We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balboa Bay Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (249)
Room & Suite (100)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Make A Splash
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Newport Beach
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Newport Beach's only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Luxury Waterfront Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Make A Splash
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles829 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Balboa Bay Resort is renowned for its well-appointed rooms with stunning bay views and overall cleanliness that consistently impress guests, although some have noted occasional noise and decor that could use an update. The serene atmosphere and luxurious amenities contribute to the hotel's charm, despite some reports of restricted access and hot water inconsistencies. While the service is often lauded for being professional and attentive, a few travelers have encountered neglect. Its prime location is frequently praised, yet the overall value for cost has been questioned by guests expecting more for their money.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
829Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 584
  • 94
  • 48
  • 49
  • 54
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hugh L. wrote a review Apr 11
Los Angeles44 contributions83 helpful votes
When I read negative reviews on hotels, I generally look for repeated comments on one of the following: a) Outdated/Unclean rooms or property; b) Thin Walls/Noisy; or c) those dissatisfied with front desk/customer service. I often assume that some people are just way too particular & tend to ignore those if other reviews paint a different picture. I really should have paid more attention to the repeated bad reviews of the front desk staff/management as their callousness & ineptitude was really surprising and frustrating for a supposed '5 star resort'. My bad review here has nothing to do with the room or property itself, but rather is solely based on my experience with the front desk management. The property itself is lovely and I would have rated it much higher on it's own but the atrocious customer service cancelled out anything that was good about the resort itself. I'll try to keep this as concise as possible but need to provide the details. Upon check in, I notified the front desk that I had not received an email confirmation for our 3 night stay reservation and verified they had my correct email address. They did have it correct and apologized for the oversight. I then proceeded to extend my stay for 2 additional nights which after checking with her manager, was confirmed that our stay would be extended at the same rate. I asked for an email to confirm that, which I was again assured would be forthcoming. I never received that email. I received a call on the afternoon after our 3rd night saying we never checked out. When I reminded them that we had extended our stay for 2 additional nights, they told me they had no record of that. After being put on hold for several minutes, they said they could extend my stay but I would need to stop by the front desk to get new keys. I cut our afternoon excursion short to handle that as I didn't want any further issues. At this point, just another minor inconvenience but strike 2 on the front desk. The 2nd to last night of our trip, my wife came down with a nasty virus...she informed me the next morning that she had been up all night in the bathroom with a hacking cough, fever, heavy congestion, bad headache, etc. and needed to go home. I told her to lay down for a bit and try to get a little rest and if she still wasn't feeling any better in a few hours, I would notify the front desk that we had to leave a day earlier than planned. Well, needless to say, she only felt worse as the morning progressed so at around 9:45 am, I called down to the front desk and asked to speak with the manager on duty. I was told she was busy but would call me back shortly. An hour went by and no one got back to me so I packed up the family and went down to the front desk. I spoke with the manager on duty and explained the situation. She said unfortunately, I would still be charged for the night as hotel policy for any cancellation is 24 hrs. I told her I understood that but explained this was extenuating circumstances and I needed to get my wife home and to see a doctor. Again, I was told there was nothing they could do. I asked if I could speak with her supervisor and was told that she wouldn't be in until the next day but she would leave a message for her to call me and gave me her name (Jazmin). I also asked for a copy of my portfolio/bill to be emailed to me...which I was assured it would be. It's now 4 days later and I still haven't received it. I have no doubt there is something devious going on with the charges given their complete ineptitude in sending a simple email that any 2 or 3 star hotel does automatically. When I did not hear from Jazmin the next day, I called the resort 3x before I was finally connected with her. She coldly reiterated there was nothing she could do. I again stated that I understood hotel policy and that they don't want people to take advantage with last minute cancellations but given the circumstances, I would hope they would have a little more compassion...especially when spending upwards of $650/night on top of the thousands of dollars I already spent at the resort. Not only was I repeatedly told in a robotic manner that 'unfortunately, there's nothing I can do'...I said I would assume there had to be circumstances where they was something they could do and in a very condescending manner, she said 'well, had you rushed your wife to the hospital emergency room, then I would be able refund you for the 1 night.' WHAT? Did I actually hear her correctly? So I'm being penalized for not having to call 911 and have my rushed to the hospital?? I was appalled! Instead of getting upset or furthering this conversation with a low level assistant office manager who is clearly very new at her job and should not be dealing with guests, I asked if I could have her supervisors name or whoever was in charge. She refused to give me a name or contact information but said she would pass along my message and have them get back to me. I was able to gather online the GM is Cindy Bacco and Front Desk Managers are Natalie Liera & Kendal Ruvalcaba. Of course, 3 days later, I'm still waiting for that call. I also asked again for a copy of bill/charges - still haven't received it. This is truly feeling very shady. Being an extensive traveler for both business and personal and having stayed at some wonderful hotels around the country & world, I have never been treated like this, let alone at a high end establishment. After reading some of the other negative reviews, I see that the consistent response from the resort management was to please reach out to fdmanagement@balboabayresort.com with any issues and allow them the opportunity to address any issues or concerns. Because of that, I thought I'd give them the courtesy of reaching out before writing any negative reviews here and elsewhere as well as taking to social media. Give them the opportunity they are requesting, however canned and insincere that may be, in the hopes of making any sort of amends. NOT EVEN THE COURTESY OF A RESPONSE. Even a simple 'we are in receipt of your email and someone will be in touch soon' would have been nice. Just know that their response to those negative reviews to 'reach out to us' is clearly NOT SINCERE and is simply to dupe those who read these reviews into feeling otherwise. I'm happy to amend this review IF I ever actually do hear from anyone who actually cares, but I'm not holding my breath. There are just too many other great options in the area at a similar price point - The Resort at Pelican Hill (beautiful property and top notch customer service); The Pendry; Montage; etc.. Those properties are beautiful resorts AND have wonderful customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paula L wrote a review Feb 2024
Jacksonville, Florida6 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Balboa Bay Resort is truly luxurious in every sense of the word. Location, staff, surroundings, rooms, dining - feeling of being wonderfully pampered. While there is a lot of hustle and bustle in Newport Beach, when the night settles in, we experienced peace and quiet and wonderful sleep at night. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded Mar 4, 2024
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a great night in at the resort and enjoyed the location, staff, local area, and dining. Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your experience! Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Amy Young wrote a review Apr 11
7 contributions
Friendly staff who love what they do! It’s the best to be around happy people when you are working. The rooms are very comfortable with a beautiful plant and delicious coffee. The food for our large group was delicious for every meal. The views are relaxing and the outdoor spaces worked well for break out groups. Work WOW.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eun jung I wrote a review Apr 7
1 contribution
Hello We were disappointed in a few ways. Right when we checked into our suite, there were old, used water bottles in our fridge. It was not a good feeling right when we checked in. Customer service was great at this point as we were offered food credit. We then later found a hair on the towels. At this point our family decided not to say anything out of courtesy. But then we asked for another set of sheets and there was blood stain on the sheets. Overall, it was very disappointing with how dirty it was. We tried to be optimistic and enjoyed our morning with in room dining. Then as we were checking out, we asked for bell service to help with our bags, no one showed up. We waited 35-40 min and no one came so we lugged everything down ourselves. We also called again as a reminder but still no one came. We will not be going back or recommending to others.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Eun, We extend our sincerest apologies that your experience at the resort was less than satisfactory. We strive to to have the highest quality of guest experience during your stay and take your feedback very seriously. If you have any other comments regarding your stay, please reach out to us at fdmanagement@balboabayresort.com so we can connect with you! Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I enjoyed a top notch experience in every aspect. Clean, beautiful accommodations with an incredible view of the bay, gracious staff from desk to restaurant to housekeeping (especially the housekeeping), shopping, spa and easy access to nearby sightseeing and eateries. We had one issue with a clogged and leaking sink which was swiftly managed with a short time after notifying maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The valet parking is swift and convenient. I recommend it. Also, there is a free happy hour...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Patricia, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a great night at the resort as well as the views, staff, shopping, spa and local area. We are pleased to hear that the drain issue was solved quickly and efficiently with little disturbance. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Will M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Overall, the hotel is an absolute 10/10 and the service is impeccable! Ted and Crystal went above and beyond to celebrate our birthday. The made the room extra special prior to arrival with balloons and a sweet card. We will always come back to Balboa Bay Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay! We are so happy to hear that you celebrated your birthday with us and enjoyed the staff, room and service. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Semya S wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed at Balboa Bay Resort for a work trip and had a great time. The staff were super nice. The food was great. I love how they keep sunscreen by the pool and fresh fruit infused water all over the resort. I want to give a special thank you to the housekeeper Lucia and the virtual service assistant Ivy for being so helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded Mar 4, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our staff, including Lucia in housekeeping. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Constance B wrote a review Feb 2024
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Awful everything. Filthy, old, no coffee maker, no mini refrigerator, continental breakfast had homeless coming to eat it. All processed unhealthy foods and coffee was terrible. Screen was ripped completely in half flies were getting in when we opened windows no air conditioning. Over looked alley with drug users. Expensive. Same price as local 5 star hotels. Bad area of town. Lecherous far east men run 90% of all business on strip. Scary for young girls.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Marketing at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded Feb 21, 2024
We received your feedback, however your experience does not align with our property features. Specifically, we do not offer continental breakfast, all our rooms have a Nespresso coffee maker and mini refrigerator, and we do not overlook an alley. Additionally, we do not have any record of your stay here at Balboa Bay Resort. Please reach out to us at fdmanagement@balboabayresort.com or 949.645.5000 so that we can discuss further. Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jon R wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
In early 2000’s I would have said this place is the best I have ever stayed at. However, it seems that nothing else has happened since with respect to the rooms. They could at the least buy a cellular signal magnifying system so we all can have conversations thru out the hotel. Impeccable service. Outdated resort for the prices they charge. Very friendly with dogs. Not sure how much they charge for the stay, but they even have a special menu for them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest! We take your comments seriously and hope we can have another chance to create an incredible stay for you next time you are in Newport Beach. Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim B wrote a review Feb 2024
Laguna Hills, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
The service is impeccable! The rooms are very lovely. Checking in is easy. I had surgery and this is the second time staying and I would absolutely recommend it. The food is delicious, the ambience is absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to see everything, but I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Balboa Bay Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Balboa Bay Resort
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience, food, and easy check in. We wish you a speedy recovery! Sincerely, Balboa Bay Resort Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newport Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$346 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the balboa bay club and resort, the balboa bay club hotel newport beach, the balboa bay hotel, the balboa bay resort, balboa bay club
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyNewport Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
159
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BALBOA BAY RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Newport Beach, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Balboa Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Balboa Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Marina Park (0.7 miles), Environmental Nature Center (0.6 miles), and Seaside Gallery and Goods (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Balboa Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Balboa Bay Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Balboa Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Balboa Bay Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balboa Bay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rusty Pelican, The Cannery Seafood of the Pacific, and Bluewater Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balboa Bay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Balboa Bay Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Balboa Bay Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Balboa Bay Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Newport Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Balboa Bay Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Balboa Bay Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.