We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jack London Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jack London Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jack London Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Oceanside, California
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

If you are traveling to the Oakland/Emeryville area, bust your budget and find a hotel better than this one which was arguably the worst place I've ever stayed. Cold water in the shower, nasty bathtub, faucet was loose, a spark flew of the electrical outlet when I tried to plug in my phone, just feet from the train tracks noisy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
San Diego, California
Reviewed June 21, 2016

We stayed at the Jack London Inn for two nights. The hotel is simple, but the rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable and the shower had decent pressure and plenty of hot water. It has free parking and is close to several good restaurant and entertainment at the Jack London Square. For the price it is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcirtapp
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Hello There, First of All, I would like to thank you for you review! Secondly, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Jack London Inn- Oakland. We hope you travel to Oakland again soon and be sure to contact me let when you're coming so we can reserve a room for you. Thanks, Rolando...

Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

So I traveled to oakland because it was my first time I ever traveled to California. The price was right and it was right next to the waterfront and close to transportation. Service was awesome from the front desk and I even got an upgraded room. The room was neat, clean and met my needs. I would recommend staying if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthonytravels24
Missoula, Montana
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had been driving all day, so this little inn was a welcome relief. The neighborhood and look of the public areas of the hotel are a little scary, but once you get into your room it's really well-maintained and cute! We felt safe and slept soundly in spite of being right across the street from an amtrack, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cayla G
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cayla, Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a wonderful review I am so glad that you guy's had great stay with us here at Jack London Inn- Oakland. We hope you travel to Oakland again soon and be sure to let us know when you're coming so we can reserve a room for you. We...

Reviewed June 2, 2016

The only positive think was the roooms have been clean, and plenty of restaurants in close distance. The train during the night was really horrible, the breakfast bad, the parking lot was not looking safe at all. Car next to us had broken glass next morning. Misconfusing reservation so i was billed 3-times. No refund of the blocked amount so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
India
Reviewed May 22, 2016

very friendly service and courteous people specially the front desk guy Mr Niraj and not the least , very freindly service by Mr Amit the breakfast attendent who is very energetic and active........he is also well known for the local activities , can be a very good guide to the people who check in there........happy to stay there...my stay over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kasuka2016
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Worst place to stay. No microwaves in most rooms. NO cable. NO AC!!!!! No ICE, no lobby with microwave. No breakfast. Soda machines all out of order. Who ever say this place is great probably have lived in hell before and this was a one step upgrade. I recommend to spend a little more elsewhere than be stuck at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yee X
Modesto, California
Reviewed May 15, 2016

We stayed on Friday the 13th, it was a horror. The hotel is filthy, the mattress was broken, walls thin, towels stiff and scratchy. We should have left when we noticed other guests were walking the halls with belongings in trash bags.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinestanion
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed April 11, 2016

OLD DIRTY OUT DATED HOTEL!!!! Requested microwave and fridge on line ,(as instructed to do), none available on check in. Microwave dinners was purchased prior to check in, but had to be thrown out on second day. Was told on check in that only 4-5 microwaves and fridge available and we would be placed on the waiting list. Left after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank family11112016
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments specially regarding microwave and refrigerator. We are working really hard to changes the Image of this hotel. We are currently looking to add more microwave and refrigerator to some but not all rooms our...

California
Reviewed March 17, 2016

The location is great, it's across the street from Jack London Square with lots of restaurants, a movie theater and places to visit. The two guys that checked me in were also very nice. That's all that is good about this place. The furniture is old, broken and is missing knobs. The bed is very uncomfortable and feels like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiararamirez
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Ramirez, Please accept our sincere apology. Management were made aware of the issue and we are working to correct every items mentioned! It will help us improve our operations and services. We very much appreciate your business and hope that you will remain a valued customer. If there are any other issues that need to be addressed, please...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#23 of 49 in Oakland
223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 49 in Oakland
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Jack London Inn

Address: 444 Embarcadero W, Oakland, CA 94607-3706
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range: $76 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack London Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Jack London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Oakland
Jack London Oakland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Jack London Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Jack London Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RichardM869, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here unless all you care about is location.”
 of 5 bubbles sandybudziszewskis, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the 4th floor ;)”
 of 5 bubbles 15caylag, Jun 16, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles alened2014, Mar 2, 2016 | Read review
“Some second floor rooms have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles travelinxtech, Jul 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay