We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

1530 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825-3358
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (50)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (7)


Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Table tennis
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free internet
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals
203Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 84
  • 40
  • 23
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My family has been been a Marriott family for as long as I can remember and began staying in Residence Inn's back in the 80's. I now run a large youth non-profit and place our group in RI's or the Marriott brand when we're on the road. We average 550 rooms per year and at times have reserved 45 rooms for a week long event. My brother-in-law is an ESPN sportscaster and until recently, Marriott has been his preferred stay. He and his crew are on on the road at least half the year, and he racks up so many points he never uses them all. What I'm trying to say is our little family uses Marriott a lot. So, it's frutrating and disheartening to know that after 30 plus years of our family's loyalty to Marriott and my non-profit's patronage of it, I need to reconsider who we use for our choice of lodging in the future. I've reached this conclusion due to the decline in quality customer service and integrity of business practices I've experienced in the last 2 years. And this really upsets me because I've never had to reach out beyond Marriott in an area - I simply get online and book all our needs then work with our destinations on our group rate. It's not this easy anymore and I'm upset I'm looking at leaving the consistency and familiarity of my preferred brand because of poor customer service and lack of quality care. Here is what is driving me to this edge in contacting you: My group is scheduled to stay a full week in the RI Sacramento Cal Expo next week. I booked our rooms in August of 2018, then called the hotel and worked with a sales assistant to guarantee our standard 20% for more than 20 rooms. Since that time, the assistant left. We were not notified our account changed hands. Which is another change in the last couple years - there seems to be a very high employee turnaround rate as I've had to work with several sales managers, general mangers, night managers, managers assistants...you name it. No one seems to stay long which leads to much confusion and convolution. At the time I booked, the sales assistant guaranteed us our block plus a 20% discount. However in the process of her leaving, she didn't leave any notes or verification of our discussion. Moving forward to the last couple weeks - the General Manager no longer will honor our discount due to the "event in town" that has inflated the market value. This is the entire reason I book early - I know the market will not remain and accommodations will become very limited or a group our size. My frustration is through the roof this year because this is exactly what happened last year. I had to dig up all my emails with that RI location becasue the GM told me to prove it. And he still wasn't going to honor it so I called corporate and our rate was magically reinstated. However, the GM personally checked our group in and announced that we were stealing from him since he could get a lot more money for our rooms. 7 of our families immediately left and went somewhere else - they turned around in the lobby and walked out without checking in. The GM charged our card for those nights - we've never received a resolution on it, other than the sales manager offering a pittance of "apology points". One of families was charged almost 4x the fee as from our group rate so instead of paying $7xx for the week, they paid $2600. This was due to processing error on the desk staff's part and we were told it would be reimbursed, but again it never has. To top this off, we could tell we were deliberately placed in suites that were under repair or waiting for maintenance. There were MOLDING doors that were so moisture-riddled they had swollen and split, BLACK MOLD was EVERYWHERE, and COCKROACHES in the suites - not just one or two but many. The back of our kitchen sink was one big furry mold and had a large hole cut into the wall exposing the inner workings. I couldn't believe this was a Res Inn - I took pictures to prove it. I still can't believe there were coackroaches in a residence inn. So, back to the current situation, we again have a GM who won't honor our group discount since it was set when the market was low. Now that the market is high, there's simply no way he can agree to it which is so unethical. He claims "what would he say to his other customers who also want a discount?" I'm not his other customers, I'm THIS customer. I'm the one who called last summer to have our reservations ready to go NOW. I have a group of people coming in on Saturday who are expecting the we were given last year, the rate they've been saving all year for, the rate they can't afford to pay more than because the difference is $335 dollars - more than a plan ticket to get them there, the rate I guaranteed for them so they could have an opportunity to create a better future for their children since many of them come from challenging financial situations? Not to mention some of them are disabled and living on a shoe string budget because of it - including myself!?! Its so unbelievable to me that we're facing this again after everything we went through last year. I even told the girl I was working with at the Sacramento location about our experience and how I wanted to avoid a situation like that which was why I reached out so early!! And here's the kicker... My brother in law has been using that location for years when he's scheduled for a Kings game or one of the big events Sac hosts. It's the reason we chose it instead of the Natomas location. He was sent out last minute to broadcast the USATF National Championships - a much larger event with lots more money involved and the presence of very large recognizable personalities in the area than what we're going for - he was not only offered 3 rooms at the base rate, but he was given a discount that totaled less per room than what we were even offered at the 20%!! Does this mean I should book under his name so I receive the benefits that my famous brother receives? Is that what it takes to receive good customer service and run a business with integrity? Why would yo treat him any better than me or the group I represent? I'm obviously upset. Maybe I should have him call to get our rate back since they respond to celebrities? If anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears because this is NOT what working with Marriott used to be like.
Read more
Response from Joseph D, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Responded Jul 22, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our property. We have and will continue to discuss this situation directly with you. Thanks again for choosing Marriott.
Read more
I am surprised this property is not rated higher. Everything about my experience was near perfect. Pros: Great location – you can walk across the street to a large movie theater and a number of stores and restaurants. There is a Safeway supermarket 10 minutes drive south. Friendly Service – everyone greets you and smiles Nice breakfast with hot foods and 2 kinds of coffee Clean, spacious room. Full kitchen has everything you need, including knife and cutting board. Everything felt new. Comfortable Bed Plenty of parking in and around property One thing to note, the toilet would run every 30 minutes or so and quite loudly. If management reads this, it’d be great if they could check up on that. Room 1107
Read more
Omar the desk clerk went out of his way for myself and colleague when we checked in our company had not made the correct arrangement. Omar stepped up and gave us time to get the matter handle and made our stay enjoyable. I would stay there again only because of Omar and his great customer service. More Hotels could use him as an example for great customer service
Read more
The hotel was an approximately 15-minute drive from downtown. The room was spacious and clean. The free breakfast was very good. The room are separate building units and are not part of one main building. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.
Read more
Response from Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Responded Apr 29, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Thanks for the perfect score. Thanks again for choosing Marriott and hope you have a great day.
Read more
Of all the residence inn, I have stayed at this is the worst one. Maids will go through your luggage and take what you have in the refrigerator - food, mugs, coffee creamer, etc. They also took my cooler while I was gone; then said there was nothing in the room. Manager, he does not care. He never got back to me as to where my belongings went or who took them. Prior to this incident, I came back to find the maid defrosting the food in my room; said that she cleaned the wrong room when she was supposed to clean the room next to mine.
Read more
Response from Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Responded Feb 14, 2019
B R, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are sorry to hear about your stay at our location. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss these issues. Thanks again for choosing Marriott and hope to speak with you soon. David Bentz Assistant General Manager
Read more
$155 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
residence inn sacramento cal expo hotel sacramento, sacramento residence inn
United StatesCaliforniaSacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing