We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5921 Valencia Circle, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Only 1 left at
$1,199
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$1,199
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/22
FindHotel
$1,005
View deal
Hotels.com$1,199
Booking.com$1,259
Priceline$1,259
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (364)
Room & Suite (168)
Dining (88)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Award-winning Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa - Southern California's only Relais & Châteaux property - is a sanctuary of good living tucked away on 45 acres of lush gardens and olive groves. This Mediterranean-inspired, all-suite property features a Forbes 5 Star spa, tennis facilities, two pools, two restaurants and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
442Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 36
  • 9
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pauline S wrote a review Aug 2022
Manhattan Beach, California5 contributions
+1
We stayed at Rancho Valencia in July and we had a wonderful time! Don’t look any further this place is a DREAM. The property is absolutely stunning and pristine, the service was impeccable, they are beyond dog friendly, my fur friend was dialed in with all the amenities in our room and they have a special dog menu at their restaurant. (Sophie my franchise had a bed for her at dinner,so spoiled). We dined on property both nights and we thought the food was delicious and lots of options to choose from. We really enjoyed playing tennis at the club their facilities is really clean and super organized. The rooms are all very large suites we had a full living room, very large bathroom, shower & tub and a gorgeous courtyard. I can’t forget how incredible our experience was with their brand new state of the art spa & pool. This is by far the most luxurious property in North San Diego and they go the extra mile to make you feel special & spoiled. I can’t wait to go back! If you get a chance to stay at Rancho you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WhiskeyLover wrote a review Jun 2022
La Canada Flintridge, California6 contributions5 helpful votes
This was my wife and I’s 2nd stay at Rancho Valencia for a couples getaway. The first experience was 5 star. My poor review this time is very much based on how the resort and their staff reacted to a medical emergency with a 5 year old boy at breakfast. First, the property and rooms are top notch we stayed in the olive grove suite and enjoyed the private hot tub and well sized, well decorated room. The property grounds are super peaceful and quiet. Don’t go hear looking for amenities that will entertain you outside of tennis. The food wasn’t as good this time around. We were recommended the salmon dish at dinner as being out of this world but it was bland and over cooked. The drinks are delicious, but you are going to pay top $$ for them and it will add up quickly. Now my disturbing experience with the staff and management…the morning of 4/11 at 8:30ish Am my wife and I were enjoying breakfast on the veranda. At the table next to us a 5 year old boy was drinking out of a glass (note a resort who advertises as kid friendly should offer sippy cups) and must have bitten into the glass because it broke and glass got stuck in his throat. When it became apparent that this boy was in trouble and choking, I watched both waitstaff head back to the kitchen. After the staff fled the veranda I was the one who called 911 and spoke to the emergency dispatched. They asked me for an address and I did not know the street address, just the resort name. I walked up and down the hallway twice past numerous staff and pleaded for a physical address I could share with the 911 operators. Silence! No one answers or helped me! There was a woman in a blue pant suit that I asked twice for help and an address and she did not respond to me. Medics finally arrived and whisked the boy off it the emergency room. I then come to find that the woman In The pant suit is the manager on duty, I realize this because after paramedics left, she quickly swooped in and grabbed the broken glass from the table and put it in a bag and left. Now, i do not expect the staff to be trained medic professionals in an emergency, but I do expect a 5 star rated staff to be able to manage and respond to a crisis, they fled!!!!!! Unacceptable. Afterwards our breakfast came out 39 minutes later, was cold, and we were offered no feedback or communication with the incident. How was I the one who had to talk to 911 for 10 minutes while manager on duty stood by silently. Full disclosure, I waited two months to write this review as I gave the GM a couple chances to respond to my request to provide respectful feedback. I have never heard from the resort since my stay. Beautiful rooms and grounds can not be overlooked but you can’t be a 5 star resort and have your leaders and staff flee as a young boy potentially chokes on glass.