We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oak Motel Palo Alto

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oak Motel Palo Alto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a nice time. Its clean, central. The staff are friendly and helpful. Its no frills but that's ok - it also means its no fuss. The neighbourhood s relatively quiet. I walked a lot and I found plenty of places for dinner, breakfast etc. The staff were very helpful and really helped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
TriBeCa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two night here on business only because it was last minute and my options were very limited. Given the choice again I would opt for sleeping in my car rather than spending $200 a night on this dump. This place is a tribute to the nineties which is when the carpet and bedding were likely last updated, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdavek
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Again, we're sorry you had this impression of us. We're all about comfort, cleanliness, and affordability here, and I hope we get another chance in the future to welcome you back and show you how great a stay with us truly is. Take care 'til then. Best, Oak Motel More 

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

After looking at the Motel's website I made a reservation for a multi-day stay by calling the Motel. A significant issue noted as I went to my room was there was some maintenance going on with construction workers doing major things on the property. This was not disclosed on the website, nor when I made my reservation. Also, the property... More 

Helpful?
Thank hiker2016a
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We know we aren't the fanciest place, but we do our best to provide each and every one of our guests with a clean, cozy, and affordable place to stay when they're visiting the area, and if that wasn't your experience, then we could have done better. You're right -- we should have informed you of the light renovations taking... More 

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Location of motel is excellent. Two queen beds were comfortable. Toaster and microwave available for breakfast of bread, jam, butter, coffee and OJ. Bedding and towels should all be disposed of. Bedspreads and sheets were threadbare, as well as "curtains." Sheets had holes. Carpeting was dirty. Shower was dreadful. Towels were rough and also threadbare. We stayed for the low... More 

Helpful?
Thank TinaBoynton
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're glad you were a fan of our location, our beds, and our prices, Tina, and we appreciate your feedback regarding our sheets and towels. Your comfort is always our top priority, and we're glad to have your input on what we could be doing to make your next stay even better. It sounds like you have your mind made... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Initial checkin had problem as my arrival was informed by phone but it was not communicated to the reception. The stay and the room is pleasant the room was clean and the facilities promised are as expected. Decent place to stay for short trips.

Helpful?
Thank 227praveent
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're so sorry about the initial hiccup, but we're glad to know that all turned out well in the end! It was a pleasure to have you over, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kindest regards, Oak Motel More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

I have to travel a lot for business, and in this area I struggle to stay within the travel budget given by my company. This is simply one of the most expensive areas in the US and this little motel fit the bill. Is this motel like staying at a 4 seasons? No, but it is a good motel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

It's always our pleasure, Rob! You're right -- we aren't the fanciest place, but if we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable room for a great price, then we definitely did our job. More than happy to welcome you back for another stay any time you're in the area again. All the best till then, Oak Motel More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

The motel is the cheapest in the area as I had to book a few days in advance.The rooms are very old but the bath tub and the room were generally clean. The coffee machine wasn't clean though also the cleanliness of the cover of the sheets was questionable. Wifi was fast and for free. Parking was for free as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Patrick, thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but we were sorry to hear you won't be returning. As you mentioned, we are the most affordable motel in the area, and we know we aren't the fanciest place, but if we could provide you with a safe, comfortable, and convenient stay, then... More 

Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The staff is rude, the rooms are old and smelly. Not up to fire code either. The bathtub was full of mold and the bed very lumpy and squeeky. Booked through expedia, got a refund it was so bad. No smoke detector or emergency exit signs.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Hi, Lisa. It sounds like we've already addressed most of your concerns in the review below, and we're sorry if you weren't more impressed with your stay, but once again let us emphasize that we do indeed have smoke detectors in each room and all rooms are up to fire and safety codes. The last thing we'd ever want is... More 

Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Was looking for an inexpensive room to stay in after having a procedure at the VA Palo Alto Hospital as we live 175 miles away. The room was horrible......staff is rude!! Shower full of mold, reserved a smoking room, got non smoking. The motel was full so could not change rooms. The room was old and smelled weird. Dirty curtains... More 

Helpful?
Thank westsideink
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We really wish you'd been more impressed with your stay, because this is never the experience we want our guests to have, and we're sorry if there were any miscommunications between you and our staff while you were here. It sounds like there were some issues with your room that we would have been more than happy to get sorted... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We didn't book a motel in advance and ended up in this motel. $110 including tax for this room is far overpriced. As others suggested,the owners are rather scary and very unhelpful. We stayed in the comfort inn two days later-lovely room and breakfast plus is was cheaper despite not booking in advance! Please don't bother with this motel!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Reg191
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Unhelpful is never what we want to hear. We're sorry if our staff didn't make you feel welcome here. We're starting to remodel the motel right now so we can offer you a better stay in the future. I hope you'll come try out our new and improved rooms! All the best, Oak Motel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
1.3 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palo Alto Inn
The Palo Alto Inn
#24 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oak Motel Palo Alto in CA offers newly remodeled guestrooms, continental breakfast, and a variety of amenities for a great price to ensure you will enjoy a perfect night's sleep! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oak Motel Palo Alto

Address: 4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4400
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Price Range: $160 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Motel Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Oak Motel Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay