could be somewhat of a sanctuary to rest and reflect after your recent loss. I hope you'll return again--under any circumstances. And please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance to you.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our third time staying at Sycamore in the very secluded West Meadow with the private hot tub, we always have a great time here. It can be a little inconvenient being in a more remote area however the cart driver is only a phone call and about 10 minutes away. The staff has been perfect every time. For...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Very nice to know you really enjoyed our newly renovated one-bedroom king spa suites, with private balcony hot tubs and fireplace. These "West Meadows" suites are the most popular. I've requested maintenance to review your handy-bar comment, as well as the need for more hooks. We do provide high-end amenities, and if you ever need any more shampoo or conditioner...

Atascadero
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were a little concerned over the recent flooding in the area, but the property was still very nice. We left our car in the lot and spent our time on the grounds and walked the couple of miles into Avila Beach. We stayed in the West Meadow which is without comparison. The rooms are new and clean. The bed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7713LGbrandonc
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stellar review and telling us how much you enjoyed your suite, private balcony hot tub, and our local area. I'll make sure to tell the front desk that you thought the check-in and check-out were easy and our staff was friendly. Do visit us again soon!

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa for our 20 year wedding anniversary. We chose the stay there because of the great location and because previously we had stayed there about 2 years before and had a good experience. Our experience there started out fine. Upon check in I was asked if I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serina B
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I completely understand your frustration about the power outage. These outages were a result of PG&E losing power in the many storms. If there is an outage, we are very, very close contact with PG&E, and do everything possible to try to make these types of situations as best we can for our guests. But as I'm sure you understand,...

Carmel, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently spent the night in one of the two bedroom suites at the Sycamore springs. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The highlight for us was definitely the private tub in our patio that filled with spring water. The beds were comfortable and we ate from the room service menu. The food was good overall for room service. My...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabe G
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

We so appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay at Sycamore. Glad to know that you enjoyed your room, room service, and your private balcony hot tub. The check-in and check-out is based on the fact that our resort is situated on over 100 acres, and this is the time required to prepare for your arrival. I hope you'll return...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
580 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,503 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
525 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,226 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $211 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Visalia, California
Santa Maria, California
2 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were 2 couples and were happy with the Persistence suite. We were upgraded to Eloquence, which was nice, but we had people upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles jcoanda, 1 week ago | Read review
“Perhaps there's a room with a better view from the deck? But that's not clear to me.”
 of 5 bubbles travelbug-bk, 1 week ago | Read review
“The guest house is secluded at the end so it's very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mjh424, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I would think they are all great, they do ask you to please be quiet after a certain time. It is all great.”
 of 5 bubbles 748dianaa, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you have issues with stairs, be sure to let them know, as our room was not accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles AmyF91764, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question