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear gibby80, Thank you for highlighting the assets of our property and the positive experiences you had while you were with us. While we appreciate your point of view regarding the unfortunate situation that took place with the family sitting near you at breakfast, your facts are not completely accurate. We take the safety and wellbeing of our guests very seriously and all of our managers are trained in handling crisis situations, While you were on the phone with emergency services our team was as well and directing them to the appropriate location. As well, there were no less than 3 managers present and standing by to assist the family. The MOD in fact was told that they were on the line with another party and she walked up to you to ascertain if it was you and got no response. It is unfortunate that your perception is so different than ours. I do apologize that I had not responded to you directly, I was not aware you had requested me to do so. I have however been directly in touch with the family who's child experienced the potential choking. We can all learn from every situation and we certainly could have done better to check on tables nearby following the incident as we recognize that observers can also be affected by these types of disturbing situations. We appreciate your assistance during the moment and hope that you can see your way to see our point of view as well. Thank you. Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
22club58 wrote a review May 2022
San Diego, California519 contributions482 helpful votes
Sadly, an experience of otherwise perfect hospitality and service was marred by the same unsavory experience reported by Skyking CT in February 2022. After check out we were emailed a folio invoice charging $78.92 for a “Bar Lunch” dated for the day we checked out at around 10:30! Calling the property elicited the information that the charge was not for lunch, but for breakfast. Reminding the concierge that a breakfast allowance was included in the prepaid room rate garnered the response -“yes, I will immediately issue a credit.” Asking the question why it had been charged as lunch and not as breakfast and not credited under the terms of our booking resulted in no explanation. It is strange that two similar experiences are reported resulting either out of poor management practices or whatever! Otherwise, we had a delightful stay in room 111 which turned out to be an ADA compliant room with the most amazing shower - one could have held a party in it. The room was clean, the bed most comfortable, towel supply was overboard, the amenity tray was well supplied with goodly sized containers, the turn down service lit the gas fire, the refrigerator was amply stocked with complimentary snacks and beverages, and the morning freshly squeezed orange juice was a delightful eye opener. All the staff, especially the gate guard who provided a personalized welcome, were professionally friendly and eager to please, especially Guila in the Pony Room and Tyler the onboarding bellman. In food and beverage the food was well prepared from apparently the freshest of ingredients, perfectly cooked and artfully presented. The portions were huge, so much so that the serving of house made, corned beef hash at breakfast would have reasonably served three. A premium property with premium amenities and service that sadly we had not visited since the most recent stay 34 years ago. We will not wait so long to return!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear 22club58, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. I am so pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay overall! I am afraid a small computer timing glitch is behind you feeling let down by the breakfast credit not being immediately applied. It is certainly not our intention to prevent your proper credits from being given when provided with a package. The timing issue of how breakfast and lunch are reported in the system has now been rectified and should prevent this from happening in the future. We do hope you will return again very soon and experience the wonderful Spa, Pony Room and relaxing Casitas and grounds! Best wishes, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurie784 wrote a review May 2022
Salinas, California38 contributions5 helpful votes
Love love love the spa! The pony room with Jake left a bad taste. He was a bit rude without good customer service. Our waiter Paul was a welcome addition to our day. Very friendly and kind. Jake looked bothered to help us with our drinks and unfriendly. I’ve been in customer service my entire life and he does not fit the type of employee you’d expect in a beautiful resort. Thank you for a beautiful day!!! We will move to the spa for our massage after dinner.. can’t wait. The spa was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear laurie784, I am so pleased to see that you had a wonderful Spa experience and were well looked after by Paul in the Pony Room, he is certainly a great example of the exceptional customer service we provide at Rancho Valencia. I am sure when you next return you will also have terrific service from our bar staff and find our team there to be as focused on your needs as you have come to expect from our team! We do hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oae816 wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California32 contributions51 helpful votes
I had the pleasure of staying at this property for two weeks and all I could say is wow. It is truly one of the most amazing properties I’ve ever been to in my life. The grounds and the facility are more than incredible and overwhelming with luxurious touches. The food is nothing shy from incredible. Having stayed in luxury properties all around the world, I can say with confidence that this is in my top two favorite hotels I have ever been to. One of the best things about this property is how you’re welcomed at the guard house by the two smiley faces of either Robert or his colleague. Easily one of my all-time favorite touches is the complementary newspaper and orange juice which is left on your doorstep every morning. All in all when it comes down to it but really says this property is side is the staff. The following people are the ones who truly made this stay exceptional: - Ian - Austin - Riley - Laura - Kyla - Alexa - Felipe (from pony room)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear oae816, We loved having you stay with us as well! Thank you for calling out our wonderful team members here by name and for making Rancho Valencia your home away from home! We do hope we will see you again very soon! Best wishes, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dfo wrote a review May 2022
Topanga, California12 contributions18 helpful votes
Just had an amazing two nights at this hotel . The setting is incredible but it only gets better -!the Valencia suite is like a beautiful house . Jacuzzi at the perfect temperature and an amazing living room . The welcome amenities were really perfect as well. The gym is the absolute best I have seen in a long time . Precor elyptical and doors wide open allowing lots of ventilation ! We had dinner two out of two nights at the hotel’s main restaurant. The food was amazing. Night one I had the chicken Parmesan And the second night I had a cheeseburger. My wife had the Sea Bass the first night and the Lobster ravioli the second night. Both of us left completely thrilled with our meals both night ma . The wine list is incredible. Can’t wait to come back . But I would have to say my favorite thing about the hotel was how caring the staff was on our every request. Thank you very much! Sorry for all the requests:-) Great Hotel. See you soon
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear dfo, Wow! Thank you for such an incredible review! I am thrilled to see you had a wonderful visit! We can't wait to have you back! Best wishes, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SkykingCT wrote a review Apr 2022
Malibu, California157 contributions74 helpful votes
I was greatly anticipating my visit to Rancho Valencia and arranged a one night stay in conjunction with a golf event. As a frequent guest of Relais and Chateau properties, I booked through my travel agent and received several rate changes leading up to the stay. With those benefits, I was supposed to get an early check-in (they say 4PM check-in and 11AM check-out, which for a resort a less than 24 hour stay is a bit ridiculous especially at the room rates). I arrived around 2PM and was told about the 4PM policy so I reluctantly left and ran errands. Came back at 4PM and was told the room was still not ready. Fifteen minutes later I was finally given the keys. The room was well appointed (booked the Ollive King Suite and received no upgrade, so rate was just shy of $3000 a night) and generally in good condition, although several bathroom items were malfunctioning, but I was only there for one night, so did not report it. Later that eventing I returned during the rain only to find someone had parked in my appointed space. So I parked in another and called the service desk to inform them I had parked in another spot and someone was in mine. They were indifferent and simply said OK. Upon check-in I was asked if I wanted orange juice and what paper I preferred. I went outside the next morning only to find the juice and no paper. Then I went to breakfast only to find out after ordering them that some items on the menu were not available. In 30 years of luxury hotels I have never had this happen - first to not be informed prior to ordering, then not fulfilling the request. Interestingly, I had intended to play golf, but it rained the entire day, so was not able to. It required me to ask them to credit my golf package (had warned them at check-in that it was going to rain). Finally, upon receiving my bill, I was charged for breakfast (bill said lunch) because my rate allegedly included breakfast. Labeling it as lunch was a clear attempt to bypass the fact I was to receive breakfast. Upon alerting management and sales staff of the issue, they spent four days arguing with my travel agent and I about it. So, in conclusion, I am not sure how much they paid these various outlets to "earn" the rating they received, but under no circumstances will I ever return and have banned anyone in my company from staying at this resort - the Aviara Resort is 100x better. What kind of elite resort circumvents the system to charge customers, argues with someone who just paid $3k a night and you charge them breakfast, and who spends less than 14 hours (*including sleeping) at their resort? Avoid this property at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay at Aviara
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Dear SkykingCT, We appreciate your thorough review of your brief stay with us, and as you are already aware we have responded directly to you and your travel agent regarding your concerns. We are very sorry that the issues you raised continue to create animosity towards our resort and that we were unable to come to a resolution you agreed with. We strive to provide the best possible experience for every guest and are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your short visit. We do hope you find suitable alternative accommodations when you are next visiting our area. All our best, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
horns1114 wrote a review Mar 2022
Dallas, Texas91 contributions79 helpful votes
Overall, we loved our long weekend here. Our room was very large and beautifully appointed with a fireplace (lit nightly by housekeeping) and large pretty patio. Our meals were great with wonderful service (except for one rude gentleman at the host stand). We spent a lot of time at the spa pool and my husband loved the tennis courts. The only negative was a bad check in experience- our room was not ready until after 4:30 pm and we didn't even find out until 5 pm when I finally inquired once again. The woman at the front desk claimed she had texted me but then said she used the wrong number. There were no apologies. That is the latest we have ever had to wait for a room in all of our travel. It certainly was bad start to an otherwise great experience. The front desk was very unfriendly- weird because the dining/housekeeping/pool/tennis/valet staff were all wonderful. This is my first review to write that I have not given 5 stars to a place we have stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Dear horns1114- We are so sorry to hear of your check-in experience, but delighted to hear that the rest of your stay was wonderful. While the goal and expectation for our incredible staff is to provide excellent 5-star service to every guest, we sincerely apologize for the miss-step and again, we are so happy to know that we rose to the occasion for the rest of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful oasis very soon! Thank you, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abraham Logan wrote a review Mar 2022
Toronto, Canada17 contributions25 helpful votes
- Great room - Service is good - Spa is nice - Amenities are great (some more variety would be nice) - tennis + pickle ball courts get booked quickly - Food quality could be slightly improved and more restaurant variety would be great, but overall is above average - Bentley access is convenient - Hotel-organized excursions are overly expensive
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear travelling14426, Thank you for your 5 star review! As well, we truly appreciate your constructive feedback and will certainly use it to improve your experience in the future. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best wishes, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JulsVern wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York227 contributions106 helpful votes
As I started visiting San Diego, I enjoyed including this Spa treatments in all my trips. I tried different options, noted my favorites, and even got a package for someone's birthday. The last time I visited, however, left a very bad impression. My Lyft ride failed to show up on time and I was running late for one of the scheduled treatments. I notified the Spa 50 min in advance that I will be late and asked to work with me to move the schedule around. They not only refused, they fully charged me for the service they did not provide. It was very unpleasant and disappointing experience, and a very unexpected one from R&C property. I since switched to another luxury spa in SD, precisely, to the one with a better customer service! And To anyone thinking of coming to Rancho Valencia I recommend - STAY AWAY - they'll never appreciate your loyalty.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Stay away - they'll never appreciate your loyalty.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa, Other at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Hello JulsVern- we are very sorry that you perceived our booking policies as poor customer service. Rancho Valencia Spa is typically booked in full 2 weeks in advance, and we are generally unable to adjust treatment scheduling last-minute (ie same day changes) to accommodate late arrivals. To adjust the treatment schedule to accommodate your late arrival would mean displacing another on-time guest's treatment, which I'm sure you agree would not be fair. We make every effort to accommodate individual guests' requests (even last minute) when treatment schedules allow, but again, with most days fully committed several weeks in advance, we generally cannot accommodate late arrivals. Our payment and late arrival/no-show policies are explicitly outlined in our booking confirmations. We do appreciate your previous loyalty and hope to welcome you back to the Spa soon. Sincerely, Laura McIver General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,141 - $2,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rancho valencia, an auberge hotel rancho santa fe, rancho valencia santa fe
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaRancho Santa Fe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pony Room, Veladora, and Dolce.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heritage County Park (2.2 miles).
Is Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.