We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Panoramas (37)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 627: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed December 1, 2015

Our vehicle in the motel parking lot, along with four other vehicles, were broken into, and the break-ins were caught on motel cameras. Between the damages (replacing broken rear window) and minor missing items, total was around $800. The gentleman behind the desk was very courteous, told us the hotel would pay for the damages, and we filled out a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bob S
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Mr. Bob S I want to apologize again for the experience you had here at the hotel. There were several parking structures targeted that day,including the hotel's. Fortunately, due to the security cameras we have in place, the police department is confident that they will be able to apprehend the individuals. We have posted signage throughout the garage informing all...

Reviewed November 28, 2015

We were very pleased with the service, location, comfort, cleanliness and appearance. We were there to attend a conference in Sacramento at the Sleep Train Arena which was just a few miles North on the Freeway. We were just about a mile from Old Town Sac. in the City. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanmC8967YI
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are looking forward to your return trip to Sacramento, and wait until you see the new Arena that is due to open next October, just blocks from the hotel!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed November 27, 2015

We enjoyed this BW better than another one we stayed at in Sacramento years ago. The room was nicely appointed, quiet and the bedding comfortable. The location is also convenient. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CacheOn
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to Sacramento and your stay with us!

Reviewed November 24, 2015

excellent rooms, good quick breakfast, helpful staff convenient location near government offices and capitol free parking and convenient for pickup trucks Public parking in Sacaramento is expensive and not as secure as BW

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 727artb
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Sacramento, California
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Compared to the high-rise hotels just a few blocks down in Sacramento, Sutter House exceeded in value and comfort. Convenient location in downtown with free parking made it that much better. We were needing a place to stay due to construction on our house that went longer than anticipated and this was a great home-away-from-home.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casoleily
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your kind review and hope to see you again in the near future!

Torrejon De Ardoz, Spain
Reviewed November 14, 2015

The Sutter House has a very good location near the city attraction. They offer free breakfast as part of Best Western member, we love the pancake maker. The rooms have views to the pool. The room as the bathroom are big. There is free private parking. Cons: we stayed in a room that it is connected to another for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara G
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we know you have many hotels to chose from and are happy that you gave us a try. In regards to the adjoining rooms, the hotel only has a total of 10 rooms that actually adjoin, and those rooms are secured with two doors,and each door has two...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Needed a stay for one night for a business meeting and chose this Best Western Plus again, as it was a great find the first time around in a perfect, central location in downtown Sacramento. Parking is free and on-site which is another perk. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there is free WiFi. This property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat654
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your review, and we hope the next time your travels bring you to Sacramento that you will think of us firsts!

Redlands, California
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here after a bad experience at The Citizen Hotel. Clean, warm, charming, hot and cold breakfast items, restaurant next door and a great coffee shop across the street. This place is great and I'll be here again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sande R
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so happy to welcome you to our family!

Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed November 11, 2015

First time in the city, we came in mostly for a basketball game but wanted to see tourist highlights. The hotel's location is ideal for the Capitol, Old Town Sacramento, and is a great property. Staff was amazing. We got a complimentary upgrade upon check in without asking and lots of recommendations of things to see and do! Free breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solomiya P
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, we know that you have a lot of hotels to choose from and truly appreciate you giving us a try. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to Sacramento that you will think of us first!

Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

I picked this hotel last minute, thought it would be ok. It was super expensive for a best western and would of been ok had the hotel been nice but it wasn't. Let me start with the beds they were horrible. Couldn't sleep all night not to mention the buses stopping all night. The room was small, dirty and uncomfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reina C
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

When I read your review I was very distressed with your experience, are you sure you stayed at our hotel? Our guest rooms are spacious and we normally receive excellent reviews for our beds. The hotel is not on a bus line, however, we do have the light rail just behind the hotel, but it only runs until 10pm at...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Handicap with One King (31)
Viewed
King (29)
Viewed
King-2 (30)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Two Queens (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: $146 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Have never had a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeF928, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“location is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Lindainvegas, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all quiet, clean, and well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnMacMurray, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms were on the second level and felt very secure and safe.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyrC8138ZX, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Please request a room away from the street and pool. The odd rooms in the 40's are probably the quietest. Stay away from room 126.”
 of 5 bubbles DrWeniki, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question