We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanfront Hacienda

Save
Share
606 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672-5371
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Clemente
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
1928 Spanish style villa located across the street from the beach and pier in San Clemente. Oceanfront Hacienda offers a total of three individual units with full kitchens, 2 one bedroom suites and 1 studio suite each available for nightly and weekly rentals. Prices vary depending on the time of year and size of room.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
14Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Stephen C wrote a review Feb 2020
Oakland, California1 contribution
Where to begin. In December, through Hotels.com, I made a reservation for this hotel. Unfortunately, I accidentally made the reservation for 02/23 as opposed to 12/23. This would normally not be an issue, but this particular reservation was not revisable. I immediately recognized my mistake and reached out to Hotels.com, who told me that I would have to speak directly with the hotel. I called and emailed the hotel and spoke to a woman at the desk who took mercy on my plight. While there were no more available rooms for 12/23, she assured me that they would refund my money. I told her that I appreciated her understanding and her Christmas spirit. Adding that as educators, lost money was particularly impactful. A few days passed, and I noticed that the reservation had not been canceled. I tried to contact the hotel, but no response. I contacted Hotels.com and they said the hotel now refused to change my reservation. Wow, so after being so effusive with my praise to the employee with whom I spoke, I come to find that they were just placating me. So, so disappointing. I think it goes without saying that this says volumes about hotel staff, management, and ownership.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from John Gabay, Owner at Oceanfront Hacienda
Responded Oct 18, 2020
Hi Steven, Thank you for your time posting this review. It's been brought to my attention that we have two different posting for Tripadivors, so I'm just now seeing your comments. Our records shows that we reached out to Hotels.com/Expedia to request your cancellation and refund and was told that you needed to contact them as well to confirm the cancellation since this was a non-refundable reservation. Via email, I relayed this information to you along with the phone number to complete your request. I also followed through with Hotels.com/Expedia later that day to make sure your request was granted, and was told that they left you a message and was waiting to hear from you. At that point, I left you a voicemail with instruction to contact Hotels.com/Expedia to get your refund. Honestly, I don't remember the outcome or if you followed through on your end. However, I understand mistakes happens and I know that I genuinely did my best to assist with your situation. I've been working in hospitality for the past 15 years and feel very passionate about serving others with exceptional customer service, and I must say that I'm beyond disappointed and disheartened over this review. I would be happy to talk with you again should you ever be in the area or planning a trip to San Clemente. Thanks again for your time! Kind regards, Lora aka woman at the desk
Read more
Sarab A wrote a review Feb 2018
1 contribution
I recently took my husband away for his birthday getaway and the place is phenomenal, clean, unique and just perfect. Karen and John made sure we are well taken care of for the stay. We will go back very soon. Sarab A.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Yoganista wrote a review Nov 2017
27 contributions19 helpful votes
We had initially rented an Airbnb which turned out to be disastrous (jackhammers next door, no air con, overpriced...) so when I found Oceanfront Hacienda while talking a morning walk I was delighted! We stayed in the big studio on the top floor and I must say that the attention to details makes this place really special. The decor is really thought out -- you really feel like you're in an authentic hacienda! -- from the cozy leather couches, big wooden table, bedding, curtains, dark wood furniture... It's honestly a superb room. Considering how much we were paying for a crappy Airbnb this place if a FIND and super affordable. The place was quiet, safe, you'll have a gorgeous view from your balcony. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great view, great neighborhood, fantastic quality.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ghostlydesigns wrote a review Jul 2017
Phoenix, Arizona2 contributions2 helpful votes
My family and I stayed in the back units for a few days while travelling through California on vacation. I have to admit that I was a little nervous about staying here. Booking a place sight unseen is always a little risky, but now that I have stayed here, I plan on coming back over and over again. I can’t say enough about this place. My family and I loved this place for so many reasons. First off, the property is beautiful and well maintained. According to the owner’s website, the buildings were built in 1928. The timber framing, solid plaster walls, and antique fixtures make this place far more interesting and unique compared to any of the other places nearby. I couldn’t help but feel the history as I made my way about the property. From time to time I could hear the ghostly echoes of laughter from all the people who have lived and stayed here over the last 89 years. Sometimes it felt as though I had gone back in time. Other times, with the Spanish style stucco walls, Spanish tile roofs, and Saltillo like flooring, I felt as though I was transported to some seaside village located somewhere along the Spanish coast. Ahhh. The property itself, especially the courtyard area, is abundantly green with grassy lawn sections and various kinds of trees and bushes growing about the property. An extensive collection of flower pots line the walkways and stairways for a colorful and charming view that you would expect from a Spanish décor theme. Internally, the buildings are tastefully decorated with rustic wood ceilings adorned with rustic wood beams and columns. The flooring is also wood, although I believe other units may have Saltillo tile like flooring. The building may be old, but the units are equipped with basic modern day necessities such as satellite HD TV, refrigerator, range oven, and microwave. The kitchen comes stocked with basic cooking supplies such as pots and pans, plates, glasses, and even basic spices needed for cooking. Our unit had a kitchen table big enough for 6 people or more. I rented two units with three different beds and all three beds were comfortable, which says a lot, considering that I am accustomed to a $10,000 Tempur-pedic bed. I travel quite a bit and one of my pet peeves is poor shower and toilet performance. I am happy to say that the showers and toilets here performed adequately. The water pressure was good and the toilets flushed. One thing that I really liked about this place was how the windows opened. So many beach rentals have windows that don’t open or are locked shut making for a hot and stuffy room experience. When I vacation near the ocean, I want to smell the air, feel the air, and hear the ocean and this place allows for that. As for the other things…what can I say, location, location, location. This place is built directly across the beach and also behind the San Clemente Pier. The beach and pier are literally seconds away. In addition, this place is located just seconds from various shops and restaurants, once you park your car, leave it, because there is no reason to drive anywhere here. There are about 6-7 restaurants on this little strip along with a supply store and coffee shop. The San Clemente Pier offers two seafood restaurants and both provide outdoor seating over the water for a spectacular view. If you want to cook your own meals while staying here, San Clemente offers a nice grocery store nearby with a decent selection of seafood, meats, and vegetables along with everything else that a grocery store normally provides. In addition to that, the City of San Clemente offers a variety of restaurants, gas stations, and clothing stores for all your needs. If you enjoy fishing, you can fish from the San Clemente Pier from early morning to midnight I believe. You can even rent fishing poles and tackle from the shop on the pier. Bait can be purchased here as well. San Clemente is known for its large waves and surfing. On any given day you are sure to find a good surfing show from anywhere on the beach. Maybe the show will inspire your to give surfing a try yourself. The downside with San Clemente is that the beach is somewhat rocky (smooth round stones) but I didn’t find this problematic at all. There is still plenty of sandy spots to call your own, but just know that you are not getting pure sandy beaches found at other beaches along the California coast. Lastly, the other thing that makes this place so amazing are the owners, John and Karen. They were so friendly, informative, and accommodating, not to mention interesting, they inadvertently became a big part of our memories from this trip. I cannot speak of my vacation to San Clemente without mentioning them. We found many of the residents of San Clemente to be just like John and Karen, friendly, helpful, and unusually patient with tourist. I hope this place never changes. Please tell John and Karen that the Wynn’s from Arizona sent you. Now with that said, if you are accustomed to five-star resorts and five-star restaurants or posh style living, then this place isn’t for you. This place is a bit rustic by design and I could foresee some people not appreciating or even understanding the “back to basics” experience this place is meant to provide. Please tell John and Karen that the Wynn’s from Arizona sent you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Beat92629 wrote a review Jun 2017
3 contributions8 helpful votes
My boyfriend, Doug, and I have stayed here several times over the last year. It has become our favorite landing place when we are in Orange County. The rooms have ocean views and are a 3-minute walk to the surf. The units are clean, comfortable and charmingly styled in a Spanish style. The outdoor areas are lovely - with fountains, plants, comfortable seats and views. The owner/managers, John and Karen, are friendly, attentive and meticulous caretakers. I can’t think of anything to gripe about. The closest I can come to a complaint is that the coffee makers provided in the rooms are modern and nice, but make weak coffee (we like it really strong). Fortunately, there is a great coffee shop a few steps from the front entrance. A superb experience all around!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$202 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountySan Clemente
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanfront Hacienda
Which popular attractions are close to Oceanfront Hacienda?
Nearby attractions include Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens (0.2 miles), San Clemente Pier (0.3 miles), and San Clemente Downtown District (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceanfront Hacienda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Oceanfront Hacienda?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at Oceanfront Hacienda?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceanfront Hacienda?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceanfront Hacienda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vine Restaurant & Bar, Nick's San Clemente, and South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar.
Is Oceanfront Hacienda located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of San Clemente.
Are there any historical sites close to Oceanfront Hacienda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens (0.2 miles) and Camp Talega (3.2 miles).