We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Riverside, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the worst!... Let me start by saying I was there for a wedding, only staying one night, I got to the hotel after the reception was over about 11PM. I went to the reception and they tell me that the elevators and breakfast is out of service, because they are doing construction. I reread their website to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 675vb2016
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that there were many issues with your stay. Thank you very much for bringing these to our attention. Our staff have been addressed to make sure nothing... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The website says something and reality is something else. No coffee maker in the room, no breakfast or breakfast on the GO, very average rooms and staff unhelpful. I stayed for one night and will never return to this hotel again. The price is high and service and amenities poor.

Helpful?
Thank Dipak B
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that the grab-and-go breakfast was not available during your stay and you experienced a lack of customer service. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I hope that you will... More 

San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this place thinking it will be better than my last visit, but I paid more it was a disappointment. Manager had bad attitude, place was dirty lobby and hallways. Shower made a loud buzzing vibrating sound. They said continental breakfast, not true not even coffee was available.

Helpful?
Thank Maylazaro
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I am so disappointed about the cleanliness of the hotel at the time of your stay. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have taken the necessary steps to ensure your experience is not repeated. The staff and I appreciate your comments,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

If you have a chance to stay here don't. The whole place is run down, the room was expensive too for what you got. I don't think I've ever paid the price I did for a worse hotel room. I've had better stays at a motel for $40/night than this place. Shady characters all around the area, the elevator perpetually... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. To prevent this from happening again, my team is working together to create a better outlook. I... More 

Richmond, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

This hotel was okay until my last visit there on July 9-12. I have stayed here previously, and never had an issue until now. After breakfast on the 12th, my husband went outside and smoked 2 cigarettes and then came back to the room until it was time for us to check out. We then checked out approximately 45 minutes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sonjafrye
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you had an issue during your stay. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you... More 

Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

The room was adequate for the short time we were there but I was very disappointed by the "breakfast" and the response to the employees when I asked if they had more items. When we came for breakfast all that was out was coffee and hot water with a few oatmeal packets as well as hot chocolate. The desk clerk... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Janice T
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our corporate office and make sure our breakfast is fully stocked for our guests. Still, I am glad to read that you had a satisfactory... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was the worst ever. This is not the place to stay at $164 for one night. Everything in the room was dirty I didn't take my shoes off. Linens were dirty and smoke was all in the room. The windows were dirty

Helpful?
2 Thank shieka s
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues you experienced. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be reviewing our cleaning and room inspection procedures with our staff. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there a week the place is supposed to have pots and pans but there wasn't any in the room also there are breakfast with garbage oatmeal cereal and half a banana where's breakfast that I've seen at a hotelon top of that when I went to check out they said that the room smell like smoke and took my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott C
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are... More 

california
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Place is a dump. Bathroom handle came off in my wife's dainty hand. (she is dainty). chairs were dirty. no ice machine. kitchen not stocked ahead of time. By the mall no one goes to anymore...too many better options in the area. Front desk however, was courteous, kind, and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank magistercookus
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our front desk staff; however, we apologize that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I will be retraining our staff to ensure we are thoroughly cleaning... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Booked here to just sleep. The reviews looked decent and clean rooms. Pros: room is clean and front desk is organized. Con: the crowd here is ghetto, the hotel smells of smoke and pot (I smell pot in my room right now I write this), the rooms are not quite(I could hear the people next door and in the hall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerrik87
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. Please know that guest safety is our first priority, and my staff and I will be taking steps to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
9.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall

Address: 3170 Garrity Way, Richmond, CA 94806-1983
Location: United States > California > Richmond
Price Range: $112 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Richmond - Hilltop Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Richmond-Hilltop Mall Hotel Richmond
Extended Stay America Richmond
Extended Stay Richmond
Richmond Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay