We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desperado Inn

2552 Old Grove Lane, Paso Robles, CA 93446 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Desperado Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked it based on the gorgeous pictures and description on the website. Anyhow, the condition of the hotel isn’t as quite as described. Cons • The main concern I have is the lack of privacy. The middle section of the door is semitransparent and the bed is just next to it. The sunlight also came in the morning and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gracie-Oreo
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

Very nice B&B in vineyard country close to Paso Robles. Lots of wildlife. Nice rooms and very relaxing. Nice breakfast by the owner and wine tours by Rolks Royce if you are so inclined. All in all a relaxing and pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank KDW105
pittsburg calif, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

OLD and worn out needs real care not weed cutters acting as host. Has house rules that make your stay seem like you have gone home to Mom. I would suggest better B & B 's in the area that are truly customer friendly and kept up. Tom is tired and needs to drive his old car around looking for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D

Travelers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

A bit out of the way, but a pleasant drive through the rolling hills of the east side. The B&B is on a hill with great views. We stayed in one of the larger rooms off the main house. It was comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast and conversation with the owner were most enjoyable. A good value.

Helpful?
Thank kdk90814
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

Loved this quaint bed and breakfast. Haven't been to paso Robles for awhile and wanted a cute place to revisit the SLO area. The rooms were comfortable. The view is outstanding and the breakfasts were first class. Tom, the owner, is friendly and I love his stories. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

thanks for joining us here at Desperado. I appreciate your kind words as well as making the time to do a review. We hope to see you again soon. When you return I have a special stay and tour deal for you!! Cheers! Tom More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

I waited a week before writing this review. I wanted to like this place, had seen mixed reviews and was hoping I could overlook some of the negative comments, without being rude, or disrespectful to the owner, this place truly needs a lot of work. It is very outdated. We paid (quite a lot in my opinion) for 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Katya B
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

It is indeed unfortunate that you choose to to save your responses until weeks after your stay here. You were asked if you enjoyed your stay and encouraged to give us feedback but instead you chose not to. It always amazes me how some people embellish their negativity to make themselves feel justified for trying to bring other people down,... More 

Upland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We had read reviews about paper thin walls and were a little concerned. This does not seem to be a problem as we were there at the same time as 2 newly wed couples and did not notice any issues with thin walls. The breakfasts were delicious and the views beautiful. We stayed in the Butch Cassidy room. Tom was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

My daughter and I spent our birthday weekend at Desparado Inn and shared the large Butch Cassidy room. The home is clean & comfortable situated on a knoll overlooking golden hills and green vineyards. Tom created a relaxing ambiance, shared his knowledge of the local wineries and his breakfasts were simple, tasty, creative fare. This place is exactly what we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pdoywong
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Desperado Inn is the real wine country experience! From the breathtaking view overlooking the vineyards to the relaxing music that plays overhead while you relax with a glass of wine on the patio to the delicious, homemade breakfast that the owner, Tom, makes every morning ... This should be your destination when visiting Paso Robles. Tom is the perfect host... More 

Helpful?
Thank greysfan2008
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

this location needs a lot of work. the view is nice, location is fine, but the property is not in good shape. we spend a lot of time in this area, and this is the worst place we have experienced. the woman who made breakfast was focusing on caring for the host who had just had surgery, to top it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wendolyn2014
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

sorry to hear about your less than positive experience. We continue to aim for guest satisfaction but I guessed we missed the mark with regards to your expectations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paso Robles
6.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
6.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#1 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 29 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
5.7 mi away
Honey Oak House Bed & Breakfast
9.7 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 29 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Lane, Paso Robles, CA 93446 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Price Range: $192 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay