We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
339 S Belardo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-7307
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$220
Tripadvisor$220
eDreams
Booking.com$220
Travelocity$220
Trip.com$468
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (457)
Room & Suite (122)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 78 hotels in Palm Springs
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Originally built in 1933, this Historic Hotel sits on over an acre of beautiful landscaped grounds in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, walking distance to the famous Palm Canyon Drive, where you will find the best restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Redeveloped as a luxury hotel in 2016 by award winning architect, May Sung, with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. Each piece of furniture and all materials and finishes have been carefully handpicked by interior design group, Avenue Interior Design. The stunning San Jacinto Mountains are the backdrop for this luxury boutique hotel. The secluded private villas each have a private patio, complete with a romantic claw foot tub, fire-pit and built in seating. Our 18 guest villas, Whispers Spa, Azucar restaurant and bar, and our roof top deck are all designed to create your ultimate Palm Springs getaway. 21 and Over Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Couples massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Mountain View
350Reviews15Q+A72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 318
  • 12
  • 8
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tim L wrote a review Aug 10
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
We came here to celebrate a birthday. As soon as we arrived, we went to the pool. It was HOT out! The owners of the hotel came out and gave us a big bucket of ice, as well as free champagne! After we lounged and drank by the pool a bit, we went to the rooms and were so excited as each room has its own front porch area and back, private tub and lounge area. So fun! We walked downtown Palm Springs for dinner and even had a breakfast delivered to our room the next morning that was a perfect way to start our day. If we come back to Palm Springs, we are definitely staying at La Serena again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded 6 days ago
We're so happy to hear you had a great birthday celebration with us and were able to keep cool. We hope it becomes an annual tradition where you spend your birthday with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elise S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked this hotel for our first trip to Palm Springs. So I will preface this review by saying that some of these critiques may just be the nature of Palm Springs, but regardless they're major pain points. The hotel was EXPENSIVE, like I'm talking >$500 per night. I get it was over a holiday weekend, but at that price, you would expect the best of the best. So with this context, this is our feedback: Things that were great: 1) The food at Azucar is PHENOMENAL, like best food we had while we were in Palm Springs. Definitely worth the premium that they charge. The swordfish tacos and watermelon margs (even non-alch version) were our favorites 2) The staff was super attentive and ready to help, and we really appreciate that 3) Location is really good - close to lots of great restaurants and the main walking area (walking distance to everything we did that weekend) Things that just didn't work: 1) Our room was HOT, the whole time. I get that Palm Springs is inherently hot. We visited at the end of May, but at this day in age, it's just not really acceptable to say "there's no way for us to keep your room below 72 degrees", especially when charging over $500 per night. There even was a sign above the thermostat telling us not to put the temp below 70 degrees or it would break the HVAC. When we did push the limits because we couldn't even sleep, the AC didn't have good air circulation. The floor directly below the vent was freezing but the rest of the room didn't get any reprieve 2) The breakfast that was included was only ok. It does seem like they put effort in the "picnic" basket but there was no opportunity to remove cheese from the frittata (I'm lactose intolerant) or any other alterations, significantly limiting my options. Why don't they offer breakfast at Azucar? Again, for >$500 per night... 3) We were also initially attracted to and ultimately chose this location for the private patios with outdoor bathtub. But when we arrived it looked like the patio hadn't been cleaned at all. I get you can't clean every patio every day, but when you know someone is arriving? Seems like a massive miss. As such, there was very little incentive to get naked and get in that tub. 4) Mosquitos were EVERYWHERE - by the pool, around the villas, on the back porch. When we sat by the pool for a few hours, we walked away with 10+ mosquito bites. Again, I get that mosquitos can be hard to control but at >$500 a night, you figure it out. There are tons of organic and non-organic solutions to this challenge 5) The location of Azucar vs. the main pool is very weird. When you lay by the pool as a hotel guest you get ZERO privacy from outdoor patrons to the restaurant. At one point we were within 5 feet of a couple eating lunch while I was laying in a bathing suit. This is so weird for a high end hotel! Did not enjoy that. 6) After all of this, they did a horrible job charging us for our outstanding bills at Azucar. The first bill was $230 charged to my CC, without a receipt or invoice. The amount seemed really high vs. what we had eaten, so I emailed to inquire about the itemized receipt. Turns out we only spend $153. They told me they would issue a refund. Instead, they charged by card for another $117! If i hadn't been paying attention I never would've picked up on it. So at this point they owe us a refund of almost $200. It takes them over a week and multiple follow-ups on my end to finally respond saying "we will refund you for $175". I now finally have that refund on my card, but what about the remaining $20?? It's not a large amount of money but at this point it's the principle of it all... NOT good customer service for such an expensive hotel. TBD when I finally receive the remaining $20... sent my second follow-up email today. Overall, I really wanted to love this place. The photos online are adorable and it really is a cute property. But the experience was just terrible :(
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Jul 1, 2022
We're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We ask you keep run the AC's at no less than 72 degrees as it may put too much stress on the units. The AC's should keep your room nice and cool with no issues. We generally get very positive reviews about the breakfast basket we offer. We are happy to take your special requests to make sure your dietary needs are addressed. We will be sure to speak to our housekeeping staff immediately as the patios should be in pristine condition and inviting. We will be sure to check your bill right away to make sure it is corrected.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rusty T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Hotel and restaurant are wonderful. From the champagne greeting to the breakfast in bed, the stay was first class, completely relaxing and fun. Rooms are well appointed, clean and charming. The grounds are well maintained. The service is first rate. 6-stars+!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be similar and all are excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We're so excited to hear you felt like the service level was 6+. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and hope your next visit is much longer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigflirty wrote a review Jun 2022
Hermosa Beach, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
WOW what a GEM!!! My wife and I stayed here for the Memorial Weekend, and we are in HEAVEN. It was FIRST Class and service at the pool was AMAZING. The food was so tasty and the watermelon margs are hard to say no to. Rooms r very large with great style. By far the best spot in all of Palm Springs
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the watermelon margaritas. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SES wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California3 contributions
The only hotel to stay at in Palm Springs. Immaculate grounds, stunning mountain view and a villa that makes me keep coming back. The only thing better than the actual property, is the exceptional service, specifically Laura. Already planning my next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Jun 6, 2022
We're so excited to hear we are your chosen hotel to stay in Palm Springs. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrailBlazer799156 wrote a review May 2022
Petaluma, California3 contributions
While the property is lovely, we had a terrible experience with the manager. My husband and I travelled with 2 other couples. We had read the rule on their website about ‘no groups allowed.’ None of us thought that 3 couples would be considered a group. We all had separate reservations, all had 2 per room. Yet, the manager was outraged when we arrived together and threatened to kick us out. Ironically, we had also responded to their email 2 days prior, which asked who we’d be traveling with. We wrote back that we’d be traveling with friends and provided their names as well. This whole terrible experience could have been avoided if they’d called us when reading our email responses vs waiting to humiliate us when we arrived. We are all seasoned world travelers in our 50s. Never have any of us experienced such a rude welcome. While ‘allowed’ to stay, we felt unwelcome and will certainly not be back. Meanwhile, bachelorette parties sat noisily at the bar, one guest talked loudly on her phone at the pool. Yet we were called out for a rule violation?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Read all the rules carefully, and don’t travel with friends.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded May 28, 2022
We're sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable while staying with us. The rules are set in an effort to give other guests a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We don't allow phones by the pool as they tend to disturb other guests. We hope you can come back again to see what we are truly about.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlestonJellie wrote a review Apr 2022
Charleston, South Carolina135 contributions110 helpful votes
We had #15 which was perfect. We had our own hot tub and although all the casitas are close, we felt it was very private. We rented a car, but enjoyed walking to the downtown area and felt most was close by. Service in the restaurant and bar were outstanding. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Get one with a private hot tub. There was also a fireplace for cool nights.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal B, Front Office Manager at La Serena Villas
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your walks to downtown. We hope your travels bring you back to us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nichole D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Serena Villas! The villa was beautiful and comfortable. The grounds were peaceful and staff was friendly. We enjoyed massages and dining at Azucar more nights that we anticipated because the food was fantastic and atmosphere was amazing. We didn't want to leave the property! We did venture out a bit but really felt at home and had a chance to unwind by staying at La Serena Villas most of the time. We enjoyed morning hikes every day since the trail was just minutes from our villa. It was a perfect stay and we can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We're so happy to hear you felt like you were home with us. We hope your travels bring you back to us and your next stay is much longer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne S wrote a review Mar 2022
Phoenix, Arizona259 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
My Mom and I stayed in room #3 at La Serenas Villas for two nights. I’m so glad we picked this place because our experience was excellent. We received complimentary champagne on arrival and the bar inside our villa also had free tequila shots set up for us. The grounds are serene and make you feel like you’re staying at a Spanish villa. Our villa had a private entrance and we never heard a peep from any other guests. Everything was spotlessly clean. The main pool is heated so even when it’s chilly out the water temp feels perfect. We also enjoyed the large hot tub. You can order drinks from the bar while you’re in the pool area. We got a couples massage at the on site spa, Whispers. It was excellent! We ate at the on site restaurant, Azucar, the first night and loved it. The breakfast is great because you can either eat it at the restaurant or you can have it delivered to your room in a picnic basket. We took advantage of eating it in our room on both mornings. They give you coffee, OJ, fruit and yogurt parfaits, pastries, and hard-boiled eggs. The location of the resort is very central; you can easily walk to the main street where all the restaurants and retail shops are located. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Mar 18, 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We're thrilled to hear you were able to get some relaxation and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your travels bring you back to us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy C wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I spent six wonderful days at La Serena Villas. From the moment you enter this beautiful boutique hotel, it’s evident the Management understands hospitality. Every hotel employee we encountered, from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping were friendly, efficient and went beyond to make our stay the best. The rooms were spotless and complimentary tequila, lime and peanuts were waiting for us. The room’s private patio with fire pit and clawfoot tub are nice touches. Laura, the General Manager, and Jose’, the restaurant manager deserve special mention. Their kindness and attention to detail is reflected in their staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Guest Services / Front Office at La Serena Villas
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We love hearing from happy guests and glad to hear you liked our accommodations and staff. We hope your travels bring you back to us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$331 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsPalm Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Serena Villas
Which popular attractions are close to La Serena Villas?
Nearby attractions include Brandini Toffee (0.3 miles), VillageFest (0.08 miles), and Ruddy's General Store Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Serena Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Serena Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Serena Villas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Serena Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Serena Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Great Shakes, Le Vallauris, and Tyler's Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Serena Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Serena Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at La Serena Villas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to La Serena Villas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Canyons (3.5 miles), Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway (1.6 miles), and Village Green Heritage Center (0.2 miles).
Does La Serena Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.