We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
27174 Ortega Highway, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Room seemed new but the was not vacuumed enough. Found an earring and hair on the bathroom/sink floor. Room was on the first floor so the it felt humid and the odour of the new bunk beds were too strong. The photos on the site does not equate to reality. If you're okay with a typical 2 star motel, then... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma t
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a total surprise when we arrived at this hotel - it was very well maintained both inside and outside! I would highly recommend to anyone going through that area. When we arrived at the hotel (in June) we turned down the air conditioner and went to grab dinner - I could have spent more time here... Anyway! When we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience of our property. All feedback is shared with staff and management to help better serve our guests. We are happy you noticed our hard work at maintaining our product. We love our historical city and we are glad you enjoyed beautiful San Juan Capistrano and received the service at the... More 

Palmar Norte, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and stayed for 2 nights over the holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived until we checked out the people working there were amazing. The ladies who greeted us each morning in the community center couldn't have made us feel more special. We plan to stay there again in the near future!!

Helpful?
Thank DuaneOverturf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From start to finish the staff at th is property was perfect. I called in advance to request a room on the ground floor. No problem. I called for an early check in- again no problem they had a room ready for us. We were greeted by a very nice lady by the name of Amber. She was terrific. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristina G
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

Our staff and management is please you enjoyed your visit to beautiful San Juan Capistrano. We are happy we were able to provide the service we strive for and that you had a chance to experience and enjoy many of the property’s amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope you would reach out to us if there is anything we... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to San Juan Capistrano for a short get-away. Since I loved my experience in the Best Western in Old Town San Diego, I wanted to stay at a BW again. No disappointment! Beds were just as comfy as I remembered. The location is excellent! It is right by the freeway, 10 minute walk from the SJC Mission / Old... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank grsielda c
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very nice, as was the pool area. Breakfast is included. It is a drive up to the room layout but the rooms were very comfortable with fridge and microwave, large tv and comfortable beds. Unfortunately the fridge stopped working a couple days into the week's stay and in spite of calling, they never fixed it. The door... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatieMP2013
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing us an opportunity to better serve our next guest. We are pleased you enjoyed our newly remolded rooms and that you had a chance to have breakfast with us! We want to apologize for the issue with the refrigerator and the strange smell outside of your room. We will continue to work... More 

City of Angels
Level Contributor
201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We stayed here Wednesday June 6th... We were visiting a friend in SJC and it turned out to be very convenient... Everything was perfect... we missed breakfast, but they had a free to-go snack bag for us... I do wish there had been a closet or luggage rack, but otherwise it was nice, and I loved the patio!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Auntie-Nanuuq
Santa Ysabel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

The room was very nice, large flat screen tv, desk, large room The bathroom was very large with a separate sink and mirror area. The bath and toilet were behind a door. The light automatically came on when you went into the bathroom though it could be turned off. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was great though no... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of our property. Ownership and management are hard at work to continue improving our product for our guests! We are pleased you enjoyed many of the upgrades and found our staff very friendly! On behalf of our entire staff we want to say thank you and that it would be our honor to welcome... More 

United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I was happy with many things about the hotel, although some were not high quality. So I thought it was a bit overpriced for what it was. Service was great, used the free shuttle several times. Bathroom could be updated. Breakfast was meh, but I didn't expect it to be gourmet. Right by freeway and a busy highway, so traffic... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

Jeremy Parham Guest Service Manager BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, replied May 27th 2016 First w want to say thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn! We are working diligently to make our guest stay as accommodating as possible. We apologize for the noise and hope you will... More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Wonderful location to the Mission, restaurants, bars. Entire staff very friendly and helpful. Great price, beautiful rooms, and shuttle service! Offers breakfast in the morning and a mini mart store in the lobby.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
Robert G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review

Jeremy Parham Guest Service Manager BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, replied May 19th 2016 We want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN, in the Beautiful and historic city of San Juan Capistrano! We work diligently to provide our guests with the best experience possible and to accommodate our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to welcome you to the beautiful and historical city of San Juan Capistrano. We appreciate the opportunity to meet all your lodging needs and we sincerely hope your stay with us is pleasant. For your convenience, assistance is available 24 hours a day at our front desk. We are located just three blocks from the historical mission and town center. With many surrounding shops and restaurants and four short miles from the coast and beautiful Capistrano beaches we are confident you will be please choosing to stay in the beautiful city of San Juan Capistrano. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Highway, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: $118 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay