We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Panoramas (51)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 627: English reviews
San Jose, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although this is an older two story facility, it served its person. Being tall, I appreciated that the shower heat was at 7 feet. The adjustable head was comfortable and good. The breakfast was adequate and the apples were especially wonderful. They definitely would have benefitted by having a 2nd person assist with the check-in procedure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Choc18Chip
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Choc18Chip, Your comfort and convenience are our top priorities, and we thank you letting us know how we have been successful in our efforts to impress you. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business...

Dogpatch, AZ
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the sandman several times in years past. We had problems getting PBS on TV .. But the former manager fixed the problem so we continued. But after a couple years we we went back on Jan 9, 2017, and the clerks could not say whether PBS was available still. When I said I would check inthe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank campercarl2015
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear campercarl2015, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took the Amtrak to Sacramento for a girl's weekend and chose Best Western for it's reliability and the nearness to Old Town. We were happy with our room, very clean and lots of amenities. Especially loved the Eucalyptus & Mint soap, shampoo & lotion. You can walk to Old Town via the river walk behind the hotel. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maraeta
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear maraeta, Thank you so much for this review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. Your comments on how we can further improve upon the guest experience are also very...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed December 4, 2016

The staff are nice, check in/out, but it took awhile as only one person behind counter with three people in line. It took 25 minutest to check in. The room I was in was on the back side of the building with a view of a 15 foot dike to stare at right outside the window. I'm glad I came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berghuis3
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear berghuis3, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are glad that you found the majority of your experience to be satisfactory. Your comments regarding the ways we can still improve are just as important, and we can't wait to show you how we have taken them to heart.

Far Northern California
Reviewed November 19, 2016

I needed a room that was reasonably priced and not too far from the EXPO for the all day engineering test that I would be taking the next day. I requested a quiet room as I needed a good night's sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet both neighbor wise and traffic, which I sure appreciated!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jetear
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jetear, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We also appreciate your suggestions for improvement to our breakfast and We look forward to...

Vista, California
Reviewed November 14, 2016

The location of this property is great, centrally located and adjacent to the river with easy access to downtown. As others have noted, there are a lot of homeless but we found that they keep to themselves. We checked-in on a Thursday afternoon and were give a second floor room facing the parking lot; there was a large tree trimming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused...

Willits, California
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Needed a place fairly last minute. This was too scary. Breakfast was good if you like to eat in a sauna hot room. Housekeeping and landscapers very noisy. Front desk staff nice and friendly. I intend to never return here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joniota
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely comfortable stay at our hotel we are now informed the management about your concerns. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I assure you that we are correcting these issues for improved convenience in future visits.

Newberg, Oregon
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We selected this because it's within walking distance of Old Town Sacramento, the place we stopped to see. It's in the old L-shape with outside entrance rooms. While modernized, the rooms of this era suffer from less sound proofing. Lighting is poor. Breakfast is very minimal by today's standards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Scott P, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience and We are happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the sound proofing, Lighting is poor, breakfast as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Dunno what so many are whining about. This is a fine hotel. When we rolled in, check-in took all of 5 minutes. Had my key, and off we went. As we were passing through the parking lot, I was wondering how loud it was gonna be at night. The lot was half-full of industrial trucks, so I expected some rowdiness...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shop99er
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear shop99er, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas...

Reviewed September 28, 2016

It took twenty minutes or more to check into the motel.The girl at the front desk was new and she was getting overwhelmed with phone calls and people waiting to be helped.Finally the manager casually came out from the back room and answered the phone.Then another girl came out to help. At 1:30am a crew of fire fighters came in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john l
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear john l, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level of the hotel. We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of our guests. In the future, please speak with our front desk staff if there is too much noise,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Handicap One King with Sofa (24)
Viewed
One King with Sofa and Patio (21)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Single Queen (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)
Viewed
Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Two Queens with Patio (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 80 in Sacramento
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Second floor if on river side or parking lot side.”
 of 5 bubbles berghuis3, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles 997JimB, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles Q2749LAscottp, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“I think any motel would be a better option.”
 of 5 bubbles F4344JDjohnl, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the back by the River to cut the freeway noise”
 of 5 bubbles SantaBarbaraGirl9311, Jul 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay