We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was OK, Clean room but dated. Thee is no hotel courtesy bus from the airport as shown on hotels.com, not even at extra cost! We did not have a car as it was for only one night but the area is not the nicest on foot at least Would not recommend for longer than 1 night for vacation unless... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANDY C
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Andy. We are happy that you found your room clean - this is our main priority for all of our guests. We are very sorry that there is a mistake on the hotels.com website, we will ensure that this is updated and corrected. Many thanks for pointing this out to us. We hope that you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

I was in awe of how clean and modern everything in the room was but I don't know how to feel about the used up soap that was left in the tub. The staff was decent, nothing extraordinary. I do definitely recommend this place though. Lobby was super cute too!

Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Happy to hear you decided to stay with us when you were in the area, Natalie. We're glad that your time here was comfortable and that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. We apologize for the leftover soap, our room service team usually does a great job preparing the room for upcoming guests so we are disappointed... More 

San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

Traveled for a personal stay and I was actually headed to Motel 6 but desided to stop here and they were just so friendly and im glad i stopped because the room was very comfy and there were so many places to eat in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Logan G
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed our hotel so much, Logan. Always great to hear that we made our guests feel right at home. Hope you'll be back soon. Thank you. More 

Upland, California
Level Contributor
499 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

Toilet didn't work. Despite complaint, not fixed. No plug for tub. CAUTION: the bed sits on some sort of frame with heavy extensions poking out that WILL cut your leg. Traffic noise. Jalousie blinds did not keep out a blasting spotlight all night. Internet: OK.

Helpful?
Thank William D
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

William, we want all our guests to have a wonderful stay with us, if they do not, then we are disappointed as well. Please note that we will look into your experience to make necessary improvements to provide superior stay for our guests. We sincerely hope you'll give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality, William. Thank... More 

Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

The term "lipstick on a pig" seems to apply to the decent bed and TV in this dilapidated noisy two story motel. Occupants of other rooms had doors open and loud music playing to which the thin door provided no barrier. The Bathroom was tired and rusty with lots of chipped paint. Carpeting was worn and A/C was loud and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kbaerliny
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear kbaerliny, We're sorry to hear you had this impression. We do our best to make sure that you're completely happy whenever you stay with us -- our Front Desk team is always there to help make this happen. Hopefully we'll get a second chance to show you our best. All the best, FontaineInn Management More 

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I stayed in the Fontaine Inn for two whole weeks and it was better than expected. The room was clean and big enough to feel comfortable on a longer stay. I had everything I needed, such as fridge, microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker, ironing board, free wifi and even soap in the bathroom. The red haired girl at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank camouflage-xray
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi camouflage-xray, Thank for such a well-thought out and kind review. We always appreciate when a guest has taken the time to be so thorough – and so complimentary. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and enjoyed our room amenities. Thank you for mentioning our staff- they truly enjoy being of service to our guests... More 

Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Me and my daughter were 10-15 mins late for breakfast. They stopped allowing people to get breakfast Mon-fri at 9 am. Couldnt even get juice, apple or yogurt to go. As much as A person pays for the night. A little curtousy since we are not at home would have made a huge difference in my thoughts of this place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanya1441
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi tanya1441, Thank you for staying with us during you recent visit to San Jose. I am glad that you had a satisfactory stay. Not so delighted to hear that you could not make it to our breakfast. I totally understand it can be disappointing to miss the breakfast, especially when you are traveling with your family and loved ones.... More 

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Hotels in San Jose can be insanely expensive so for those on a budget wanting more hotel than a motel 6 offers this may be something to consider with some caveats. 1) Neighborhood: Though close to downtown this hotel sits in a somewhat questionable area. We never felt unsafe during our stay however, the bars on the windows at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmp68
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear bmp68, Thank for such a well-thought out and kind review. We always appreciate when a guest has taken the time to be so thorough. However, I am not delighted to read that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass on this information to right team so they can look into the issues you mentioned. Our aim is... More 

Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Great place to stay for the weekend! I was here with my family and we found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast served was also good. Most of all, staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9p
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Kay9p, Thank you so very much for your very complimentary words. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family. I am also glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable, clean, and enjoyed our breakfast. Also very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and quite helpful and that we could make... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

My boss and I missed our international flight out of San Jose International Airport. The only other flight option to Guadalajara out of the Bay Area would have been to take a red eye out of Oakland. This was not an option so we decided to stay locally to catch the next flight the following day. We found the Fontaine... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eriqsl
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Eriqsl, I am delighted that you were pleased with our hotel, room, services and our staff. I am very pleased that we could make your stay wonderful in such frustrating situation. Thank you for writing and please come again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#29 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#40 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada San Jose Downtown Near Convention Center
5.4 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#55 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the best kept secret among affordable hotels in San Jose, California. People that travel to San Jose often, for work or for pleasure, know that The Fontaine Inn is the way to make your money go further without sacrificing comfort. Conveniently located just off the Bayshore Freeway, close to the Mineta San Jose International Airport, the newly renovated Fontaine Inn is ideally situated. Road warriors love our piping hot showers and cozy beds after a long day on the road. We have plenty of parking for your truck, motor coach, or work vehicle. Busy professionals appreciate our proximity to Silicone Valley businesses. Students, traveling sports teams, and their families love the value and convenience of being close to San Jose State University and Santa Clara University. Whether you are on a family on vacation or just passing through, our San Jose hotel is easily accessible from the highway and situated close to many California attractions, like the Santa Clara Fairgrounds, Raging Waters Theme Park, California's Great America Theme Park and Silicon Valley businesses as well as great dining and shopping.•Free Wi-Fi•Free continental breakfast•Free parking for cars, large trucks, RVs and buses•Free local phone calls•Outdoor pool•Cable TV•In-room microwave, coffee makers, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and hair dryers• ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds

Address: 2460 Fontaine Rd, San Jose, CA 95121-2141
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: $126 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Jose
San Jose Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay