Ocean Palms Motel

Ocean Palms Motel

Traveler (120)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (14)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#17 of 31 hotels in Pismo Beach
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
If you’re looking for a budget-friendly hotel in Pismo Beach, look no further than Ocean Palms Motel. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Pismo Promenade (0.1 mi) and Price Historical Park (0.3 mi), guests of Ocean Palms Motel can easily experience some of Pismo Beach's most well-known attractions. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV, a mini fridge, and free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Ocean Palms Hotel features express check-in and check-out. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. Pismo Beach has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana, Rosa's Italian Restaurant, and Giuseppe's Pizza to Go Delivery, which are serving up some great dishes. If you’re looking for something to do, Pismo Pier (0.3 mi) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Ocean Palms Hotel. The staff at Ocean Palms Motel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport
Santa Maria Public Airport
19.1 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles475 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Ocean Palms Motel earns rave reviews for its cleanliness, with guests frequently praising the immaculate condition of the rooms. Its prime location is also a hit, offering easy access to the beach and nearby attractions. Visitors appreciate the warm service and the motel's pet-friendly approach. While the rooms are hailed for being clean and comfortable, the amenities are considered basic by some. Nonetheless, the motel is popular for providing good value and a homely atmosphere that many find cheerful and inviting.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
475Reviews4Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 142
  • 201
  • 92
  • 24
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
misopiso88 wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
With a central location and an easy walk to downtown and beach, The Ocean Palms Motel is a good option if you are looking for something affordable. Staff is friendly and rooms are clean. They have a pool and plenty of parking for guests!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ocean p, Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your positive review of our hotel. Your comments go a long way to provide our staff with confidence and support, and we appreciate that. We are pleased that you had this positive experience and welcome you back at any time. Best regards, Sam.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew G wrote a review Feb 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is an absolute gem. The owner obviously takes pride in their business as the place was newly painted in colors that remind me less of a budget friendly motel and more of a quaint and endearing lodge. The rooms are well appointed with new towels without the overused and harsh feel of most budget motels. The room had a cheerful feel with cool colors throughout.The bed was perfect for me with four fluffy big pillows. Perhaps my favorite detail was a pull down window shade which kept the light out for a perfect sleeping environment. Bathroom was roomy comfortable to use. The TV was a newer big screen which I love. If you are on a budget but don’t want the average feel that most budget inns offer, this is your place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Feb 19, 2024
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We're delighted to hear that you found our motel to be a gem and appreciated the effort we put into maintaining and upgrading our property. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the newly painted and well-appointed rooms, as well as the thoughtful details like the comfortable bed and pull-down window shade. We aim to provide a unique and positive experience for our guests, and your kind words mean a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area! Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Marie S wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As one of the lower priced motels in the area I didn't have very high expectations for this property. I was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, the beds were comfy, the pillows a little squishy, plenty of hot water and we got a goodie bag with chips and a bottle of water when we checked in. I was a little surprised when I walked in the room and instead of the expected carpet, the floor was bare. After a day at the beach I understood why. There was sand everywhere! Bare floor is easier to clean up that carpet.

Other reviews said the manager wasn't friendly, but I found him very approachable and I even got a smile out of him.

The pool isn't heated, but it was still very refreshing, especially after being out in the hot sun all day at the beach.

