We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Berbeda Place

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Berbeda Place
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Burlington, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed August 16, 2016

The room was at least clean when I arrived. Linens were not changed at all during a 4 night venture here for business. The location was nice and the price was right was about all that was right. Pictures did not reflect what was rented. Seems a single room was renovated and that is the one that they show.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith C
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Keith from Burlington, We are glad to hear you found our location to be convenient and pricing of great value. We are also glad to hear you found our establishment to be clean however your remark ‘the room was at least clean when I arrived’ is mean-spirited. You were given the room that you booked and were provided with...

San Diego
Reviewed November 9, 2015

This is another one of those 1950's\1960s motels that has been refinished to appear to be a more upscale property in order to charge high-end hotel rates. If this were any location other than Palo Alto, there would be no way you would pay over $250\night for these rooms, but since it is Palo Alto you have no choice. Is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlton858
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Carlton858, Thank you for your candid feedback and we understand your opinion. Glad to hear you found our property to be safe and location advantageous during your stay; furthermore our accommodations to be neat and clean. Our pricing is in tune with the Palo Alto/Silicon Valley/Peninsula/San Francisco Bay Area market as we are located in the heart of Silicon...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed July 9, 2015

Check-in was super friendly. Although a motel, it has a family type ambiance. All rooms are on ground level. Room was super clean - comfortable bed-linen.I saw the hotel the mixed reviews and was a little concerned b4 I arrived. I need not have been concerned. If your disposition is to see the glass as half full... then you will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank raydm2015
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear raydm2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel in our Signature Room. It was our pleasure to serve you and should you visit Palo Alto again in the future, we look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely, Mike, GM

Mountain View, California
Reviewed April 26, 2015

The room was okay and clean - nothing to complain or brag about. However, the staff made it a point to make the 4-night stay end in a nightmare. They added on unnecessary charges without informing me, and when I questioned about it politely at the checkout, the manager started raising his voice, and then out of nowhere asked me...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aayushkumar
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Mr. Kumar, There is no need to make false and defamatory comments because you were penalized for neglecting our policies, those which you were made aware of on the first day by the Manager (me). Further, given your review it's ironic you stayed all 4 nights without any complaints, especially when you claim the staff was rude and were provided...

UK
Reviewed February 7, 2015

Okay this is a more motel than hotel but don't let this put you off. The owner checked me in and made me feel very welcome and informed me that he had already upgraded my room. The room I was given was clean and well maintained. The room service was very efficient too. One thing which a lot of hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zedbiker
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Zedbiker from the UK, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are all delighted that you had such a positive experience at our hotel and that we met your expectations in every regard. As to your comment regarding the sign, it was necessary to do so as we have seen many guests that place...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 19, 2015

The room was beautiful... but the carpet had a weird rubbery feel, the walls thin and the heater noisy. But it's impossible to find a room for less than a fortune in Palo Alto and that was the only place I could find!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Stephan from Toronto, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. Thank you for your compliments on our 'beautiful motel and rooms'. We have worked really hard to get to this point thus are truly concerned with your feedback. In regards to your comment about the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our employees frequently stay at Berbeda Place while doing business in Palo Alto. In preparation for their trip I work with Mike Jr. to make all reservations, and he always makes reserving rooms easy and offers a great rate. In addition, I can always reach him if I need to make a special request for a room, add on more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caitlin S
New York City, New York
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's a great, family-run establishment with all the necessities - clean rooms, clean bathrooms, iron, hair dryer, flat screen TV. A great hidden gem that I would recommend to anyone looking for a no-frills, no-nonsense place to stay in Palo Alto.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy K
Mount Airy, Maryland
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I see the other reviews and they seem a bit harsh. I was actually surprised that the room was as clean as it was. I looked for 'surprises' and couldn't find any. Granted, this isn't the Hilton. However, it had a very clean bathroom/shower, nice clean/big bed, huge TV (that I never used), a clean/working iron/ironing board and air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rj2345
Guildford
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Do not book this MOTEL. It is not a hotel and the rate at $275 a night is outrageous. I arrived and then spent the next 2 hours trying to find somewhere else to stay. The sheets were dirty and smelt like someone else had already slept in them, not to mention hairs! I have nothing positive to say about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ming1964
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
0.0 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#22 of 27 in Palo Alto
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Berbeda Place is a mid-century motor court built in the late 40's rehabilitated and refreshed into a quaint boutique with an ultra-modern and desert chic vibe located in the birthplace of Silicon Valley near world re-known Stanford University. Berbeda Place is the premier Silicon Valley motel that redefines the traditional 'motel' stay into a different and memorable experience for the solo traveler on the go. Inspired by everything old and new, our beautiful accommodations are well suited to exceed expectations of first time guests as well as repeat clients. You will be intrigued by our motel's unique design with distinctive architectural features and a Southern California style open-air layout! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berbeda Place

Address: 3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2804
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Price Range: $211 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berbeda Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Berbeda Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Berbeda Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“don't stay in room 27... it's so nice, i want to keep it for myself!!!”
 of 5 bubbles raydm2015, Jul 9, 2015 | Read review
“Rude staff, horrible policies”
 of 5 bubbles aayushkumar, Apr 26, 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in room 27.”
 of 5 bubbles rj2345, Sep 6, 2013 | Read review
“Rooms off the street and in back are in the middle of the block, and away from traffic and noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Philclock, May 7, 2012 | Read review
“My preference is always Non-smoking with a king Bed.”
 of 5 bubbles vraider4rwc, Jan 13, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay