We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Oak Motel Palo Alto

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oak Motel Palo Alto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location of motel is excellent. Two queen beds were comfortable. Toaster and microwave available for breakfast of bread, jam, butter, coffee and OJ. Bedding and towels should all be disposed of. Bedspreads and sheets were threadbare, as well as "curtains." Sheets had holes. Carpeting was dirty. Shower was dreadful. Towels were rough and also threadbare. We stayed for the low... More 

Helpful?
Thank TinaBoynton
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're glad you were a fan of our location, our beds, and our prices, Tina, and we appreciate your feedback regarding our sheets and towels. Your comfort is always our top priority, and we're glad to have your input on what we could be doing to make your next stay even better. It sounds like you have your mind made... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Initial checkin had problem as my arrival was informed by phone but it was not communicated to the reception. The stay and the room is pleasant the room was clean and the facilities promised are as expected. Decent place to stay for short trips.

Helpful?
Thank 227praveent
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're so sorry about the initial hiccup, but we're glad to know that all turned out well in the end! It was a pleasure to have you over, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kindest regards, Oak Motel More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

I have to travel a lot for business, and in this area I struggle to stay within the travel budget given by my company. This is simply one of the most expensive areas in the US and this little motel fit the bill. Is this motel like staying at a 4 seasons? No, but it is a good motel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

It's always our pleasure, Rob! You're right -- we aren't the fanciest place, but if we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable room for a great price, then we definitely did our job. More than happy to welcome you back for another stay any time you're in the area again. All the best till then, Oak Motel More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

The motel is the cheapest in the area as I had to book a few days in advance.The rooms are very old but the bath tub and the room were generally clean. The coffee machine wasn't clean though also the cleanliness of the cover of the sheets was questionable. Wifi was fast and for free. Parking was for free as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Patrick, thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but we were sorry to hear you won't be returning. As you mentioned, we are the most affordable motel in the area, and we know we aren't the fanciest place, but if we could provide you with a safe, comfortable, and convenient stay, then... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The staff is rude, the rooms are old and smelly. Not up to fire code either. The bathtub was full of mold and the bed very lumpy and squeeky. Booked through expedia, got a refund it was so bad. No smoke detector or emergency exit signs.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Hi, Lisa. It sounds like we've already addressed most of your concerns in the review below, and we're sorry if you weren't more impressed with your stay, but once again let us emphasize that we do indeed have smoke detectors in each room and all rooms are up to fire and safety codes. The last thing we'd ever want is... More 

Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Was looking for an inexpensive room to stay in after having a procedure at the VA Palo Alto Hospital as we live 175 miles away. The room was horrible......staff is rude!! Shower full of mold, reserved a smoking room, got non smoking. The motel was full so could not change rooms. The room was old and smelled weird. Dirty curtains... More 

Helpful?
Thank westsideink
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We really wish you'd been more impressed with your stay, because this is never the experience we want our guests to have, and we're sorry if there were any miscommunications between you and our staff while you were here. It sounds like there were some issues with your room that we would have been more than happy to get sorted... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We didn't book a motel in advance and ended up in this motel. $110 including tax for this room is far overpriced. As others suggested,the owners are rather scary and very unhelpful. We stayed in the comfort inn two days later-lovely room and breakfast plus is was cheaper despite not booking in advance! Please don't bother with this motel!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Reg191
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Unhelpful is never what we want to hear. We're sorry if our staff didn't make you feel welcome here. We're starting to remodel the motel right now so we can offer you a better stay in the future. I hope you'll come try out our new and improved rooms! All the best, Oak Motel More 

Visalia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

To be honest it was passable because I was traveling with 2 other guys on a road trip for the UCLA vs. Stanford game and it did the trick. However, not a place to take your wife and kids. It was expensive because of the game and it was homecoming. Not worth half the price we paid. Small rooms, old... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Proudirishdad
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're so disappointed to hear this. While we're glad it did the trick while you were in town for the game, just passable is never what we like to hear. Are you in the area often? We're currently renovating so we'd love to have you back and see what you think of our updated rooms! Hoping to have you back,... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The lower level units revealed a high degree of sound from the unit above. A little tight in interior space but worked for one person if all you were going to do was sleep. The comfort of the bed was very good and the shower provided very good water pressure, just a little tight in room. The room was set-up... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip L
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, Phillip. We're happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one. We're actually renovating right now, so hopefully next time you stay with us will be less cramped and even more comfortable! Hope to have you back soon, Oak Motel More 

Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely the worst experience I have ever had! Disgusting rooms, smelly and dirty! Management is extremely rude and on the scary side! DO NOT STAY HERE! It is dirty and not safe! If no other choice, stay in your car! At least you will not have to worry about scary managers and rats in your room! Run from this place,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Monica K
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

As you can imagine, I'm disheartened to hear this, Monica. We hold our cleaning staff to a high standard, so I'm disappointed that your room wasn't up to par. We've heard your complaints and are working on remodeling right now. I hope you'll give us another shot next time you're in Palo Alto and come see our new amenities! Hoping... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glass Slipper Inn
Glass Slipper Inn
#27 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oak Motel Palo Alto in CA offers newly remodeled guestrooms, continental breakfast, and a variety of amenities for a great price to ensure you will enjoy a perfect night's sleep! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oak Motel Palo Alto

Address: 4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Price Range: $148 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Motel Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oak Motel Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay