We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Fairmont San Jose

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Fairmont San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,910: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ok, so I read another review here on TA stating that there was no hot water, but I really couldn't believe that was possible at a 4 star hotel......well, it's possible! I'm ok with the rooms being dated (which they are), but not having hot water for a shower is where I have to draw the line (I mean do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location: close to airport (only $8 Uber ride!) and walking distance to restaurants, museums, etc. Friendly accommodating staff. Beautiful hotel, especially beautiful, spacious suite. We were at a conference and had a very good deal on our room. We enjoyed excellent room service. Didn't like the sushi at the lobby sushi bar. Restrooms in the public areas could use... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank janet m
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Generally the hotel and staff were great. Location was wonderful with tons of good local places nearby to eat and shop. I had traveled from the east coast so i was an early riser the first morning - no hot water. Maybe I was just up too early and the really hot water was not available. Waited until a normal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wandere1963
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Fairmont is a charming hotel. Was in 1919 which had an excellent view of the mountains. Was able to watch the super moon rise up from them from my room. The bed was comfortable with soft sheets and a variety of pillows which made sleeping easy. The room was quiet and laid out well. Wireless access was fast and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jdrankos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Common areas are sufficiently chain-hotel opulent, but the room itself was in need of refurbishment; no frills; no airport shuttle; vintage tankless toilet with pull handle; the shower needed regrouting; no kleenex in the room; power strip is an add-on on the floor rather than built-in, etc; guests are auto charged for even moving things in the fully stocked minibar:... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris S
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Kris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to read that our staff was able to provide the accommodating service that we strive to deliver, however apologize that your disappointments overshadowed this. We sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of our restocking fee as this is a hotel policy. Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Stayed in the Campbell Suite. Large room overlooking the pool but a bit outdated. Faucet in bar sink was loose as well as the shower. Furnishings are worn as well as carpet and draperies. One fabulous amenity was the flat screen television imbedded in the bathroom mirror. Room service was poor as well as the quality of food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, Thank you for your post. While we are pleased that you found the television amenity to be of great value, we are sorry that you did not find such success with other aspects of your stay. We do appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention however, and will ensure that this is discussed with our team so... More 

Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a premier member of the Fairmont Hotel's loyalty club I thought there might be some benefits. I was wrong. Checking in I asked what amenities were available. The reception clerk looked at me and said will we have a restaurant and a spa. I asked do we qualify for a room upgrade. She said let me look. Then she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Burnie D
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Burnie, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We offer our sincerest apologies as we value your patronage and sincerely appreciate you being a premier member of our Fairmont President’s Club. We have made sure to place your preference for two bottles of water, q-tips and newspaper in your profile and reservation so we may be sure... More 

West Valley City
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

great room, fridge was available but no microwave. I have diet restrictions and can't eat the food in the hotels and nearby restaurants. Also the beds had a dip in them, not good for such an expensive room. One meeting room was noisy due to building HVAC.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank markeH5503DS
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear markeH5503DS, Thank you for your post. We are so sorry to read of the disappointments you noted. Our rooms do not include a microwave unless requested in advance and we apologize that this was not clarified initially. We do our best to accommodate our guests’ dietary needs and do offer gluten-free and vegan options within our cuisine. Please rest... More 

Sonoma, California, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Disappointed. This hotel was built 30 years ago and unfortunately it has not been renovated since. We had high expectations due to the reputation of the Fairmont and were disappointed on most every level. We had a 5 night stay. The carpets look like they are twenty years old. Worn, stained, and need to be replaced. The walls have wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I am terribly sorry to read of the instances you noted and for the disappointment we caused during your stay. We take great care to provide exceptional stays for our guests and create wonderful memories characterized by warm, sincere and engaging service and sincerely apologize that this was not the case during your stay. At your convenience please... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A vibrant, classy, and friendly place to stay for any occasion. Property: The hotel does a great job keeping the old appeal of the fairmont brand going by keeping this location updated and clean. The rooms are BIG! The bathroom is almost half the size of the room with a shower and true bath tub (no shower head). Mini bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leisureist
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Leisureist. Thank you so very much for your patronage and for sharing your kind, detailed review. We are absolutely delighted to read how wonderful your stay was and of the impeccable service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warmest Regards, Marketing & PR Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

414 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (406)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#5 of 76 in San Jose
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 76 in San Jose
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#22 of 76 in San Jose
106 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 76 in San Jose
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: $162 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Fairmont San Jose staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairmont San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Well, don't choose room 823- no hot water!”
 of 5 bubbles geofff658, yesterday | Read review
“ask for one that has hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles Wandere1963, 3 days ago | Read review
“The South Tower rooms are nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 674julietg, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Best hotel in San Jose”
 of 5 bubbles KarenandScott, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Get an upper flow. Lower levels very busy. Bring your own Internet access.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyD_80202, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay