Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai

301 N Montgomery St, Ojai, CA 93023-2745
Traveler (111)
Room & Suite (363)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 4 inns in Ojai
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Su Nido was designed to be an oasis experience, an escape from the ordinary; hence the name, which means “your nest” in Spanish. Though in the heart of the colorful Ojai village, you’re still tucked away, with privacy assured. Pamper yourself with the luxury of: a feather bed, fine imported linens, and a cozy fireplace; soak up the fresh air and sunshine from your private patio/balcony or the body therapies by Molton Brown of London in your mosaic tub. Designed in the Mission Revival style featured by many of Ojai’s architectural gems, Su Nido’s spacious one- and two- bedroom suites are built around a charming cobblestone courtyard. With unique décor and 600 to 1000 square feet of space, every suite includes a kitchen or hospitality center with microwave and refrigerator. Guest parking adjoins in our private lot. With the many attractions of downtown Ojai only steps from the Inn, you may not need to drive again until you head home. Venture out to experience Ojai’s art world, fine dining, shopping at the landmark Arcade and entertainment at Libbey Bowl. Upon request the Innkeeper will arrange tee times at one of two local championship golf courses, or book reservations at the Day Spa of Ojai. Back in your suite, relax with the LCD television, iHome clock, wireless and ethernet internet access; enjoy goodies from your treat basket or an exceptional cup of coffee from the Keurig coffeemaker. However you choose to spend your time at Su Nido, it’s sure to be memorable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Residential Neighborhood
341Reviews1Q+A75Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 62
  • 11
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Denise W wrote a review Jul 2022
Indio, California17 contributions
My husband and I recently stayed in the Sparrow Room at Su Nido Inn. The room was quiet, and the bed and linens were exquisite. The vaulted ceiling and beams made the room feel elegant and spacious. The Molten Brown bath and body products in the bath felt indulgent.

The entire property is simply lovely with it's clay tile roofs and stucco finishes. My favorite touch was the Spanish tile on the risers going up to our room which overlooked the courtyard and the jaw-dropping, arched wooden door.

At night we shared a bottle of chilled, local Chardonnay in the courtyard while relaxing to the sound of trickling water in the fountain. The twinkle lights in the trees created a charming fairytale ambiance.

Ojai is a gorgeous getaway location and the Su Nido Inn is the perfect place to stay while in town. On this trip we enjoyed visiting the nearby missions, Soule Park Golf Course , and the tasting Ojai Food Tour. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Casa Ojai Inn, Other at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay in the Sparrow Room! We're delighted you enjoyed the quiet ambiance, elegant room features, and the lovely courtyard. Your description of the charming details and the atmosphere is much appreciated. Ojai is a beautiful getaway, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another visit in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H. T wrote a review Oct 2023
Pasadena, California36 contributions8 helpful votes
The location is the best feature; restaurants and shops on Ojai Avenue are a 5-minute walk away but the inn itself is on a very quiet side street. We stayed in the Sparrow Room. The king-size bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom had plenty of counter space, unlike many places we've stayed. There was no noise from traffic or other guests. The website said the room did not have a fridge, but it did (a room that pricey should have a fridge).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check-in is handled at a different site.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cam Larner, Owner at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Su Nido Inn. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit again soon. (I'll look into updating the website accordingly! ;) ) Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeborahandAndy wrote a review Sep 2021
Los Angeles, CA703 contributions313 helpful votes
We stayed in the Condor suite that overlooked the parking lot. Very convenient for parking. Large suite with living area, kitchen (with coffee, tea, a few snacks and cans of sparkling water), bedroom and bathroom. Quiet, clean and comfortable except for the overhead lights in the bedroom that were not positioned correctly for reading in bed. Great location as easy walk to everything in town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Casa Ojai Inn, Other at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Condor suite at our establishment! We're pleased to hear that you found the suite spacious, convenient for parking, and well-equipped with amenities. We apologize for the inconvenience with the overhead lights in the bedroom, and we'll look into improving their positioning for future guests. It's wonderful that you found the location great and enjoyed the ease of walking to everything in town. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for another comfortable stay in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MK2000 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lake Forest, California98 contributions71 helpful votes
Su Nido is an intimate boutique inn perfectly situated in the heart of Ojai. But I must say at the outset that I have mixed feelings about it.

Accommodations surround a lovely courtyard, the only outdoor space. They consist mostly of spacious suites, with only a couple of standard size rooms. All are nicely decorated but are not exceptional. Beds are a little squishy.

With the exception of bicycles available for guest use, there are really no other amenities. No pool, no gym, no restaurant, no lobby and
virtually staff, only a person in the office during business hours and the cleaning crew.

As for daily maid service, there is none offered for stays less than three nights. To get my daily water bottle allotment and snacks (included with extra $10/day amenity fee), I was able to corral one of the cleaning staff since I was there at the right time. I also procured a couple of fresh towels.

So, on the one hand, Su Nido is a good choice for couples seeking a low key experience. It offers privacy, serenity and reasonable comfort without the hassles associated with more traditional "motels" that are predominant in Ojai (not including the uber expensive Ojai Valley Inn).

The question is whether it's worth paying the hefty premium to stay here versus almost anywhere else in town.

In the Era of COVID, we've all had to make lots of adjustments and compromises when we travel. We've had to alter our expectations when we go to four or five star property. And, almost without exception, we end up getting less but are paying more.

So, I'm recommending Su Nido, although not enthusiastically. When you see the room rates, you'll have to decide if it's a good choice for you and your travel budget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Casa Ojai Inn, Other at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for providing your detailed feedback about your stay at Su Nido. We apologize for any inconvenience related to the limited amenities, lack of daily maid service for shorter stays, and the extra amenity fee. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll consider it for future improvements. We appreciate your recommendation and understand that our rates may not suit all budgets. We'll continue to strive for ways to enhance the guest experience while maintaining the unique character of Su Nido. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future with an even better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Munezza wrote a review Feb 2020
Orange County, California40 contributions46 helpful votes
This quiet quaint little nest is super cute from the outside. The room itself was a bit small and difficult to get around the bed (I stubbed my toe multiple times, and we all know there is literally no pain greater than a throbbing pinky toe Hhahah LOL)
Anyhow once you get over the broken toe, then don't try to breath because the room has NO windows!!! I mean you could leave the door open for some fresh air if you like insects. Also fair warning if you get a room on the second floor, you will have to carry your own bags up the stairs. Therese no bell-man to help #FirstWorldProblems LOL but ya Good Luck!
ok enough of Negative Nancy- on a positive note, the property is super cute. They have bikes/ beach cruisers you can rent to ride around the city. And the location is perfect. Walking district to everything.

HAPPY TRAVELS!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CoreyOjai, Public Relations Manager at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hi there. We apologize about the issues you had with the room and will definitely look into them. Also, our front desk and concierge would have been more than happy to assist you in transporting your bags to your room. We do not have bellmen but have plenty of people around property to assist you. We're glad you enjoyed the location and bikes around town! We appreciate your feedback and hope you are able to come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbritch wrote a review Nov 2023
Lake Helen, Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a beautiful property and just a couple minutes walk to shops and restaurants . We were excited when we arrived to see how nice and what a great location, but issues started immediately..no cleaning, a rat, keys not working. There is no office on site, but is a mile down the road at their sister property, Casa Ojai. We rented a suite and two rooms for 8 nights, with one of the rooms that will connect. Our keys were left in the late arrival box, but we couldn’t get into the one connecting room. They dropped of the keys at 10:30 pm, but they didn’t work, so we couldn’t even get into that room the first night. No offer to credit us for that. Then the third night, we had a rat in the hood over the stove and it was trying to get through the hood filter into the room. We called and they came down, but were unable to get it. They draped a plastic bag over the filter opening and said they would send maintenance down in the morning. Well, the rat got through and we had to trap it before we could go to bed. They did come the next morning and cleaned the stove and kitchen area and said they would let the owner know, we never heard from the owner and issues continued for the remainder of the week. Keys stopped working to open rooms 4 different times during stay, Rooms should have been cleaned every 3 days. We had to ask after 4 days, and they didn’t even go into one of the rooms, against day 6, I had to ask for cleaning service again, and they never came for a 2nd cleaning. Finally, the night before we left, we were locked out of our room again, so I went to their sister property to get keys and complain again. They said owner would call within 30 minutes. No call, just an email apologizing and jokingly thanking us for catching the rat, and offering to waive our amenity fee and 25% off next visit, I insisted on a call. He seemed to have excuses for most of it and said he had to discuss all of this with his staff and would get back with me. Well, no call, just an email itemizing all our issues and his interpretation of them, as if he were discussing all of this with his staff. He offered to refund the one night that we had to catch the rat, which was one of the cheaper nights and $200 off for the lack of cleaning and the key issues. This is what he thought was appropriate after our spending $6,200 for our stay, and he hasn’t bothered to respond to my email or call me. I really wanted to like this place and be understanding, but I will never be back mainly because of the owner’s attitude and handling of this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dingnezhin wrote a review Jul 2021
Palo Alto, California12 contributions2 helpful votes
The room is rather depressing and old. Only 1 tea bag was found in the room and no coffee for its Keurig machine. Of course, the Inn doesn’t provide any breakfast nor a front desk. Spiderwebs are found in the kitchenette area. I would have felt better if the room wasn’t charged $387 per night. The room looks more like it should charge around $120 tops. The only good thing is the bed and internet. Totally frustrated!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: I would not recommend any traveler to stay there at all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy T wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
I chose to stay in the Su Nido Inn shortly after the reopening from quarantine to celebrate a special occasion with my fiancé. I reserved the Heron Suite for its upper level views and private balcony. I was disappointed to find that, on my arrival, my reservation had been changed without my notice or approval. The only explanation given was that this was the hotel’s right as explained in the fine print. I later discovered that my room had been double booked. After extensive conversations with both lobby staff and management, I found the customer service to be disorganized, largely unapologetic, not forthcoming with information, and hesitant to make amends. They were dismissive and made me to feel as if my concerns were unreasonable. I will say that the room was pleasant, spacious, and clean, and that the hotel is centrally located. However, for a four- star hotel, I was very disappointed with the customer service. The management’s response quickly became more frustrating than the original inconvenience. I plan to stay elsewhere on my next trip to Ojai.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Johnson, General Manager at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Hi there. We apologize for the issues you had with the room and we made some changes to help communicate room changes more clearly. It is true that it is pretty commonplace for hotels to have reasons and need to make room changes however it is apparent how important it is for our property due to the individualism and uniqueness of each room and suite to communicate these changes better. For this reason, we have implemented a new policy of communicating these needed changes to our guests as soon as we are able. We're glad you enjoyed the location and the suite, we appreciate your feedback, and hope you are able to come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4AnnT wrote a review Jun 2020
Sunnyvale, California101 contributions24 helpful votes
Pros: Walking distance to downtown and very spacious suits.

Things to keep in mind : No daily cleaning service. Common areas aren’t getting cleaned either unfortunately. Amenity fee doesn’t includes things listed in it. If staying for more than one night and need additional toilets or towels request in advance as they aren’t provided upon checkin.

Overall cute small B&B in downtown with spacious suits.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Johnson, General Manager at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Hi there. We apologize for the issues you had with the room and I can assure you we have taken many additional steps since first opening in June. We have added many cleaning protocols and have added as many amenities as we could safely add. We're glad you enjoyed the location and our spacious suites! We appreciate your feedback and hope you are able to come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaryE44 wrote a review Mar 2020
Santa Clarita, California13 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed one night for our anniversary. We try to stay in different hotels when we travel and want a unique place. This stay did not disappoint! We stayed in the quail Room. Just delightful. Impeccably clean, the bed was totally comfortable. Very quiet place. The lotion in the bathroom was awesome, I even bought a bottle of it. The hotel is literally 2 blocks from restaurants and shopping
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CoreyOjai, Public Relations Manager at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Responded Mar 18, 2020
So glad you enjoyed our Quail suite! Come back again soon, and happy anniversary!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Food I asked a question May 2017
Palm Springs, California
Pet policy
Answer from Trilby C
Su Nido Inn is NOT pet friendly. Our sister location, Casa Ojai Inn has pet friendly rooms,but make arrangements for a pet friendly room in advance.
Elizabeth H. T wrote a tip Oct 2023
Pasadena, California36 contributions8 helpful votes
"Check-in is handled at a different site."
Read full review
Traveler01362871894 wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
"Do not take an upstairs suite if you have luggage you don't want to carry up the stairs on your own."
Read full review
dingnezhin wrote a tip Jul 2021
Palo Alto, California12 contributions2 helpful votes
"I would not recommend any traveler to stay there at all."
Read full review
Adventurer187149 wrote a tip Dec 2018
Dallas, Texas7 contributions2 helpful votes
"All of the suites are spacious and well appointed. There are no bad rooms."
Read full review
Kenneth P wrote a tip Dec 2018
45 contributions14 helpful votes
"My wife selected the Cardinal Suite. I loved it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ojai area.
PRICE RANGE
$403 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
su nido inn (your nest in ojai) hotel ojai
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOjai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SU NIDO INN - YOUR NEST IN OJAI - Prices & Reviews (CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Which popular attractions are close to Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai?
Nearby attractions include Ojai Certified Farmers' Market (0.09 miles), Libbey Park (0.3 miles), and OVA Arts (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe, Ojai Beverage Company, and Hip Vegan Cafe.
Is Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Ojai.
Is Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.