We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wharf Master's Inn

Save
Share
785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (155)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi, electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
372Reviews5Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 155
  • 137
  • 50
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeff M wrote a review May 2021
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Very disappointing suite located one level below lobby level in separate building. There are ocean-facing windows in bathroom, entrance room and bedroom but are all so dirty as to negate what could be fantastic views. For the bedroom there is a screen and I guess they figured why bother cleaning behind that. Well I removed screen and scrubbed it down and it was the best window in the unit. Sadly the huge window / sliding deck access door in entrance room as well as bathroom both are dirty inside between the panes because of the double pane window seal failing. About all you can do is to replace them. Other gripes include poor reception on TV (they said it was in process of being fixed), poor wifi access and really poor cellphone coverage (AT&T and Verizon- but obviously not their fault), the blah room interior, el super cheapo coffee option, and an insult of a breakfast bag (when you are paying $300/night and breakfast offering is a 50 cent fruit compote prepackaged cup, a muffin in a sealed bag and an oatmeal bar I would have been happier if they had just offered nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Brodnansky, General Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review. Have an absolutely wonderful day.
Read more
Coastal34986233818 wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Spacious, well-appointed room with a good bed and two comfortable chairs, plus two chairs and a small table on the balcony. Situated on a hill overlooking Arena Cove with beautiful views from most rooms. Dogs permitted, but if you bring your dog, your view will be not the cove but the parking lot, which to its credit is surrounded by nice landscaping. Good pizza at the bottom of the hill.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for high floor with view of Arena Cove
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Brodnansky, General Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn
Responded Apr 25, 2021
We do have a small amout of dog friendly room, but they are all courtyard views. We hope you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
TRAVELERVIAJERO wrote a review Feb 2021
Cali, Colombia207 contributions19 helpful votes
We spent two nights and most important their COVID care seemed to be quite good. The room, which we probably had one of the three best rooms with the best views was roomy and comfortable. The heating system was an electric fire place. The view of the ocean could not be seen from the bed very well. The balcony offered the best view, though it included the old wharf and the parking lots. I have added a photo of the real view. Ecological perspective: This Inn continues to use non reusable small amenities, hence shampoo and conditioner in plastic little containers. Their fire place is electric as mention above versus wood burning; 4 plastic cups though they had 2 paper or carton cups. Parking can be an issue since you may have to carry luggage from the bottom parking area which in the evening was full. Reception was easy and practical but stoic. House cleaning was willing to help and more welcoming. Though the property is aging the shower and sink were in excellent condition. Fridge worked well and microwave in room. Great water pressure and easy to regulate the water temperature. Food: There was a pizza place at the Wharf, but no other easy place to eat "close by." The majority of the places to eat are in the center of the small town which you can walk to but is in relative terms far. Nice walk to town during the day 15 minutes perhaps or less than a 5 minute drive. The Area: The coast is beautiful, hence many vista points a drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Brodnansky, General Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Thanks for your review. Have a great day.
Read more
David and Destiny wrote a review Feb 2021
Spokane, Washington1 contribution
We have some friends in the area, and they suggested we stay at the Wharf Master's Inn. We stayed in the Building called Port. Next to the office. I think it was room 102. The bed was so comfortable. I just had to make sure I said that straight away. Almost every hotel bed gives me a back ache. I wanted to strap that mattress to my car and go home. Anyway, the view was just lovely. We relaxed on our balcony, had some sandwiches and watched the waves crash on shore. I cannot think of a more perfect setting. In the evening, it was quite chilly. We had a few sips of wine on the balcony, but quickly moved inside. We enjoyed the jacuzzi hot tub instead. We're both a bit hefty, and enjoyed the fact we could both fit comfortable in the tub.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Brodnansky, General Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn
Responded Feb 5, 2021
Hi there, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We get lots of comments on the comfy beds. Even our staff uses these same type of mattresses! The Jacuzzi is a nice treat on cold days. Come back and see us again!
Read more
Alexa J wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
What a wonderful gem we found! We got a call that my brother in Southern California was in an accident. We were coming from Oregon, and hit a terrible storm. We had to stop. There wasn't much around, but thankfully we found the Wharmasters. We had called and made a reservation about an hour before we got there. They had the heater in our room on, and waiting. Thank goodness. It was so cold and wet out. The staff is friendly. Easy and quick check in. The room is just charming. Nothing fancy. And not modern. Clean and comfortable. It was like staying in a little cabin. We intend to stop again on our way back up.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Brodnansky, General Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn
Responded Feb 5, 2021
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and could help keep you warm. Save travels down South, and we hope to see you again on your return up North.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the wharf master`s hotel point arena
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMendocino CountyPoint Arena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wharf Master's Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Wharf Master's Inn?
Nearby attractions include B Bryan Preserve (1.1 miles), Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum (3.3 miles), and Point Arena - Stornetta Unit of the California Coastal National Monument (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wharf Master's Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and outdoor furniture.
Which room amenities are available at The Wharf Master's Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
Is parking available at The Wharf Master's Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wharf Master's Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Franny's Cup & Saucer, Rollerville Cafe, and The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room.
Is The Wharf Master's Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Point Arena.
Does The Wharf Master's Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.