It is within walking distance of the beach, only three blocks, close to the pier and many shops and restaurants. The only drawback was that it was directly off the highway so there was some road noise, but the room was so well insulated that I didn't even notice it. I definitely would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are good. None face the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2023
Thank you for leaving a great review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Florante V wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there last Saturday instead of the usual max of 4 people , there were 6 of us that came from 2 places far apart and we were unceremoniously ordered to leave the premises by the manager. Instead of giving us a solution, he ordered us to leave the premises without giving us refund of $320 .00 for one day stay or rented 2 rooms instead as a solution. He was so rude and shouting at us. So instead of enjoying our weekend by the beach, we went back where we came from. So I advise not to stay into this place very rude manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay away from this place, you'll regret it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2023
We are under new management. Sorry to hear you had this experience at the OP
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nennamari wrote a review Jan 2020
Fresno, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I just stayed at the hotel this weekend, I discovered a bed bug crawling on my pillow. I killed it and put in a ziploc bag. I gave it to the front desk along with showing them a picture of stains on a pillow of what appeared to be bed bug markings. The owner was surprised and kept apologizing said he was very sorry and agreed to refund me for the night, when I come to find out he is only returning $20 for the early check in fee. It was room 111. My total for my night stay was about $140 and is costing me so much more to have to care appropriately for all my belongings that were in contact to that room along with having to treat my dogs. The cost to replace items and care for them accordingly to not bring the bugs home is so much more and they couldn't even return my fees for my night stay. Very shady business do not stay here. I will be reporting them to the health department.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ocean p, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Mrs. Nenmari, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Thank you for alerting us of the bug at check out, obviously, we did not fix the problem as we thought we did. I understand you had a disagreement with our front desk staff due $25 pet fee, which you didn't like to pay. however upon your check out you complain about the bug. we contacted out pest control personal immediately to investigate further and we couldn't find anything in the room. however, we still treated our room per your concern. ( i will be happy to share records and contact of pest control company we use.) we could have refund you in full if you didn't spend a night. Please contact us directly so we can further assist. Our goal is that all of our guests have wonderful memories of their time at our hotel. I wish you safe travels,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn B wrote a review Jun 2021
Mariposa, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is very close to the beach/Pier and great restaurants. You can walk to everything. All within 3 blocks or so. Room very clean. Good water pressure in shower. TV volumne was very low, had to turn off the air conditioner just to hear it. Pool looked great, very clean. I would stay here again because of the price. Check in went very smooth, we were given a bag with two bottles of water and two different types of snack chips.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2023
Thanks for the review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christi P wrote a review Aug 2020
Manteca, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are so cute, small but definitely updated and adorable. Parking is limited, but you'll want to park and you can just walk around to where you need to go.
Its a very nice area and you really can't go wrong, plus rates are much lower than anything else around. Much more reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2023
Thank you for leaving a great review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenn4152023 wrote a review Jul 2023
San Francisco, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff and location of this motel was fantastic. The room was just average at most. There was no closet to hang your clothes, minimal decorum and the pool was filled with sand. The TV comes with basic cable and the air conditioner turned off intermittently. There were not a lot of perks for $200 a night plus an additional $25 a night dog fee.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Jul 27, 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our staff and location fantastic, and we appreciate your kind words in that regard. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the room. Your comments about the lack of a closet will be taken into consideration as we continue to improve and enhance our accommodations. Regarding the TV and air conditioner, we apologize for any intermittent issues you faced during your stay. We will look into these matters to ensure they are resolved promptly. We understand that the cost of your stay, including the additional dog fee, is important. We continually strive to offer competitive pricing while providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob R wrote a review Aug 2023
Concord, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at Ocean Palms a few times in the past several years. It is a great value. The rooms are older but clean and good mattresses. The staff is very friendly. I'll be staying again in the next couple of months.

It is 3 blocks from the main tourist area and 6 blocks to the pier. That is especially nice since the city of Pismo Beach is charging $7/hr to park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 25, 2023
I appreciate your excellent review. It is great to hear you appreciate the clean room and location. Give me a call for your next reservation and I will give you my direct booking discount.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravellingEGs wrote a review Aug 2023
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very pleasantly surprised by this motel the rooms were clean and spacious. There is a nice common patio area. The owners were very genuinely nice people that really cared about creating a nice place. They had great tips for the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura F, General Manager at Ocean Palms Motel
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the patio area and clean room. We really do care about all of our guests and want to make sure you always feel welcome here at Ocean Palms Motel. We are lifetime locals and try to keep up with the local events and surrounding establishments. I hope you choose us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
penguin_P asked a question Mar 2022
Oakville, Canada29 contributions
Hello, is the pool heated? Im travelling in May.
Answer from mrt1955
Healdsburg, California917 contributions424 helpful votes
They don't have air-conditioning
Caligirlborn asked a question Jan 2015
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Yes they are
Debra S asked a question Jan 2015
Pet friendly?
Answer from scorpiogirl2
Alberta, Canada882 contributions69 helpful votes
Sorry, I don't know
Samuel C wrote a tip Mar 2024
Vancouver Island, Canada255 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead, it's a small motel, we only stay one night as it was booked the next day "
Read full review
Marie S wrote a tip Jun 2021
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are good. None face the beach."
Read full review
Florante V wrote a tip Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from this place, you'll regret it."
Read full review
Kelly H wrote a tip Jan 2020
Paris, France5 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose rooms upstairs!"
Read full review
nancygF1234 wrote a tip Jun 2019
68 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel is a two story hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pismo Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean palms hotel pismo beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyPismo Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN PALMS MOTEL $161 ($̶2̶0̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Palms Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Palms Motel?
Nearby attractions include Harry's Night Club & Beach Bar (0.3 miles), Pismo promenade (0.1 miles), and Pismo Beach Pier Plaza (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Palms Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at Ocean Palms Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Palms Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cracked Crab, Splash Café, and Cool Cat Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Ocean Palms Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Palms Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Price Anniversary House - Price Historical Park (0.7 miles).
Is Ocean Palms Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pismo Beach HotelsPismo Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pismo BeachHotels near Ocean Palms Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars