We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Breakfast & Parking On Us
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (807)
Room & Suite (308)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Doctors available 24/7
Updated 06/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Updated 06/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#7 of 20 hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and sea lions. Our guests enjoy an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their "Endless Summer", endlessly at one of the best Redondo Beach Hotels.
Read more
Room & Suite (308)308
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast & Parking On Us


Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2485Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,286
  • 606
  • 304
  • 147
  • 142
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Demetrius L wrote a review Jun 22
1 contribution
If you simply want to be at a hotel right at the water, this might be the place for you! The location I smack dab in the middle of most anything and everywhere you would want. Plenty of water activities, food, and entertainment within walking/biking distance! You'll never need to leave the area to brave the LA traffic if you don't want!; except at the beginning and end of your trip... and oh yeah, their restaurant, the Baleen, has excellent, fresh food! I could eat there every meal! On the other hand… if you want a hotel with typical amenities, this might not be your new spot! Of course there is a Mini-Fridge in the room but no microwave to re-warm you delicious Baleen left-overs or melt your butter for all the fresh seafood! Curtains would NOT stay closed so street lights kept piercing through the overlapping gaps all night. The bed was soft as a marshmallow and pillows were flat as pancakes, so you might wake stiff as a board (and hungry for marshmallow pancakes). And have fun at the coin laundry because there are NO laundry services :o The pool was heated and hot tub was hot, but why are they outside?! Plexi-glass enclosed pool area would have the same tropical effect and keep you from the 60 degree Cali night air when returning to your room. I have mixed feelings about my experience and thus, a mixed review. What do you want, a great location or a great hotel? Guess you can’t have you cake and eat it too; even at $200+ a night. (But maybe I can get those marshmallow pancakes ;)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
603CraigC wrote a review Dec 2019
Redondo Beach, California, Usa3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The portafino hotels ocean view room exceeded my expectations. The room was large and very comfortable. The views were great and the seals were playing all day right off our balcony. A super romantic room to watch the sunset and have drink with your favorite person . I will be back and if you haven’t been there yet , I suggest that you definitely put this hotel on your to do list ..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Responded Dec 31, 2019
Dear 603CraigC, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with this TripAdvisor community. More importantly, thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special weekend for you both. We look forward to welcoming you and your favorite person back to The Portofino Hotel and Marina. Please let us know if you need any assistance booking your next getaway! Happy New Year, Darin Matsuda Hotel Manager
Read more
Marvin K wrote a review Jun 20
Redmond, Oregon34 contributions5 helpful votes
Don't waste your money. Maid service is not available everyday. Lighting in Bathrooms is terrible and room is tiny. No full length mirror for wife to see how they look. No microwave, restaurant is not always available. Refrigerator tiny. Workout room is sparse at best and bring your own water bottle as their water cooler was empty. Parking terrible especially at the daily cost they charge you. Yes the view was nice facing the water and that was the only positive in 4 days and 3 nights. If my son wasn't getting married at this location, we would have checked out. Way over priced because of their location. We don't mind paying higher prices for rooms and amenities but the value at this property was absent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
kj0nes2021 wrote a review Jun 12
1 contribution
Our family of four had a great stay at the Portofino hotel. We loved our room (it was the king bed with pullout couch) and especially its view of the boats on the water. The kids really enjoyed swimming in the pool, and we really appreciated that the staff was super helpful and accommodating of our requests, such as parking our large U-Haul truck in the hotel lot.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Response from Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kj0nes2021, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Portofino Hotel and Marina. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time; highlighted by our staff and pool area. We hope your move went smoothly. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in booking your next experience in Redondo Beach! Regards, Darin Matsuda Hotel Manager
Read more
gurveerbassi wrote a review Jun 9
Turlock, California1 contribution
Over priced. Underlying charges. Front desk day receptionist rude. Woken by work in parking lot every morning. My car was dirty then looked if someone wiped it which destroyed the paint of my car. Wont stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear gurveerbassi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to read the impression one of our team members left on you. We are grateful for your business and are saddened we did not make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Should you like to discuss your concern over your vehicle, we would very much like the opportunity to learn a little more about the incident. Regards, Darin Matsuda Hotel Manager
Read more
$214 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
portofino hotel and yacht, portofino inn redondo beach, portofino redondo beach
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
United StatesCaliforniaRedondo Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Redondo Beach (0.2 miles), Seaside Lagoon (0.1 miles), and On the Rocks (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Captain Kidds Fish Market & Restaurant, Bluewater Grill, and BALEENKitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Portofino Hotel & Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Redondo Beach.
Does The Portofino Hotel & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Portofino Hotel & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bruce's Beach (3.6 miles).
Does The Portofino Hotel & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.