We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!ROOM & FREE PARKING
Agoda.com
$189
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/20
Hotels.com
$189
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/29/20
Snaptravel
$216
$173
View Deal
SAVE $43
Expedia.com$189
Booking.com$189
Trip.com$216
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (290)
360
Panoramas (69)
Videos (1)

About

#8 of 54 hotels in Oakland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:ROOM & FREE PARKING

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
12Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,479Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 637
  • 428
  • 248
  • 87
  • 79
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Edward Barrios wrote a review Mar 2020
Palos Verdes Estates, California3 contributions
A beautiful waterfront property, just an easy hotel for travel needs in Oakland. My travel typically involves crossing the Bay, so it's location is ideal. Although the original architecture of the building may be less than exciting, its current design has the typical Joie De Vivre quality of chic, contemporary and comfortable we've all come to expect. Excellent service has been my only experience, with staff eager to help me with my questions and needs. My travel to Oakland will always include the Waterfront Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Edward , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Tracy J wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Florida108 contributions37 helpful votes
Terrific location near Jack London square with a variety of restaurants. During the summer if you are working in San Francisco and choose to take the ferry it is an easy walk. If you are using the BART station it is a short walk, but there is a hotel shuttle with limited hours. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious. The bed is comfortable although the comforter is more of a heavy sheet. I needed to pull out the blanket from the closet. The bathroom is spacious with adequate water pressure and large counter space. However, the train is quite loud and piercing which is why they provide ear plugs. I wouldn't stay here again because of the train - simply too loud.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Tracy J. , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry about the train and unfortunately it has been here longer than the hotel. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
marcFiore01 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
no room service no restaurant basic, cold service Overall it feels like this hotel is not living to its expectations loud railroad just next to hotel there are better options in oakland, especially if - like us - you book a $300 suite
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. The restaurant tenant affiliated with the hotel has gone out of business and we are hoping for a solution shortly. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Marc F wrote a review Mar 2020
San Francisco, California12 contributions13 helpful votes
First : information on TripAdvisor is wrong. There is NO ROOM SERVICE, no in room breakfast etc. But of course they don’t tell you when you book Another thing they don’t tell you is that the hotel is next to the railway. You have train noise and all day until late. Service was basic and not welcoming They refused to grant me the free parking promotion because I didn’t include the right code at booking but the Hyatt app didn’t offer this promo. It would have been a nice gesture to offer $35 parking at a time when hotels are deserted by clients. Especially because we had booked a suite : Room amenities are bare bone. Rather boring. Conclusion: go to the Claremont. They, at least, understand service. Very disappointed in the hotel and it’s total lack of customer friendliness.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear 61 , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry you felt we were not a value and I am sorry we let you down. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
MoJo7 wrote a review Mar 2020
San Francisco, California19 contributions2 helpful votes
Staying here for a private event in Jack London Sq. The location can't be beat, on the water, paid mightly for a room with a water view in offseason but it is very nice and our room was large and comfortable but old. The hotel could use a freshening up, mostly the bathroom which is really out of date and the common areas. They closed their restaurant which discontinued room service, nothing we needed. There are lots of restaurants, coffee shops, and bars within walking distance. They offer coffee and a small continental breakfast and a wine happy hour which we could never make. If you are a tourist and have the money stay here keep your expectations low and enjoy the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Water views - expect to pay for them
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. The tenant in the restaurant has recently gone out of business. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waterfront hotel, a joie de vivre hotel hotel oakland, waterfront hotel oakland
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOakland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Waterfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jack London Square (0.07 miles), USS Potomac (0.1 miles), and Heinold's First & Last Chance Saloon (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Waterfront Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waterfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yoshi's, Fat Lady, and Scott's Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Waterfront Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Oakland.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Waterfront Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterfront Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.