We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
257 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6336
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Algotels
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (379)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (546)

About

#36 of 78 hotels in Palm Springs
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
Korakia is an experiential resort housed in two lovingly restored historic Moroccan and Mediterranean-style villas. A stunning location for small destination weddings and intimate group events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Spa
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast in the room
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
341Reviews22Q+A95Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 197
  • 83
  • 29
  • 18
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
handhos wrote a review Jan 2023
Atlanta, Georgia117 contributions151 helpful votes
I was here for a business meeting and maybe I just had the luck of a really bad room, but it made for 2 very hard nights. The property is 100 years old which I understand, but nothing in my room had been renovated. The bathroom looked like it might be original. I am 5’10 and had to practically do a back bend to get my head under the shower. The room was right off the lobby and the walls might have well been paper…I could everything going on in the kitchen and outside….even when I put in earplugs. Also, I felt very nervous from a safety perspective. The curtains didn’t cover the windows and you could see through them, so anyone walking past my room could see in if they tried at all. I kind of hid on the floor on the other side of my bed to get dressed. You wouldn’t have needed more than a light kick to get into my room too which was not a great feeling. And, the A/C was a wall unit that kept kicking on all night long very loudly. So, again the property is pretty, but the room was dreadful. I found out later that one of my peers who had gotten there earlier had been assigned that room and due to all the reasons I mentioned, required they move her.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen R wrote a review Nov 2022
Portland, Oregon2 contributions
What an exotic, yet restful place to stay. A beautiful setting with a close up view of the mountains, an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Palm Springs, plus friendly, attentive service, and the pensione's resident cat's frequent, plus all the little acts of kindness from the staff. I cannot wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
zentrvl wrote a review Nov 2022
Chicago19 contributions4 helpful votes
This boutique hotel is only a 5 minute walk from downtown Palm Springs, but so quiet and relaxing. There are so many places on the property to chill and hang out. Yoga outside of our room was amazing. They even provided a mat at no charge We loved the Mediterranean vibe. Enjoy the history and embrace it. Sets this place apart from others. The candles lit around the property and the fire ts were so romantic. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee left outside your door in the early am always had a special message. The "you are magic " was my favorite. The absolute best part was the staff. You all were so awesome. Hope to see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Quiet and relaxing. No big pool parties.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maisie M wrote a review Oct 2022
3 helpful votes
Our room lacked the 3 things every hotel room should have: a working shower, privacy and a comfy bed. We were eventually able to move rooms but can’t understand how that room was being offered to guests. We accidentally left a shirt behind and they have ignored our emails and failed to return any calls…. Very disappointing and frustrating customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
d h wrote a review Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
I have been a guest at Korakia several times over the past fifteen years. There was a moment, shortly after covid, that it seemed the property was a bit off. Either the manager, Auric Road, or both have solved the issues. Korakia is back and better than ever. Korakia has all its original magic with many thoughtful upgrades. WHAT I LOVE The unique rooms Delicious Breakfast Coffee or tea is delivered to your room every morning (this is a lovely new touch!) Thoughtful details like a small, dried wildflower bouquet delivered to my room, chilled rosemary towels at the pool, fruit kabobs delivered poolside, and more. Privacy. I really feel like I am away from it all. Great walking and biking neighborhood. Walkable to excellent restaurants like ZIN Thoughtful, exceptional staff. The views of the mountain Peace and tranquility Did I mention the tranquility? REVIEWS OF SPECIFIC ROOMS I HAVE STAYED IN Acropolis - lovely, fairly private, bright, wonderful bed Sahara Suite - Huge, good space to work remotely, very private, great tub, dimly lit, but it is like staying in your own apartment. Not my favorite but maybe the most functional. Atlas - Small, bright, perfect for one person, right by the pool. While not the most private, the room is really lovely and has a great vibe. The upstairs studios - are my favorites. Don't stay there. Byzantium - is the only room I genuinely don't like. Not enough light and no breathing room on either side. I could hear my neighbors all night. Ionean - large, bright, and lovely but not private enough for my taste. Sparta - small yet more private than other rooms and thus, more my style. A comfy bed and close to the med pool. There are several other room wonderful (and even better!) room options at Korakia. These are just the rooms I have been fortunate enough to stay in. I often book at the last minute and imagine if I booked in advance, I could be pickier. Even with my whimsical room choices, I have been satisfied time and again over the course of more than a decade. The quality of every hotel experience is somewhat determined by the room - location, view, etc. At Korakia that is as true as anywhere els. But, here you have the gift of being able to research the experience of other guests and book the rooms by name. Korakia is a beautiful place to unplug and enjoy a truly unique experience . If you are looking for a more traditional hotel experience, this may not be for you. It is intimate and one of a kind - akin to a boutique hotel in a small European town. It is also my favorite place in Palm Springs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephanie C wrote a review Oct 2022
Manhattan Beach, California293 contributions30 helpful votes
Great aesthetic but ultimately just too small and uncomfortable for us. The pool area is tiny and crammed with loungers so it’s claustrophobic being so close to strangers. Our first day the pool had been taken over by an obnoxious bachelorette party that dragged their loungers around the pool steps so no one else could access them, then ate takeout and bags of chips, leaving the cartons and open bags everywhere. We upgraded to a bigger and nicer room (artist suite) which saved the short trip. The smaller rooms look tiny and open directly to the pool area and tiny walkway. Breakfast was decent but it was odd that they told us it was “first come first served.” I’m not sure if that meant they run out or what. Overall a beautiful look but not worth anywhere near what we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid Adobe suite. it’s like in the middle of the pool area and tiny.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Christine L wrote a review Aug 2022
Huntington Beach, California12 contributions
+1
I love this place. I have wanted to stay for a few years and it exceeded my expectations which were high. The korakia girls are so nice and helpful but not in the way when you’re trying to relax. My room the Bedouin suite was lovely and had the most amazing large stone tub. Which was a treat at the end of a hot desert day. 24 hour pools made it so I could have late night and early morning swims. There is no tv or phone and for someone trying to decompress this was perfect. Breakfast was really good ( and included) Lulu who helped me both days was attentive and made sure I was happy and my drink was always filled. The grounds are filled with all sorts of beautiful rocks, flowers, trees ,and are lit up by lanterns every night.plus you can’t beat the beauty of the desert sunrise and sunset. If you are thinking of coming do and do it as soon as you can. HOWEVER! If you are expecting the same experience as a large resort this isn’t for you. It’s a small place and is staffed for it. There is no tv, phone, or room service. That being said if you want to have the feel of a retreat without the pushy activity director this it. For what they don’t have they compensate for :old moves by the pool, meditation, yoga, coffee delivered to your room every morning, 24 hour pools, and amazing A/C. Added bonus it’s really close to downtown PS. Especially the Palm Springs Art Museum (my favorite)I will be back ❤️🌞
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Monarrez, General Manager at Korakia Pensione
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We work really hard to make sure that our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their time away. Please come stay with us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kennedy B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We stayed at the Korakia for a few days and while it was a very aesthetically pleasing spot, it felt like it could use quite a few improvements. Our first impression of the hotel was it was much smaller than the pictures would suggest. It also felt run down, despite the fact that the hotel itself is on the newer side. The staff also feels a bit scattered. They were really sweet but a lot of the "Korakia Girls" felt underexperienced. They have a lot of cute amenities like fruit kabobs by the pool and fresh coffee in the morning. But a lot of this just feels like it's for Instagram. The actual room was nice, but there's so much light and absolutely no ability to block it. I had trouble sleeping past 6 a.m., which was not my favorite considering this was a vacation I wanted to relax. Our room was also right next to the courtyard, so at 8 a.m. sharp there was so much noise. The pool also plays music starting at 8 a.m. so if you have any rooms near the pool or courtyard, don't expect to be able to sleep in. Also the "pool side lunch" has a 38% upcharge because you're ordering from a nearby caterer, not the hotel. This was an unpleasant surprise. Our bathroom was very pretty, but not super practical. The door didn't have a lock and wouldn't close all the way so don't expect to much privacy if you're sharing the room. The stone shower looks beautiful, but gets super slick with the water. I nearly slipped in the shower multiple times! The windows in the bathroom are also super short, so if you're over 5'10" chances are your head will be seen by outside on lookers. One of the main pro's is how close you are to downtown Palm Springs. We chose to walk a couple times, but even if you wanted to drive there's a 3 hour parking lot right at the edge of the road. Overall, the experience was fun but I wouldn't recommend it for a true vacation. It's great if you're trying to get good pictures!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose the mediterranean side not near the pool if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Monarrez, General Manager at Korakia Pensione
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We will look at all of your suggestions closely as we are always working to be better. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timothi Jane G wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution5 helpful votes
First off let me say that Korakia Pensione has always been one of our favorite hotels. My first visit was in 1999 when they had fewer rooms. I and my husband have visited them throughout the years because of the unique experience offered. Its a Mediterranean/ Tangiers style experience in the heart of Southern California. It reminds of us of the years we spent living in Greece. It's appeal for us was its rustic rough around the edges vibe. The fact that it wasn't four or five star. The raw wood, the stone, the morroccan mint tea and cucumber water served throughout the day. It had more of a simple laid back vibe than the rest of Palm Springs. Would I say that Korakia has ever been a 4 or 5 star hotel? No. Although the beds are super comfy, many of the rooms are tiny and basic. The cushions and furniture are worn. Which is its charm. When the rooms were $300 and up depending on the season, that made sense, but now even off season the smallest rooms in the middle of August are close to $500 a night. Thats just outrageous and shows a real disconnect for us. So we no longer go. Which is heartbreaking. But we just cant justify that price for what you get. It seems lots of folks are saying the same thing. I hope they will lower their prices in the future. Maybe recouping money lost during Covid. But still. We will miss it. So sad.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Monarrez, General Manager at Korakia Pensione
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Thank you for your review. Our prices reflect the comparable hotels in the area during the season you inquired about. In the future we hope that you reach out to us directly as we would love to have our regular guests back to stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristina wrote a review Apr 2022
Vancouver Island, Canada21 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
A very quaint, chill place to wind down. Far enough away not to hear traffic etc but close enough to walk to town. Love the breakfasts and the little extras like night turn down service , fresh fruit skewers. Great European vibe, love the bungalows and the pool was great. Only complaint was the noise from the unit above. We were in the Atlas bungalow on bottom floor. Noise upstairs was sometimes unbearable. Next time we’ll stay in an upstairs unit or a bungalow with no upstairs unit. Very lovely time for 4 days!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulette Monarrez, General Manager at Korakia Pensione
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Thank you so much for your review! It was lovely having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$438 - $786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
korakia pensione hotel palm springs
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsPalm Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KORAKIA PENSIONE - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Palm Springs, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Korakia Pensione
Which popular attractions are close to Korakia Pensione?
Nearby attractions include Palm Springs Art Museum (0.3 miles), VillageFest (0.3 miles), and Palm Springs Historical Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Korakia Pensione?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Korakia Pensione?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Korakia Pensione?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Korakia Pensione?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Korakia Pensione?
Conveniently located restaurants include Great Shakes, Le Vallauris, and Spencer's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Korakia Pensione?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Korakia Pensione?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Canyons (3.7 miles), Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway (1.5 miles), and Village Green Heritage Center (0.3 miles).