We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena

Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (103)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown/Arena hotel caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember 'Green is INN'! Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel; Historic Old Sacramento, Railroad Museum, Golden 1 Arena(home of the Sacramento Kings), Federal Courthouse, and Capitol Mall. Other attractions you won't want to miss: Sacramento Zoo, Sutter's Fort. Our hotel is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., and Wachovia Financial. We have 359 guest rooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. Complimentary WIFI and pillow top bedding help provide relaxation after a full day. We are located 11 miles from the Sacramento Airport. Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
91Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
25Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
467Reviews
146Photos
8Q+A
98Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 194
  • 107
  • 28
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Perfect place to stay for events at Golden One. Two block walk to the arena. Our room was clean and bed and pillows were comfortable. We had breakfast and dimmer at the on site restaurant. Both meals were above average. We will definitely stay here for future events.
Read more
Response from Mary G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to have served you and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Came here to see a Kings Game so the location was perfect. The hotel staff was quite friendly but our heater in the room wasn't working and we unfortunately found it to be super cold as it was January and outside Temps were in the 40s. We tried to call maintenance before the
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Enharmonic10110, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review. While it is nice to know that you liked our location and staff, I was also quite concerned that our heater and WiFi caused you problems. I understand that these issues may have caused inconvenience for you and I am so sorry. I will make sure to let our maintenance team take a look at your concerns for necessary improvements. Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that we would have another chance to accommodate you again in the future. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
The location was the key reason I chose this hotel and it was the only reason I would come back. There were not microwaves or frigs in the units, parking is extra (as you would expect for a downtown place), the beds were a little hard. Breakfast was $15 each for 2 eggs, bacon,
Read more
Response from BarryM2385, Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Responded Nov 27, 2018
Greetings Cheryl, Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Sacramento. We are disappointed that our facility did not meet all your needs and will be sure to share these comments for future improvements. With that said, we are pleased you found our location convenient between Old Sacramento, the Golden 1 Arena and the California State Capitol and hope we can better serve you in the future. Again thanks,
Read more
Wish i had stayed here longer but unfortunately only slept and left in a hurry. Rooms were large and bathroom too and there was lots of shopping opportunities nearby. Very close to the Amtrak station was really the reason i booked here and its a 6 minutes walk away. Maybe next
Read more
Response from BarryM2385, Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Responded Nov 21, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad you enjoyed our location between Old Sacramento and DOCO. Hope you have a little more time when you return to Sacramento - we look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
While the hotel has a tired and aging feel to It, the rooms are comfortable but the best secret is their unassuming loling reastaurant. Are there twice and also had a buffet lunch catered for 200. Every meal was a wonderful experience in gasrtonomy! The Salmon salad at lunch
Read more
Response from BarryM2385, Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Responded Nov 15, 2018
Greetings, Thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown Arena and providing this kind feedback. We are pleased to hear our food exceeded expectations and stay was comfortable. We look forward to your return and again thanks! Barry
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
View from our room.
View from the 16th floor
No Plug?
PreviousNext
12345610
Recommend you call the hotel OR request in the notes to management at the end of the online reservation
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes. Coffee maker is a Kuerig. As a previously certified programmer for a Univac 1100, GE440, and Fortran 77 It was confusing on how to execute the 12 step auto start sequence for the Kuerig especially not having had a cup of coffee yet, but eventually worked out. Made a decent cup of Joe unlike those feckless and pathetic drip makers in other hotels.
0 votes
Show all answers
I wasn't flying when I stayed here, however considering how close it is to the freeway, airport shuttle service is likely. Check out their website or call them directly to verify this as well as the best directions to Discovery Park.
1 vote
Show all answers
I'm sure they do call and asked
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"I suggest a northerly facing room to cut down on the freeway noises. The train station isn't that obtrusive."
"Rooms to the south have a view of the Capital Mall. No refrigerator or microwave in non-suite rooms"
"don't face the freeway"
"Don't stay on I-5 side of hotel"
"We could hear the Hair Drying being used in the next room --- but what would you expect."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn sacramento-capitol plaza hotel sacramentosacramento holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSacramento
NUMBER OF ROOMS
359
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing