We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monterey Peninsula Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monterey Peninsula Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 417: English reviews
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Finding reasonably priced accomodations on the Monterey peninsula can be a challenge. So, I was sort-of happy to find a place that would accommodate our family of four with a dog for under $250 per night. The inn looks like an old-fashioned motor inn. We had a nice second floor room with a kitchen. The beds were comfortable. We didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wildwoodatheart
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice, clean, basic motel. Staff are professional and friendly. Visit happened to coincide with car week and I ended up paying $450 for a night. For a basic motel, muffins and granola bars for breakfast, a noisy fridge that I had to unplug and raccoons running over the roof left me feeling stiffed. Still it was car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernard_6012
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear jhgggiljgsxe8d, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. We thank you for acknowledging our very hardworking staff! Unfortunately, due to Pacific Grove being surrounded by trees and lots of wildlife, sometimes one will experience an encounter with squirrels, deer, and raccoons. We do apologize if the noise of the... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here to get a cabin style experience with more comfort. Close proximity to downtown and Monterey. Bonus was the close proximity to the Point Pinos Lighthouse, an underrated gem in the area. Dog friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jason P, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms as well as the Pacific Grove area. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! More 

Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon check in we were upgraded to a two bedroom cottage with 3 double beds. Needless to say our room was good sized, clean, comfortable great for our one night stay. Location was great as well close to food, shopping and perfect to start our day with the 17 mile drive and then on to Big Sur. Complimentary coffee, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bpetey65
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear bpetey65, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cottages. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again for an enjoyable stay. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Monterey has some of the most expensive hotels in California. Even Motel 6's and similar level motels charge $150+/night. This motel is pretty standard but it seems to have been recently updated and seems that management puts a lot of effort into keeping it up. With that said, it is still a motel with similar layout as most road-side 70-80's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VB_TA_13
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear VB_TA_13, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your most recent stay with us at Monterey Peninsula Inn. As you mentioned in your review, the distance from our property to the coast is actually about a 5 minute walk depending on which direction you choose to go. We definitely agree that Passionfish is a... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nice, a little small. It would have been nice to have some sort of table in the room. We brought breakfast back to the room and didn't have a good place to set out coffee and muffins. Everyone was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Gaia W
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gaia W, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us! We will definitely forward your request to see if we would be able to fit a table in the rooms without one. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon! More 

Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although it was only for one night, the stay was nice. Clean, beautiful room, comfortable beds and overall a great place to stay. The Wifi is to be desired but for only one night I was tolerable. Just a few minutes from town and the beach. Nice place overall. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank TJ D
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear TJ D, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to commenting on your most recent stay with us at Monterey Peninsula Inn. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location our hotel was able to provide you. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed weekend Fri-Sun in August for about $200 per night. Very tiny room (402). Clean, but had a strong smell of trying to mask doggie odor with whatever cleaning product. Friendly staff, decent location in quiet neighborhood location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kozoo
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kozoo, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, as this is not a typical situation at our hotel. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back for a stay that is more enjoyable! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location to 17 miles. But limited restaurants around. We have 5 person but only 2 queen beds. Too small for us. Very close to Pebble Beach. The pool is small not very attractive. The breakfast is OK.

Helpful?
Thank 茂森 翁
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so glad to announce that we will be renovating the pool and we will be starting construction around November! We hope that we may be able to welcome you back to enjoy our newly constructed pool once it is complete! More 

Beaumont, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Budget wise its a good place to stay. The only complaint i would have is the poor wifi service. But overall, you are here for a vacation and you need to remove all the distractions including the internet.

Helpful?
Thank reimartin
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear reimartin, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced with the wifi. We will forward the suggestion to the management department to have the matter rectified as soon as possible! We hope that we may be able to welcome you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Price Range: $99 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay