We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Shady Oaks Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
399 Zinfandel Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Offers & Announcements
Napa Valley Getaway
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Priceline.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shady Oaks Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When researching for a place to stay for a wedding in Napa and found the Shady Oaks Inn, I was very excited to read all of the wonderful reviews and was expecting a quaint bed and breakfast but upon arrival I was deeply disappointed. It was very dark (no lighting) for a late check-in and walking up steps. You have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

You are the same people writing reviews over and over. Rebecca and Suzanne. You have not even contacted me to see what I can do for you because of the plumbing problem in the same room. I cannot predict that a drain will clog up on a Saturday. I can only do what I could. There is no excuse for... More 

Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

quiet room. off the main drag. easy to find. and an easy drive to downtown St. Helena. friendly staff. the room was lacking a fridge and maybe a coffee marker would have been nice. felt like i was on the farm. the room and the bathroom isn't updated. glad i got this at a discount would not pay full price... More 

Helpful?
Thank beach020bum
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Our bathrooms are updated regularly. The faucets are new, the sinks have no cracks or scratches, the tubs and and showers are in great shape. There is a coffee maker and a refrigerator in the dining room. I am sorry we don't give away free bottles of water. This seems to be a big issue to some people. Free bottles... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Imagine my shock when I pulled into a darkened parking lot for a late check in and there were no lights, no paths and Xeroxed instructions folded and pinned to a bulletin board next to the inn's front door. We were guests in the Winery Room, a windowless, red carpeted room. The stone walls were quaint in our room, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry the lights were out. It must have been real late because they are set to go off at 11:00 pm but I will check them. Didn't you stay the next night upstairs? I am also very sorry about the towels. No excuse for that. Please send me your email and I can do something to make... More 

Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

An over rated B&B that cost $450.00 per night and they wanted you to pay $1.00 if you took a bottle of water out of the refrigerator. Arrived late, so had to let ourselves in. They did not leave a note as to which room, so had to call for that info. The room is Victorian alright. Right down to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RpxRpx
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not meet us we are in Iowa burying my wife's mother. We cannot be there 24 /7. I am more sorry you were unhappy. Did you let our staff know there was a problem? Our rooms are not Victorian they are country and are sparkling clean. Our staff even spray disinfectant on the beds. I... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Went to St Helena for our daughter's wedding, which occupied most of our weekend, so we did not get to enjoy the 5:00 wine and cheese so many others have mentioned. Met Lisa and John only in passing, but even those brief interactions were very friendly and informative. The Country Blue Room was pleasant, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prof-DSR
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We did not see you very much we had family in town. I am so glad you enjoyed our staff.They work real hard to make your experience a great one. They will love this review. Warmly John More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Beautiful romantic family firendly B&B that makes you really relaxed. Complimentary Wine and cheese at 5pm and great conversation with owner John was "the dot over the i" as we say in Sweden. Our room (suite on the second floor) was flawless, great beds, great bath and beautiful views over the vineyards that surrounds the place. Breakfast/brunch was just amazing,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie B
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I really enjoyed meeting you two and your wonderfully polite children. Please come see us again if you are in Napa Valley Warmly John More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

I was so impressed with this B&B (especially for my first B&B experience!). The wine & cheese happy hour was so pleasant and the breakfast was amazing both days that we were there. We stayed with another couple in the 2-bedroom suite next to the main house, and my only complaint is that the bed in the 2nd bedroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindsayhugs
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We've been talking about putting a queen bed in the second bedroom. You might have just made our mind up for us Warmly John More 

Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

We have been coming to Napa Valley for over 25 years and Shady Oaks is the only place we stay. It is like coming home.....the warm hospitality, excellent accommodations and breakfasts are second to none! We always have wonderful recommendations for wineries to explore - both from John and Lisa as well as other guests. The late afternoon 'welcome home'... More 

Helpful?
Thank 340kylen
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to see you two and spend some time together. Thank you for the great review Warmly John & Lisa More 

Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016

We've been going to b&b's for years and were blown away by our experience. The hospitality was second to none. The location was ideal. Thank you for everything-immaculate, romantic, the BEST getaway with my partner.

Helpful?
Thank David G
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad we could make your first B & B experience a good one. Thank you so much for the great review. Hoope to see you again soon Warmly John & Lisa More 

Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

This B&B is exceptional. Just tremendous. I was so impressed with the entire experience start to finish-from the grounds upon arrival, the warm innkeeper(s), wine and cheese, décor and who can forget the breakfast. Compliments to the chef! Well done. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank 888Giordano888
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your "tremendous" review. We really had a great time with you and your husband. Can't wait to see you again. John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
4.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 8 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Address: 399 Zinfandel Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Price Range: $262 - $1,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay