We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Royal Sun Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sun Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Burbank, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I decided to take my parents for a little vacation to Palm spring I am very very disappointed I wish I would have stayed some where else my parents are disabled so I asked the girl at front desk Janne if we could please have 2 room close by each other she was very rude person she said no I... More 

Helpful?
Thank katrindavoodians
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Very rude staff. Poor breakfast. Room quite spacious and comfortable bed. I would recommend it just for max couple of nights. We didn't pay much but our friends stayed in The Monroe Palm Springs and were much more happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rasyma88
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because of some issue with our staff and because you didn't like the free breakfast. Still, I'm glad you would recommend our hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Several reviews mention how run down and in need of renovation the hotel required. The owners are apparently listening as we have almost no complaints with our room on the second floor. We have a nice balcony overlooking the Moorten Botanical Gardens and beautiful mountain range. If you want a room overlooking the pool, you'll need to reserve a room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and I’m very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you in the future if you visit the area again, and... More 

Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

I have stayed at many hotels around Palm Springs but always seem to come back to the Royal Sun. The rooms are big, great views and the pool area is nice and clean. They always seem to be doing updates and I enjoy the waffles for breakfast. For the money its a good hotel. The rooms come with a fridge,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PineappleShagette
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and for being a long-term guest. I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and I’m very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you... More 

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Stayed here in the past and LOVED it. What went wrong this time: Toilet wouldn't flush half the time. Husband tinkered in the tank to flush it; if I was alone I would have demanded another room. I did not complain because I'm sure that the cleaning staff knows it and has reported it. Shower head had little pressure and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Portegee
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and for being a long-term guest. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down, I apologize. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

I would strongly recommend that the manager spend serious money to re do the rooms, carpet, disgusting and stained as well as the chairs. Bedding seriously needs replacing, blankets had holes in them which we did not see till in the morning, Shower curtain well worn and stained - come on - not that expensive to replace. While there is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank canadianinriyadh
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our busy hotel here in Palm Springs. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable and that our hotel made a poor impression on you. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure... More 

Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

I can't give this hotel even one star, but I did. I have traveled throughout the entire world and have never had such a horrific experience in a hotel before. 1. When i arrived, I asked the clerk at the front desk if I can get some help with my luggage because I am traveling with my sister and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMN1955
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

San Antonio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Stayed here for three nights back at the end of February. For a solo traveler, my room was spacious with two queen size beds. Room also had amenities such as a flat screen television, small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Bed was OK; very firm mattress and thin blanket. Bathroom was clean, adequately stocked with enough towels and good water... More 

Helpful?
Thank STEVEN D
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m very pleased that you had a nice experience with us. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do so many others each day. Thanks again for your pleasant feedback and we look forward to... More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

I just checked Expedia's definition of two stars and this facility fits the definition. Clean and in good condition. Quiet. View from the balcony of the hills is great. See attached photo. I chose the location because it was close to the people I was visiting. I would stay again, alone, but not with my wife. A bit too plain.

Helpful?
Thank Retired-to-Manhattan
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Glad to hear you found our place clean and quiet as we know those are the most important things to most travelers. I’m happy to hear that you would stay with us again, as we would be happy to have you. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Average hotel. The room was simple and relatively clean. The view from the porch was nice, and the hotel is in close proximity to the Morten Botanical Gardens. The Wi-Fi was not up to par and the bedding was old. Would not recommend for an extended stay.

Helpful?
Thank Abraham G
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinions. We are happy to hear of your pleasant stay in our hotel. We take pride in offering our guests a high degree of comfort and are happy to hear that our location was to your liking. I apologize for the wi-fi not being up to par as I know this can be very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#36 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#42 of 70 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
1.3 mi away
CCO Hotel & Suites Downtown
CCO Hotel & Suites Downtown
#51 of 70 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Palm Springs
Knights Inn Palm Springs
#13 of 26 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Musicland Hotel
Musicland Hotel
#26 of 26 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#30 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Price Range: $57 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay