We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Sun Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sun Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 days while exploring Palm Springs. Room: very good. No visible issues. Hot water: plenty of it. Check in: smooth. Security: no issues. Parking: good - near room. Breakfast: standard (marginally healthy "continental" fare). Pool: excellent. Clean. Not over-chlorinated. Huge hot tube to soak away the day's aches and pains. WiFi: good reception. Not as fast as... More 

Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled222
Management response:

Dear Guest, I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent November 4 - 7, 2016 at the Royal Sun. I have stayed here in the past and have always found it friendly and convenient to downtown venues that are of interest to me. Downtown is just 1.5-2 miles on N Palm Canyon Dr. (Thursday through Sunday there is the stop in front of the hotel for the free... More 

Helpful?
Thank drusso
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay.We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I truly enjoy my stay here, I stayed in 306 over looking the mountain with over size balcony, king bed, microwave and refrigerator, room is big, bed is comfortable, I slept well, breakfast is decent, hotel is dated but is well kept is definitely better than motel 6, for the price I paid it was more than enough, I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank oceanrfrizz
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words.so pleased that you found us pleasant and helpful. I hope you will tell others about our property and stay with us again the next time you’re in town. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

We are return visitors to this motel. It certainly gives good value. The room was spacious and clean......the rooms could do with a little update though. The bed wss extremely comfortable. Breakfast is adequate. The location is very good as it is close to many attractions and general shopping needs. If a three and a half star rating was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RhellieKeith
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so pleased that you find us a clean and pleasant place to stay. I’m glad we could satisfy you.We’ll be here for you when you need us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Kampen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to LA. Got to sleep in a big room with a huge kingsize bed. Had a very good sleep there. Nice pool area, very simple breakfast in the morning. The bathroom seemed old and the shower had little pressure. Some of the furniture had ripped upholstery but nothing too major. Good for one night.

Helpful?
Thank Marahx
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us.I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay.We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

St. Albert
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The Royal Sun is a cut below the Motel6/Super 8 quality of motels. The room was OK. Clean, spacious, quiet, good maid service, fridge and microwave. The Royal Sun web site lists a safe but there was not one in our room. Parking was convenient. We had little interaction with staff but they all seemed pleasant and friendly. Air Con... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. I’m glad we could take care of things for you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

This was perfect for a long weekend in Palm Springs. Really cheap and on free trolley route with botanical gardens across the street. Nothing fancy or anything, but would stay there again if it is that cheap compared to everything else nearby.

Helpful?
Thank MatthewM2001
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for providing us with the encouraging feedback. It is very important for us to know what our guests think of us and it affirming to have such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Also, we hope you will recommend us to your friends and families. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at The Royal Sun Inn many times and it really is a little gem, wonderful value in an expensive town. Each time we visit there has been a little more upgrading and this year see's new pool area furniture, USB sockets in the room and swipe entry key cards. I also thought the wifi had improved from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay and nice comment. It’s our pleasure to have you as your guest. Please do visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Burbank, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2016

I decided to take my parents for a little vacation to Palm spring I am very very disappointed I wish I would have stayed some where else my parents are disabled so I asked the girl at front desk Janne if we could please have 2 room close by each other she was very rude person she said no I... More 

Helpful?
Thank katrindavoodians
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down despite our efforts, I apologize. We have taken... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2016

Very rude staff. Poor breakfast. Room quite spacious and comfortable bed. I would recommend it just for max couple of nights. We didn't pay much but our friends stayed in The Monroe Palm Springs and were much more happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rasyma88
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because of some issue with our staff and because you didn't like the free breakfast. Still, I'm glad you would recommend our hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#51 of 71 in Palm Springs
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#40 of 71 in Palm Springs
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#56 of 71 in Palm Springs
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Palm Springs
Knights Inn Palm Springs
#11 of 26 in Palm Springs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Price Range: $56 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Surprise, Arizona

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Budget motel at a mid range price under some circumstances. Read the fine print!! If you can get it at a budget rate then it is OK.”
 of 5 bubbles DClayton, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool and mountains each have two beds. Suites are on the end of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4482QTmarkr, May 20, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles PineappleShagette, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“I did not have a car. I was on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Retired-to-Manhattan, Mar 28, 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are the same except for the choice of bed configurations.”
 of 5 bubbles LewisE725, Feb 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay