We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 352: English reviews
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveled to Monterey from SF Bay area. Rented two rooms one suite for my family and one king for my father traveling with us in the same car. Upon checking in we quickly realized there was a foul smell of sewer coming from the bathroom. Brown water had begun to fill the tub. I called the front desk and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaphneyM1
Fremont, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice accommodations, blocks from the ocean. We had a fireplace room, which was nice. Recently remodeled, but one complaint. The door opens into the bathroom just inches from the shower. To reach the toilet, you need to open the shower door, step into the shower, then close the door. Don't know if other rooms are like thst. Free breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartyCJr
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! The fireplace room, bathrooms are a little tight with the bathroom/shower doors opening into each other this is the reason the shower door can also swing inward as well as out. End rooms on lodge side have larger bathrooms where this is not an issue. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed...

Benicia, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel several times, usually 2 or 3 nights per visit. We have had maintenance issues which we have always mention to the hotel staff hoping that it will be fixed before our next visit. We just spent 2 nights there and have decided to throw in the towel and not return to this hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DameJulie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this lodge this month for a quick over-night stay. We opened the glass door (screen door was broken) and to our surprise, we were literally by a cemetery. The beds were comfy and our stay was peaceful...it was just a little hard to 'not be freaked out' by the fact that we're by a cemetery :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a guest review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beds and a peaceful stay. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stay here as often as we can. Close to the ocean, golf courses and 17 Mile drive. We had a mule deer visit our doorstep a buck with a huge rack and can watch the deer run along the golf course. Peaceful place to stay. Comfy bed, great breakfast and atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefani S
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's amazing the amount of deer we have had around the property this year so glad you were able to see some during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Traveling to my second favorite get away on the Monterey Peninsula. Close to the tide pools, 17 mile drive and Pacific Grove. Near the lighthouse and golf course. The only down side is being next to a cemetery. Good size breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese offering. Great place if you want to host a family get together. Pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlt_scorp
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Monterey area.

Elma, NY
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We originally booked 2 nights at the hotel, but ended up leaving after the first night. The room was okay, a little dated. We arrived after 9 PM and were assigned a room with a very noisy toilet that wouldn't stop running. We called the front desk, but there was no maintenance working that late at night and the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akm930
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about your experience. We set out to make each guest experience memorable and satisfying and in your case we certainly did not achieve that. I'd like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and our tardiness in resolving them. I did not receive any emails regarding your stay....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This Inn has two separate sides...the Lodge and the Cottages (somewhat pricier). We have stayed at both, but in recent years have stayed only in the cabins, which are well furnished, including a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. They are also are very clean. The cabins have a back patio area and ours had some occasional guests: a doe, a fawn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Embucado
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Thank you,

Modesto, California
Reviewed October 20, 2016

I was given 2 nights lodging at my favorite destination for my 76th Birthday, by my daughter, which is the Monterey Peninsula. Arriving at my $200 per night room overlooking a beautiful cemetery,my wife and I found it to be generally clean. I went out on the balcony and had a difficult time closing the sliding door after I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank winseamless
Leah S, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy you stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. i understand that you were dissatisfied with the lack of chairs on balcony, as well as the seating in guest room. Without...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Lodge room was adequate, but not as nice as advertised, although I was forewarned by previous reviews. They are pretty accurate. Front desk people not really aware of what "service industry" means. Reply to everything was, "I've never stayed in our rooms, so I don't know anything about that!" "Renovated" room still had stained carpet and ripped screen door, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garibaldi22
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Junior Suite (77)
Viewed
Lodge Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
686 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. The Lodge is a sixty-four unit property with oversized hotel accommodations. Our Lodge rooms have either one king size bed or two queens. Each day, we provide a complimentary breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit Cape Cod styled property. Our Cottages have a king size bed, Jacuzzi tub,wet bar, and gas burning fireplace. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 50 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Address: 1150 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Price Range: $105 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
4 months ago
Santa Rosa, California
4 months ago
Denver, Colorado
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles winseamless, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Maybe their cottages across the street are better??? but the units next to the cemetery are in need of care.”
 of 5 bubbles Imlynhi, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest a second floor cottage since they have vaulted ceilings and are very roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles MrWilly2013, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face the cemetery have a nice peaceful view with lots of deer.”
 of 5 bubbles Elyse713, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“Read through review for best details.”
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages. The Cemetery from or balcony.
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
  • Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
 of 5 bubbles Sandquads, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay