We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
 Click to rate
Syracuse
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We looked for a reasonable place to stay overnight near the airport. When we went into the room we were really disappointed. It seemed dingy, not clean, and smelled bad. The front desk lady provided a Fabreze spray bottle for us to use. We should have kept it in the room instead of returning it after trying to eliminate the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Douglas, Thanks for your feedback. Our hotel is geared to guests staying more than 8 nights and typically have breakfast in their suite. We do know how important it is to begin your day with a nutritious start, we are sorry you did not like our complimentary grab and go breakfast. Thank you for letting us know about the lack...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A pleasant reception from staff in a musty smelling lobby even though the entire hotel is now completely non-smoking. Room 310 was dated, drab and dreary; functional enough for an overnight stay. There is a kitchenette with full sized fridge, sink and stove top but not even a kettle supplied to boil water... The bathroom is small. It has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Linda, thank you for evaluating your stay. Even though our hotel receives good ratings for the level of cleanliness and overall condition of our suites, we understand you were hoping for something a little more modern. We appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will help us when planning future enhancements. Until that time we will continue to place our...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The facility and the room are clean but show signs of age. I needed a bed for an early morning meeting in the area and this place is about half the price of all the other properties in this high-priced neighborhood. Everything functioned as expected, but I didn't realize that coffee in the room is an optional upgrade. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and for your candid feedback. We are pleased you loved our affordable rates and the cleanliness of your room. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back for a much better visit. Sincerely, General Manager

Milpitas, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't remember other Extended Stay to be this bare bone. The bathroom has a basic porcelain sink -- no counter, and a walk in shower with a curtain. The floor of the shower feels spongey (not sure if that's the intention but it's odd) and it's like a high-school gym feel. There are leftover marks from previous adhesive tapes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaMilpitas
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for being a loyal guest to our brand. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our location. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and cleanliness of your suite. We are sorry you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay, and not up to your expectations. While each hotel has to stay...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got past the slight odor from people being able to cook in their rooms, but I'm now stuck with an arbitrary blocking of a basic cable news station, MSNBC. Now, maybe there's a plausible explanation. I'm awaiting the manager's return call.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Depolady
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

We are sorry our cable channel options are not to your liking and that it had such a negative impact on your stay. We don't have a guest under the name of Depolady, so we would need additional information to return your call. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to your expectations, we would like an opportunity...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mediocre at best. Clean room. Nonexisten breakfast unless u like muffins and granola bars. LOTS of Dogs AND seems like permanent residents. Room was extremely noisy and hot middle of winter we had to run air and since we booked through expedia we got the worst room in hotel the last room in the hall even though other rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liws4u
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We were disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. What you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take action so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. Thanks...

Denver, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I, 100% enjoyed our stay at the Exrended Stay @ The John Wayne International Airport in Southern California. Perfect location and easy access to Walmart, Ross, US Bank, gas stations and grocery stores. The staff was very pleasant and accommodated our every need. The complimentary morning coffee was so motivating. Kudos to housekeeping whom kept the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 839raynab
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your terrific feedback! We are so pleased you and your husband had a great stay at Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport. It is absolutely wonderful to read how much you loved the location of our hotel and our excellent service. Our housekeeping team will be thrilled to know their efforts are recognized and...

Reviewed January 16, 2017

Our weekend was very wet but the folks at Extended Stay of America made it warm inside. The rooms were clean the staff was very helpful and courteous the coffee was always hot and the muffins were very soft.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna J
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

We are delighted you chose to stay with us at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport. It’s a pleasure knowing you loved your spotless room, the service provided by our well-trained staff and loved our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Sincerely...

Dayton, New Jersey
Reviewed January 16, 2017

I would not recommend this hotel compare to what price you paying. nothing great here , except close to orange county airport. The breakfast worst, wifi worst, bedding OK, bathroom OK, Room air comfort OK, Room smells, Rug Dirty -- nothing great... if you have other choice, then don't book this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dipakpateusa
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing us your feedback. Although you liked our proximity to the airport, we are sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. I have shared your candid comments with our concerned departments and ensure you that this will not repeat again in the future. We hope you and your...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed January 13, 2017

No where being a clean hotel and you're better off paying a little more and going somewhere else. The bathroom didn't seem to be totally clean and the bedroom wasn't up to par. Had something on the bed (not bugs), something gross.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rkunihiro
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Our staff is dedicated to providing clean, well maintained suites for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry your suite had some areas of improvement. I will share your review with the team to ensure they are following the established protocols and our inspection team is more detailed. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to your next...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
687 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
459 reviews
3.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Address: 4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2112
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Price Range: $100 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Extended Stay, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Friendswood, Texas, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If your room was as bad as ours, check it out before lugging all your stuff in.”
 of 5 bubbles 604douglash, 2 days ago | Read review
“nothing good here”
 of 5 bubbles dipakpateusa, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 426: there is noise from the air flow system”
 of 5 bubbles oltrans, Dec 5, 2016 | Read review
“Top Floors and away from busy street noises.”
 of 5 bubbles gobak2cali, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“I chose a room with a queen bed. But much to my surprise, there was a lounge area too! I love this place.”
 of 5 bubbles mari1023, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question